Customer Reviews for

Forged by Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

GERALDS REMARKABLE STRUGGLES!

THE NOVEL FORGED BY FIRE IS YET THE BEST BOOK IVE READ IT IS A CONTEMPORARY REALISTIC FICTION. THE STORY TAKES PLACE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO ABOUT A THREE YEAR OLD BOY NAMED GERALD WHO ALWAYS GETS NEGLECTED AND ABUSED BY HIS MOTHER WHO IS A STRUGGLING ALCOHOLIC AND DRUG USE...
THE NOVEL FORGED BY FIRE IS YET THE BEST BOOK IVE READ IT IS A CONTEMPORARY REALISTIC FICTION. THE STORY TAKES PLACE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO ABOUT A THREE YEAR OLD BOY NAMED GERALD WHO ALWAYS GETS NEGLECTED AND ABUSED BY HIS MOTHER WHO IS A STRUGGLING ALCOHOLIC AND DRUG USER. THE AUTHOR REALLY GOES INTO GREAT DETAIL ON WHAT THE THREE YEAR OLD IS EXPERIENCING AND BRINGS EMOTION TO HER READERS. THE MAIN CHARACTER GERALD SOON FINDS HIMSELF A OLDER LOVING, CARING 12 YEAR OLD LIVING WITH HIS AUNT. GERALD WHO HAS ALREADY BEEN THROUGH MORE THAN ANY 12 YEAR OLD HAS IS SOON TO LEARN THAT ITS ONLY THE BEGINNING. THE AUTHOR BRINGS INTO THE STORY A SISTER GERALD SOON REALIZES HE HAS AND BECOMES A VERY CARING PROTECTIVE BROTHER TOWARD HER. GERALD WAS SET AS A STRONG CHARACTER DIDN'T LOSE HIMSELF THROUGH HIS MANY STRUGGLES AND DID WHAT HE HAD TO DO TO KEEP HIMSELF AND HIS LITTLE SISTER ANGEL SAFE. THE AUTHOR HAS BROUGHT THIS STRONG MESSAGE ACROSS THE READERS BECAUSE GERALD IN THE END HAS NOT BROKEN OR GAVE UP HE JUST GROWS STRONGER. THIS NOVEL IN GENERAL WILL REMAIN A FAVORITE FOR ME IT HAS BEEN YET THE ONLY BOOK THAT HAS KEPT ME READING PAGE AFTER PAGE WITHOUT STOPPING. THE AUTHOR DOES A GREAT DEAL OF BRINGING HER READERS TO FEEL AND UNDERSTAND WHAT THE CHARACTERS ARE GOING THROUGH.

posted by CHRISSY_09 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed!!!

I was interested in the series of 3 books that Sharon M. Draper wrote. On the back of the first book it states that it is about a teenage boy who while drinking and driving accidentally kills his best friend and the feelings he is going through after. I started to read ...
I was interested in the series of 3 books that Sharon M. Draper wrote. On the back of the first book it states that it is about a teenage boy who while drinking and driving accidentally kills his best friend and the feelings he is going through after. I started to read the first one and was very upset about the many conotations about how "white folk treat blacks". the first few statements fine, but it kept going on and on. Most of these statements had nothing to do with the story line! I was disgusted by some of things that were said. Ex. His father's job is to kiss white peoples butts. then he states his father is too busy for him. Now the second part of that sentence should be part of the story relates to the book. Andy is upset his younger brother likes blond girls-what is wrong with that? Talking to his Dr Andy states you had white counselours who would talk to black students and see their point of view and help them out with college and grades? Again not part of the story. Andy states history, but the teacher never calls on me because she assumes I am just another black kid. So it is easier to pretend I am stupid.Lotsa white kids and some white teachers and even black teachers also think all of us are sorta dumb. In the book Gerald is abused by his stepfather and two white teachers talk and say it doesn't bother him, because black kids are tough. This was one of the most disgusting parts of the book. I almost stopped reading it at that point! I am a "white folk" and I was abused as a child and it has NOTHING to do with race! Those two white teachers tlaking were HORRIBLE people!Why is everything we read in English class we read black usually stands for bad and white is good is also in the book. The teacher does a good job of explaining that it is not completly racially motivated it is used to create images of contrast. they talk about what other phrases color is used as a metaphor to express an idea. Purple passion, white heat,etc and then they talk about how chocolate is great but that white chocolate is even better. They state Dag! Everything that is good that is dark, they take it and make it white! Rob is in heaven complaining about being only with "white folk" Again I am not saying these things don't happen in real life, but if I knew I was going to read a book mainly about racism instead of a boy who is having problems with killing his friend I would have chose not too. There were a few things I really liked in the book. Andy's actual feelings about his killing his friend-asking why he is alive and Rob isn't and why he didn't go to jail. When they talk about Macbeth in English and Andy takes it to heart by what they are saying. His friends finally caring and trying to get him help. His girlfriend being there for him. His poem of Hope is awesome! gerald's teacher explaining to him that poetry can be like rap music. The teacher stating that times have changed.Sterotypes of color, race and gender are slowly disppearing. it's up to you people to make the world a better place.The ending was very good. I am very disappointed in the author who was a English teacher for 25 years. there was no need for some of the material to be in the book. I took the book back and didn't read the other two. I have read many books by authors of all races,genders and cultures and have never felt this disappointed. I just don't understand the racial issues being in there when most of them had nothing to do with the st

posted by 622861 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    GERALDS REMARKABLE STRUGGLES!

    THE NOVEL FORGED BY FIRE IS YET THE BEST BOOK IVE READ IT IS A CONTEMPORARY REALISTIC FICTION. THE STORY TAKES PLACE IN CINCINNATI, OHIO ABOUT A THREE YEAR OLD BOY NAMED GERALD WHO ALWAYS GETS NEGLECTED AND ABUSED BY HIS MOTHER WHO IS A STRUGGLING ALCOHOLIC AND DRUG USER. THE AUTHOR REALLY GOES INTO GREAT DETAIL ON WHAT THE THREE YEAR OLD IS EXPERIENCING AND BRINGS EMOTION TO HER READERS. THE MAIN CHARACTER GERALD SOON FINDS HIMSELF A OLDER LOVING, CARING 12 YEAR OLD LIVING WITH HIS AUNT. GERALD WHO HAS ALREADY BEEN THROUGH MORE THAN ANY 12 YEAR OLD HAS IS SOON TO LEARN THAT ITS ONLY THE BEGINNING. THE AUTHOR BRINGS INTO THE STORY A SISTER GERALD SOON REALIZES HE HAS AND BECOMES A VERY CARING PROTECTIVE BROTHER TOWARD HER. GERALD WAS SET AS A STRONG CHARACTER DIDN'T LOSE HIMSELF THROUGH HIS MANY STRUGGLES AND DID WHAT HE HAD TO DO TO KEEP HIMSELF AND HIS LITTLE SISTER ANGEL SAFE. THE AUTHOR HAS BROUGHT THIS STRONG MESSAGE ACROSS THE READERS BECAUSE GERALD IN THE END HAS NOT BROKEN OR GAVE UP HE JUST GROWS STRONGER. THIS NOVEL IN GENERAL WILL REMAIN A FAVORITE FOR ME IT HAS BEEN YET THE ONLY BOOK THAT HAS KEPT ME READING PAGE AFTER PAGE WITHOUT STOPPING. THE AUTHOR DOES A GREAT DEAL OF BRINGING HER READERS TO FEEL AND UNDERSTAND WHAT THE CHARACTERS ARE GOING THROUGH.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good Book

    I loved this book! It was addictive! I finished it in 2 days, which is good 4 me. I recommend it to kids 12 and up :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    !

    Should i read this????

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Very Disappointed!!!

    I was interested in the series of 3 books that Sharon M. Draper wrote. On the back of the first book it states that it is about a teenage boy who while drinking and driving accidentally kills his best friend and the feelings he is going through after. I started to read the first one and was very upset about the many conotations about how "white folk treat blacks". the first few statements fine, but it kept going on and on. Most of these statements had nothing to do with the story line! I was disgusted by some of things that were said. Ex. His father's job is to kiss white peoples butts. then he states his father is too busy for him. Now the second part of that sentence should be part of the story relates to the book. Andy is upset his younger brother likes blond girls-what is wrong with that? Talking to his Dr Andy states you had white counselours who would talk to black students and see their point of view and help them out with college and grades? Again not part of the story. Andy states history, but the teacher never calls on me because she assumes I am just another black kid. So it is easier to pretend I am stupid.Lotsa white kids and some white teachers and even black teachers also think all of us are sorta dumb. In the book Gerald is abused by his stepfather and two white teachers talk and say it doesn't bother him, because black kids are tough. This was one of the most disgusting parts of the book. I almost stopped reading it at that point! I am a "white folk" and I was abused as a child and it has NOTHING to do with race! Those two white teachers tlaking were HORRIBLE people!Why is everything we read in English class we read black usually stands for bad and white is good is also in the book. The teacher does a good job of explaining that it is not completly racially motivated it is used to create images of contrast. they talk about what other phrases color is used as a metaphor to express an idea. Purple passion, white heat,etc and then they talk about how chocolate is great but that white chocolate is even better. They state Dag! Everything that is good that is dark, they take it and make it white! Rob is in heaven complaining about being only with "white folk" Again I am not saying these things don't happen in real life, but if I knew I was going to read a book mainly about racism instead of a boy who is having problems with killing his friend I would have chose not too. There were a few things I really liked in the book. Andy's actual feelings about his killing his friend-asking why he is alive and Rob isn't and why he didn't go to jail. When they talk about Macbeth in English and Andy takes it to heart by what they are saying. His friends finally caring and trying to get him help. His girlfriend being there for him. His poem of Hope is awesome! gerald's teacher explaining to him that poetry can be like rap music. The teacher stating that times have changed.Sterotypes of color, race and gender are slowly disppearing. it's up to you people to make the world a better place.The ending was very good. I am very disappointed in the author who was a English teacher for 25 years. there was no need for some of the material to be in the book. I took the book back and didn't read the other two. I have read many books by authors of all races,genders and cultures and have never felt this disappointed. I just don't understand the racial issues being in there when most of them had nothing to do with the st

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Chept Chapter 1-3

    Therr great i really enjoyed would like to contiune reading it *

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great read!

    I remember reading this book when i was in elementary school. it has stuck with me throughout the years since (about 15).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Forged by fire!!!!!!

    Best book ever! This book will have you feeling sad happy and angry you should totally read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Never Ending Suspense . !

    Hazelwood High series gets better and better . ! I lllovee how you get to know almost each charecters backround. I read this book today, I just couldent put the book down. ALL HAIL SHARON . !

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Realistic Fiction

    As before in Tears of a Tiger, the author has grabbed the reader's attention throughout the entire book. Each book in the trilogoy presents terrifingly reall situations that happen more often than thought. This book honeslty made me realize that my life is not has hard as I once tought it to be. These books gave a whole new perspective on life, no matter how chlice' that is.
    -Book Beast

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Wobbie

    This book was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Good. I could not belive it. It was so touching. Best book i have ever read in my life

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Forged By Fire

    This Is The Best Book Ive Read All Year

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Good

    Such a good book. We are reading this. I just had to buy it for myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Very Good Book ;]

    Forged by Fire was a very good book to me because it had a lot read about and kept you wondering on what’s going to happen next. It also had a lot you can learn from, such as drugs, violence, alcohol, etc. (a brief summary) This book is about a 3 year old kid named Gerald who lived in a small Cincinnati apartment with his widowed/drug addicted mother. Even as a 3 year old child he is faced with challenges having to do with his mom. He hides behind his couch because he thinks it’s a spot where he can hide from all his troubles. Since Gerald’s mom is a drug addict she has lighters lying around the apartment. Gerald starts playing with one while his mom was out getting drugs and ends up starting his whole apartment on fire. He ends up living with his Aunt Queen because his mom was sent to jail. After 6 years of living with his aunt his mom finally comes home from jail, with a husband. Gerald moves in with his mom and her husband, Jordan, along with Jordan’s daughter. As time goes by things just start getting worse for all of them, and causes tragic accidents to happen. I chose this book because it seemed like it would be thrilling to read. I was right; it was one of the best books I’ve read in a while. i do not like reading, but after reading this book I’m sure i will be reading a lot more books like this one. It has all types of entertainment for the reader. Also, this book is good because it is a realistic fiction. This book relates to our modern world today. It can be related to all different types of families and there issues with other friends or family members. I highly recommend reading this book and also sharing it to other people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    A great book

    A great book to read but make sure you read the first book, Tears of a Tiger.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hi

    Great Book and Great Author

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    A really good book

    This story is about a young boy who eventually becomes a man. He starts off very young, while he was abused constantly by his mother who apparently had a drug promblem there seemed no help was near. One day he was left home alone as a child and burned the house down and almost killed hiself in the process. Child protective services took him, and he was then raised by his aunt queen. This lady was tough and very diciplinary and raaised gerald to be a strong, and responsible young man. She was poor but she did the best she could to provide for Gerald. Six years later his mother got out of prison and decided to pay him a visit and to get gerald back, but he refused. That same day aunt queen had a heart attack, and Gerald was forced to stay with his mom. He seen a lot of bad things, which later came to the surface and was confronted. He couold not do it by hiself, but with help they were later solved. I choose this book because i heard it was a good book, and it was a really recommend the reading of this book to others its worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    We had to read this book in middle school, but it stays with me

    We had to read this book in middle school, but it stays with me even today as an adult. Fire is used both metaphorically and physically in this book. Fire is what tears Gerald's family apart and fire is what brings it together. I highly recommend this to any young reader. A good author can make the reader see themselves in a character and Miss Draper does that flawlessly. A young reader will see themselves in Gerald. You'll feel his struggle to protect his sister and the fire that burns in him when he has to face the monster that is his step-father. Read it, I promise you'll love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Great story

    This is a touching story that will leave you haning until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Dang love it:)

    Geralds moms on crack(crackhead)he gets in an acedent his aunut take charge for 6 year mom comes back with agle her daddys an abuser.its intens

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Follow me on instagram @_mula___

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16