Customer Reviews for

Forged in Steele (KGI Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing to disappoint with a good balance of action, suspense an

Nothing to disappoint with a good balance of action, suspense and of course love. Love the KGI series! And can't to read Donovan's story next.

posted by 17063492 on June 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow, I am so disappointed. Steele was probably my most anticipat

Wow, I am so disappointed. Steele was probably my most anticipated addition in this series, and it was nothing but mediocre. Granted I have very high standards for this series since the rest of the KGI books are so great, but this book didn't even feel like Maya Banks w...
Wow, I am so disappointed. Steele was probably my most anticipated addition in this series, and it was nothing but mediocre. Granted I have very high standards for this series since the rest of the KGI books are so great, but this book didn't even feel like Maya Banks wrote it. This is the least favorite of any Maya Banks books that I have read.


posted by amandacAC on June 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Not the same

    I have read all the kgi books and loved them. They make my heart race and I cant stop reading til the book ends. I wanted to enjoy Steeles story cause he is such a great character, but I didnt. This book was too mushy without the same heart pounding action Maya Banks usually gives us. I was disappointed. I hope the next one is back on par with the rest of the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Eh

    Decent enough but the dialogue was very immature. He was supposed to be pushing 40 and all the dialogue between Steele and Maren sounded like it was between high schoolers. Became quite irritating after awhile.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Not her best

    Usually love her books but Steele started talking too lovey mushy stuff all the time it seemed so far out of character for him it was unbelievable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Overall Rating: 3.15 Action: 3.5 / Emotion: 3.0 / Romance: 5.0 /

    Overall Rating: 3.15
    Action: 3.5 / Emotion: 3.0 / Romance: 5.0 / Sensuous: 2.5 / Suspense: 3.5 // Laughter: 5 / Giggle: 4 // Tears: 0 / Teary: 1

    Forged In Steele:  3.15:
    Another entertaining but, nevertheless, disappointing, easy to ready, not really Romantic Suspense book in The Kelly Group International "KGI" Series.  Although there were some inclusions in this story that made it an enjoyable read and a nice addition to this series, there were also a number of things that totally ruined this story.

    Hero: 3.75:
    Jackson Steele:  Banks took "Ice Man," a totally fascinating, strong and silent-type macho, alpha hero, gave him a few exciting action scenes to show his stuff and then reduced him to a mushy marshmallow, who spouted lengthy, overly sweet declarations of love over and over and over.

    Heroine: 3.25:
    Dr. Maren Scofield:  An interesting heroine with a quirky sense of humor and blunt straightforwardness.  Liked that she was a strong, independent woman, that she melted the "Ice Man," and that she was his opposite.

    Story Line: 2.0:
    Just a personal observation, but maybe Banks should concentrate on "quality" rather than "quantity" when it comes to publishing her books.  Rather than fully develop all the necessary characters and their backgrounds so that the characters made sense and came to life, Banks just moved them around on the chessboard that was her storyboard to fit the role she needed them to play.

    Action: 3.5:
    Banks did a great job of including some really exciting, enjoyable action scenes.  One, in particular, was a bit too much to be really believable, but it was, nevertheless, entertaining.

    Emotion: 3.0:
    Again, because of lack of background development, it was difficult to connect to the protagonists on a deep level.  Banks, did, however, manage to engage enough interest in Steele and Maren to bring moments of laughter and had one throat-tightening moment.

    Romance: 5.0:
    Although the sweetness factor was way too syrupy and inappropriate (given Steele's personality (as previously described)), this book was all about the relationship that built between Steele and Maren.

    Sensuous: 2.5:
    Banks included several well-written, stimulating, sensuous, hot, sizzling love scenes between Steele and Maren.

    Suspense: 3.5:
    This book is no more suspenseful than the other books in the series.  It is more a Contemporary Romance than a Romantic Suspense book.  The book contains a slight aura of suspense, it is really about the growing relationship between Steele and Maren and how they can be threaded into the tight-knit tapestry that is the Kelly clan.

    Secondary Characters:  3.0:
    As usual, Banks added many interesting and intriguing secondary characters to add volume and some depth to the story: {a} the Kelly clan: {1} Sam Kelly, {2} Sophie Kelly, {3} Charlotte "Cece" Kelly, {4} Garrett Kelly, {5} Sarah Kelly, {6} Donovan "Van" Kelly, {7} Ethan Kelly, {8} Rachel Kelly, {9} Nathan Kelly, {10} Shea Kelly, {11} Joe Kelly, {12} Frank Kelly, {13} Marlene Kelly, {14} Rusty, and {15} Sean [Cameron]; {b} the KGI operatives: {1} P.J. Rutherford Coletrane, {2} [David] Cole Coletrane, {3} Baker, {4} Renshaw, {5} Dolphin, {6} Rio, {7} Skylar Watkins, {8} [Daryl] "Swanny" Swanson, and {9} Zane "Edge" Edgerton; {c} Rio's family, {1} Grace [Peterson] [Bezerra] and {2} Elizabeth Farnsworth [Bezerra]; and {d} the others, {1} Javier Mendoza / Tristan Caldwell, and {2} Hancock / Armand.  

    A more in-depth, detailed, spoiler-ridden review of *Forged In Steele* appears at Wolf Bear Does Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the other KGI series books but this one was a disappointme

    Loved the other KGI series books but this one was a disappointment. To drawn out and not enough action except in the bedroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    This isn't a bad story, its just not Maya Banks at her best. If

    This isn't a bad story, its just not Maya Banks at her best. If you have kept up with her KGI series then you will find this to be just more of the same. Nothing fresh or original. No surprises. I guess "tired" would be the word. It was worth the money, but just barely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I find the KGI series interesting but sometimes the plot develop

    I find the KGI series interesting but sometimes the plot development is lacking. Every book has some very good scenes that seem to include filler. I kept hoping that Steele's would be the one that was just right as his brooding was the most intriguing but while I knew he needed to thaw, I felt a few more steps were needed. It wasn't my least favorite as personally I did not care for the first of series very much and have enjoyed the break of the 'baby' endearment but I had really high hopes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Was just ok

    I loooove kgi novels this one seemed off not the usual action and excitement. The end was weird too many explanations about medical stuff we didn't need to know. Not my favorite, won't read this one again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    A disappointment to the beloved KGI series!

    Was this book actually written by Maya Banks? It sure as hell didn't read like it was! I pre-ordered this book four months before it came out, I was looking forward to reading Steele's story as he is one of my favorite characters or he was after reading what a damn chump he is! I am so disappointed in this book! The action was great, the sex even better and for that alone is why I gave the book 3 stars. I just never pictured Steele talking all mushy like a high schooler, he was always so bad ass and now this book ruined that for me and many other readers, I wasn't expecting him to be crude or crass but to at least maintain his alpha personality, not resort to pages and pages of lovey dovey talk!!!!!

    I love Maya Banks and KGI. I will continue to read her books because quite frankly she ROCKS and every writer fudges up a perfectly good story every now and then but please Ms. Banks take better care with your next book! I hate having to force myself to finish a book and that's what I found myself doing with this one!

    SR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1