Customer Reviews for

Forget Me Not

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Forget Me Not" by Vicki Hinze

    My Review:

    The loss of one's faith through tragedy does not separate anyone from the love of God or His faithfulness--"when we are faithless, He is faithful."

    Benjamin Brandt, owner of Crossroads Crisis Center, had an ideal life--his faith, his wife and son, and his work. In an instant, he lost all but his job. His family had been murdered. Although grief-stricken, he continues to search for the murderer(s)--but it's been three years and leads are slipping away fast.

    One day, a woman, who looks remarkably like Benjamin's wife, Susan, is brought to the Crisis Center, seeking help and answers. She's been the victim of a beating so severe she doesn't know who she is. Why? By whom? She's lost everything, except her faith.

    Ben's mistrust of this 'Susan' woman, and the mystery 'Susan' woman's confusion about her identity and life, get magnified out of proportion, yet they must work together to figure out who and why someone is willing to kill them to keep the truth hidden from them. The situation goes from dangerous to deadly once 'those someones' are able to track her whereabouts. Will they find the killer(s) before they are killed?

    Forget Me Not, by Vicki Hinze, is an action-packed, intense, crime-laden novel that changes plots on a frequent basis, keeping you alert, absorbed and hooked to the end. You will need to keep the circumstances and characters straight in your mind, but the pacing isn't so fast that your lose your way. It's complex, but that's what makes it good!

    Vicki is definitely keen on character reactions and emotions. The intricacies of the many characters were handled very aptly. They were consistent throughout the book. Evil was punctuated with good, which were great antagonists throughout. In the life of crime, do you really know who your friends are?

    I was always on edge, wondering what would happen and when, with either the evil, vicious end of the book, as well as between Ben and the mystery 'Susan' woman, and those that they interacted with at the Crisis Center.

    For this, my first introduction to Vicki's writing, I know I'll definitely be reading more of her books! The spiritual truths presented are relevant to everyone.

    This book was provided by Susan at The Suspense Zone for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Suzie Housley, Midwest Book Review

    Benjamin Brandt's life went spinning out of control the day his wife and son were murdered. Grief-stricken, revenge became his constant companion; he vowed to find and punish the one responsible for his misery.

    Three years past and Benjamin has yet to locate the one responsible for his family's murders. He questions why God would allow him to live when all that he loved had been destroyed.

    At Crossroads Crisis Center, an amnesia victim appears. The only clue she has to her identity is a card from Crossroads Crisis Center with the name Susan on it and a necklace. She hopes that someone at the Crisis Center will recognize her and be able to fill in the blanks of her missing past.

    When Benjamin meets the mysterious women he is stunned at how much this woman resembles his deceased wife, Susan. He is determined to help her find the answers to her lost memories. Will he be able to accept what he uncovers, or will be putting his own life in jeopardy?

    Vicki Hinze has written a high adrenaline rush in Forget Me Not. As the title suggests, you will have a hard time forgetting this high action packed novel. Those that crave roller coaster ride thrillers will definitely be pleased when they discover Forget Me Not. This is one book that will keep you on your edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    You will not soon forget "Forget Me Not"!

    She wakes up in the woods, beaten and left for dead. She remembers vaguely the men who were trying to get her car from her. She remembers little else. One thing she does remember is her strong faith in God. Who is she? Why is she here? She finds a card in her pocket with the name "Crossroads" on the front and the name "Susan" on the back. Also, a cross necklace is with the card. She is found and taken to the Crossroads Crisis Center where she see's a large photo of the founder, Susan Brandt, on the wall. Looking at the picture is like looking in the mirror, minus the bruises and swelling of course. So, she must be "Susan". The only problem is that Susan has been dead for 3 years.

    Benjamin Brandt has been trying for the last 3 years to find the killers of his wife and son. He has also been consumed with guilt that he didn't protect his family. Isn't that what a husband and father is supposed to do? When he's called to the shelter about this "mystery woman named Susan", it's the first time in 3 years he's been in the Center. At first he is certain that "Susan" is there to extort money from him. But after she tells her story and begins to remember tiny pieces of her past, he begins to believe her. He sees how hers and Susan's lives have many common connections. Ben believes that maybe this is the lead he's been hoping for after 3 long years. Can this mystery lady help him discover who killed his family?

    The book is full of suspense, intrigue, romance and Christian principles. Vicki doesn't "beat you over the head" with the Christian aspect of it. I really enjoyed "Forget Me Not" and would highly recommend it. I was provided an advanced reading copy of this book by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    You won't forget FORGET ME NOT

    When she woke, after being carjacked and taken halfway across the country, she didn't know where she was, or even her name. A business card in her pocket gave the name of Crossroads Crisis Center, and had the name Susan written on it. Also in her pocket was a necklace with a cross. When Clyde, the man who found her, tried to take her to the hospital, she asked him to take her to the crisis center, instead, maybe they knew her there.
    Benjamin Brandt, owner of the crisis center has lost his wife and child in a horrible murder. He has been looking for the killers and the reason behind the murders for 3 years. When he is notified that a woman, similar in looks to his dead wife, Susan, has shown up, claming amnesia, and saying her name is Susan, he suspects that someone is playing games with him. Then he sees the necklace, identical to one his wife wore when she died.
    From that point on, things start to happen, people are trying to kill the woman, who has no idea why. They work together to help her regain her memory and try and figure out why someone is after her, and what is the reason.

    This is a book that I could not put down, it is a very well written and grab the edge of your seat type mystery. I couldn't figure it out until close to the end If you love a good mystery, you will enjoy this book.

    I received a free book to read, and review, the opinions expressed here are my own.
    Multnomah Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who can you trust?

    Kelly is carjacked, attacked, and left for dead. She has amnesia and the only clues to who she is are a cross necklace and a business card. Ben lost his wife and son to a murderous shooter three years ago, along with his faith in God. They meet through the Crossroads Crisis Center, and when they meet, there are fireworks. What is the tie between them? What is NINA? Can Kelly remember who she is before it is too late? Murder, amnesia, NINA, and more suspenseful moments await you as you open "Forget Me Not" by Vicki Hinze.

    I won this book through the "Summer Suspense Giveaway" at WaterBrook Multinomah Publishers. It is a murder mystery filled with suspenseful twists and turns that kept me reading. It is a great read and is for anyone who loves suspense! I will definitely look for more books by Ms. Hinze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Page Turner!

    Excellent read. This book has it all -- suspense, intrigue, interesting and complex bad guys. The primary characters are multifaceted and complex with real life hang up, uncertainties and problems. Forget Me Not, by Vicki Hinze caught and kept my attention from beginning to end. The plot is tangled in twists and turns - this is a "pay attention" kind of read. One of the characters warns us right off that things aren't always what they seem. Even keeping that in mind I got a few surprises.

    I did have one minor nit to pick with the story. The bad guys are very, very, bad - with a few redeeming features that make them understandable and I even kind of liked one of the villains - but I never really got a good handle on the why of the crime syndicate. I would have liked it to be a bit less terrifyingly mysterious, and have a motive other than "scary" to explain its actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Forget Me Not

    When a young woman with amnesia shows up at Crossroads Crisis Center Benjamin Brandt, the owner is shocked at the resemblance to his late wife, Susan. It becomes obvious that their must be a connection between this woman and the murders of Benjamin's wife and child, because she carries the necklace Susan was wearing when she was killed. The situation gets worse when it becomes obvious that the car jacking that caused her to lose her memory was not random, someone is trying to kill her.

    Benjamin's faith was shattered when he lost his family and seeing the young woman who calls herself, 'Susan' cling to her own faith is difficult. He pledges to protect her and to try to find out her identity. She's lost everything, just like him. They forge a bond from the loneliness they share. Can they trust each other with what's left of their hearts? How is this young woman's amnesia related to not only Ben's wife, but to the most powerful man in town?

    My Thoughts:

    Vicki Hinze does a wonderful job of creating a sense of suspense. The reader is captivated right from the beginning of the book. Who is this woman and who is trying to kill her? As we begin to find out more about the characters it is obvious that they have both lost a great deal in their lives. Benjamin, his wife and son and the young woman, her identity and who knows what else.

    Ben is a very strong character that seems to have lost his way in his faith. He blames himself for not being able to protect his family and he can't seem to come to terms with that. It obvious that he loved his wife very much and her presence is still very much a part of the book though she has passed away before the story begins. The young woman calling herself 'Susan' seems to be made of strong stuff as well. She's lost everything, even her memory and yet she still has faith that God has never left her and never will.

    Faith is a theme that runs throughout the book and will make the reader do a lot of thinking about their own faith. I loved the book and think that the author, Vicki Hinze did a wonderful job of weaving faith and suspense through this novel. The reader is on the edge of their seat wondering what is going to happen next. I look forward to the second book in the series with great anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Wonderful, inspiring mystery

    I love a good mystery and this book definitely fits in that category. There is so much to like about this book - from the believable characters to the wonderful plot line.

    First of all, I absolutely love the way the author weaves the heroine's faith into her life in a way that I could relate to. It was real. It wasn't forced or sappy - just real. Next, the story line was just amazing - turning this way and that - weaving the different threads together in very surprising ways. Just when I thought I knew what was going on, I didn't. It made for a turn pager, that's for sure (in fact, I stayed up until 2 AM one night reading!) and I was pleased with the ending, too. The author didn't just wrap things up in a neat little package in 10 pages. She made the ending worth getting to (and maybe left something dangling for another book about these characters?) and when the last page was read, it was a bitter-sweet moment.

    If you love mysteries (or even if you don't), you'll love this book as much as I did. It's definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrilling Inspirational Suspense Fiction!

    FORGET ME NOT by Vicki Hinze is a thrilling Inspirational suspense fiction. Crossroads Crisis Center is this author's first Christian fiction. It is very exciting, fast paced,with an intriguing plot and characters. It is entailed with suspense and drama. It is a roller coaster ride with a message of faith, longing, forgiveness, and no matter what sorrow or experience you have in your life, if you have faith in God, he will see you through. The characters are strong. The main female character has faith in God and learns to trust in someone other than herself and her god. The main male character has had his faith shattered along with his life( he has lost his wife and child to murder), but he learns to trust and gets his faith back in the process. If you enjoy suspense, double crosses, trust and faith,romance and a lot of intrigue you will enjoy this one. I would highly recommend this one. I look forward to the next installment in the Spring. This book was received for review by Waterbrook Multnomah and details can be found at mybookaddictionandmore[dot]wordpress[dot]com. 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Author Vicki Hinze's first work of Christian fiction, Forget Me Not, is a must read. If you like a book to keep you on the edge of your seat, this will surely do it. A woman who looks exactly like main character, Benjamin Brandt's, diseased wife sh

    Author Vicki Hinze's first work of Christian fiction, Forget Me Not, is a must read. If you like a book to keep you on the edge of your seat, this will surely do it. A woman who looks exactly like main character, Benjamin Brandt's, diseased wife shows up at their crisis center. In her pocket is Ben's wife Susan's necklace and a card bearing her name. This woman has been left for dead and has no memory except that someone had tried to kill her. Nameless and homeless, Ben takes her in trying to figure out who she is and how her case links to the death of his wife. This is a story of mystery, love, and faith. I have never read a book that was better at showing how bad things still happen when you're a Christian and that faith takes effort. Faith isn't a one time deal, it is a continuous thing. You'll find this book to have a shocker or two. I could not ask for more in a story, it had everything in it. I sincerely hope that Vicki Hinze takes to writing more Christian fiction. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Murder, mystery, love and faith

    I just finished a great new book called, Forget Me Not by Vicki Hinze.
    It was one of those special books that I could not put down until I read the whole book.

    Benjamin Brandt is the owner of the Crossroads Crisis center, but he hasn't stepped foot in the building in three years - since his wife and son were murdered. He blames himself for their deaths, because he didn't keep them safe, and he has been trying to find their killers.

    A mysterious woman shows up badly beaten at the Crisis Center one day. She does not remember who she is, but she looks remarkably like Ben's deceased wife. She does not remember much except her faith. Together, she and Ben keep uncovering connections between her life and his wife's and the more they find out the more they are both in danger.

    The book is a must read if you like suspense. I really liked how the author wove into the story the importance of faith in God without watering down the plot. Little by little details are revealed but you must read the entire book to really understand the whole story. It was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CHILLING TALE WITH NON-STOP TWISTS

    A woman who can't remember who she is or what happened to her. A man who can't put his life back together after his wife and son are murdered. Yet, his wife's gold cross necklace connects them. This is the premise for the first of Vicki Hinze's Christian Fiction series set at the Crossroads Crisis Center.

    At last Vicki has found her niche, a place where she can combine her passionate faith and pendant for romantic suspense. In FORGET ME NOT, her skill at creating a taut thriller that exposes a terrorist plot shines through in a "forget-me-not" read. When you start this story, make sure you are not going anywhere because once you begin, from the first page to the last, you will not be able to put the book down.

    But more than the rollercoaster ride is the story's lasting message of faith, that no matter what abuse or sorrow or shattering experience you suffer, you can endure if you love and trust God. Vicki's Christian heroine whole heartedly relies on God, and that reliance is woven seamlessly into the character's dilemma and search for her identity, after countless attempts to kill her. Seeing the result of her faith wins over a man who has lost everything, including belief in himself. To the non-believer, this may seem impossible, but for those of faith, it is the reality that sustains us day by day.

    Congratulations, Vicki. A five-star read.
    Bonnie Toews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a superb thriller

    A woman is painting a picture on her patio when Gregory appears and states he knows what she wants but will not give it to her. He kills her; walking away knowing he accomplished his mission and that Nina will be pleased.

    In New Orleans, another female is working on a plan to help disenfranchised teens, but before she can complete her concept, she falls into the trap of the man she has run away from. She overheard him and others discuss bioterrorism and she realizes who two of them are. The woman knows that Nina a terrorist group is after her. They car jack her vehicle and take her unconscious to the Crossroads Crisis Center in Seagrove Village, Florida; there she sees a picture of one of the founders; a picture that looks exactly like her.

    Three years ago Crossroads Crisis Center owner Benjamin Brandt lost his wife and son to a murderer; his faith was a victim too. He lives to die after he finds his family's killer. He had no clues until this woman arrived, who looks like his Susan, but suffers from amnesia. Finally he has interest in someone who breaths, they talk as she try to explain her predicament, but a bomb explodes inside the Crossroads facility. Benjamin obsesses over keeping Karen, as they call her safe from whoever wants her dead.

    Vicki Hinze has written a superb thriller about a woman whose faith sustains her and a man whose faith died along with his wife and son. There is plenty of action throughout this fast-paced tale but Forget Me Not is a character driven by Benjamin and Karen ( and her real name) . Even with knowing who the villains are, fans will feel the stratospheric tension as double crosses and identity issues make for a powerful novel.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1