Customer Reviews for

Forget You

Average Rating 4.5
( 1193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(716)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

A Good Addiction Reviews

Emotional and expressive, Forget You is another intricately weaved romance from Jennifer Echols. Starting with a simple premise, Echols builds an engaging story that will pull readers through a range of feelings. Although the question of what happened in the time frame ...
Emotional and expressive, Forget You is another intricately weaved romance from Jennifer Echols. Starting with a simple premise, Echols builds an engaging story that will pull readers through a range of feelings. Although the question of what happened in the time frame Zoey cannot remember is carried throughout the book, Echols adds other elements to keep both mystery and enjoyment high.

Zoey is a mildly annoying character, the girl who sleeps with a guy and though he's a playboy, she is sure things are different now. Despite this aspect, Zoey is still a strong, well developed character who holds a perfect blend of maturity and naivety. Her interactions with her dad are heartbreaking and infuriating and much of her actions- including the ones to dub her as annoying- are understandable. She is not a shallow person nor does she lack morals- despite her actions with Brandon. As she continues to investigate the events leading up to the car crash, Zoey encounters both entertaining and surprising events. Echols has done a fantastic job writing an amnesiac character, allowing things to slowly settle back into character and compounding it further by Zoey's determination to keep the full extent of her amnesia a secret.

Doug, despite his past, his temper and the intrusiveness with which he suddenly asserts himself into Zoey's life, is an adorable, heartfelt guy. The reader will experience a range of emotions towards this boy, some in response to Zoey and others in response to Echols' beautiful writing and innate ability to profoundly develop her characters. The descriptions used to describe both Doug and many scenes he's in is striking, painting a picture any reader can imagine vividly.

Echols makes nothing simple for either character, their battles firing instantly and often cooling just as rapidly. The push and tug of his relationship with Zoey is the epitome is teenage romance, with Zoey not falling instantaneously for the bad boy character but also not turning her nose up at him. Their story is a memorable one with the reader wondering the entire time if they really will end up together.

The pace of the plot moves steadily, considering the premise. Watching Doug and Zoey grow is a large part of this book but Echols leaves little time for boredom despite the magnificent character development- development which does take time. Echols shies away from nothing, including an arrange of teenage hormones, lust and emotion throughout the book in various ways but still writing in a way that will appeal to a wide range of audience ages.

Certainly a book to be read again and placed at the top of the favorites shelf, Forget You is a breathtaking ride into the world of teenage love and a perfect summer romance. Typical to a hallmark I associate with Jennifer Echols, Forget You holds very strong, memorable, and flawed characters along with an elaborate plot and several twists to keep the reader engaged. Complacency is not a part of Echols' books, rendering Forget You, along with her first romantic drama Going Too Far, must reads.

posted by A_Good_Addiction on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

waste of time & money

This book was one of the dumbest books I've read. I was lost the whole book as someone else mentioned, the story was all over the place. It really didnt make sense. The story couldve been written better by someone like myself. It was awful. DO NOT RECCOMEND AT ALL!!!!!

posted by laci_lou on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Addiction Reviews

    Emotional and expressive, Forget You is another intricately weaved romance from Jennifer Echols. Starting with a simple premise, Echols builds an engaging story that will pull readers through a range of feelings. Although the question of what happened in the time frame Zoey cannot remember is carried throughout the book, Echols adds other elements to keep both mystery and enjoyment high.

    Zoey is a mildly annoying character, the girl who sleeps with a guy and though he's a playboy, she is sure things are different now. Despite this aspect, Zoey is still a strong, well developed character who holds a perfect blend of maturity and naivety. Her interactions with her dad are heartbreaking and infuriating and much of her actions- including the ones to dub her as annoying- are understandable. She is not a shallow person nor does she lack morals- despite her actions with Brandon. As she continues to investigate the events leading up to the car crash, Zoey encounters both entertaining and surprising events. Echols has done a fantastic job writing an amnesiac character, allowing things to slowly settle back into character and compounding it further by Zoey's determination to keep the full extent of her amnesia a secret.

    Doug, despite his past, his temper and the intrusiveness with which he suddenly asserts himself into Zoey's life, is an adorable, heartfelt guy. The reader will experience a range of emotions towards this boy, some in response to Zoey and others in response to Echols' beautiful writing and innate ability to profoundly develop her characters. The descriptions used to describe both Doug and many scenes he's in is striking, painting a picture any reader can imagine vividly.

    Echols makes nothing simple for either character, their battles firing instantly and often cooling just as rapidly. The push and tug of his relationship with Zoey is the epitome is teenage romance, with Zoey not falling instantaneously for the bad boy character but also not turning her nose up at him. Their story is a memorable one with the reader wondering the entire time if they really will end up together.

    The pace of the plot moves steadily, considering the premise. Watching Doug and Zoey grow is a large part of this book but Echols leaves little time for boredom despite the magnificent character development- development which does take time. Echols shies away from nothing, including an arrange of teenage hormones, lust and emotion throughout the book in various ways but still writing in a way that will appeal to a wide range of audience ages.

    Certainly a book to be read again and placed at the top of the favorites shelf, Forget You is a breathtaking ride into the world of teenage love and a perfect summer romance. Typical to a hallmark I associate with Jennifer Echols, Forget You holds very strong, memorable, and flawed characters along with an elaborate plot and several twists to keep the reader engaged. Complacency is not a part of Echols' books, rendering Forget You, along with her first romantic drama Going Too Far, must reads.

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Stunningly Realistic Gem

    It's not too often that I read contemporary fiction, but I'm happy that I ventured into the world of Forget You by Jennifer Echols. The story is interesting and engaging, while also being completely believable. The characters really stood out to me because they were realistic and heartfelt. Zoey is easy to relate to and more than easy to empathize with, given her circumstances with her loony bin mom and her ass of a dad.

    Echols tackles this story with honesty and the shows the reality of teenage life. Zoey's life isn't perfect and she's far from perfect herself. In a time when her family is falling apart, Zoey strives to present herself with the perfect life. She starts out with both feet firmly planted on the ground, but after an unexpected pregnancy (her dad knocks up his employee), a divorce (lots of yelling), and a suicide attempt (her mom is all kinds of messed up post-divorce) Zoey's firmly planted feet begin to shift and the book explores the raw emotions that can come with all of that.

    In the aftermath of the divorce, Zoey does what many teens would do, she becomes more reckless. She becomes more sexual and more interested in the thrills of a sexual relationship. When Zoey wakes up the morning after a car accident to find 'not her boyfriend' Doug checking in on her all lovey dovey like, the story really takes off. What happened the night of the accident that caused Zoey to not be with her boyfriend Brandon? And why is Doug all of a sudden being nice to her?

    This is where the writing and the characterizations really shine. Zoey's at a loss as to what happened to her and bad boy Doug seems to be the only person who knows the truth. Their relationship and the slowly unraveling mystery about that night had me yearning for more. The chemistry between Doug and Zoey is undeniable and the sexual tension was incredibly well-written. Doug could have easily been just the sexy bad boy, but Echols made me love him with his depth and his personality. Oh, and he's gorgeous and has the most incredible eyes. That helps too.

    The realization about that forgotten night forces Zoey to really take a look at her life, at herself, at the people around her, and grow up a little. She goes through a lot in such a short amount of time and by the end, she's better because of it. All of that makes the book sound heavy, but it's not really. Forget You is a fast, addicting read that gives us the reality of teens with sex, lust, and a lot of sarcasm. I loved it.

    Opening line: Every strong swimmer has a story about nearly drowning. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line(s): He frowned at me. "Why haven't you been turning the world upside down looking for your real diamond earrings?"
    I shrugged. "I figured they'd turn up. Like my virginity." ~ pg. 174

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This book was amazing. I loved every minute reading this

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forget You was an actual, intense and memorable novel!

    Forget You was an actual, intense and memorable novel. Jennifer Echols took the subject of love and spun it into a web of drama and undeniable chemistry. Zoey, the female protagonist, was a strong, down to earth character. At times, a bit naive yet unique in her own way. I automatically sympathized with her pain of having a mother on the verge on insanity and a father who was a mean, selfish jerk. I felt like her decision to go "parking" with her so called best friend, Brandon was caused by her hidden pain. Mentally, she just needed someone to truly care about her. Luckily for her and me, after her accident, Doug made a stronger appearance in her life. At first, Doug was portrayed like this cold, heartless person, when in reality he was hysterically entertaining and a sweetheart. She wanted nothing more than to get away from him. But, his determination and constant support creeped into her everyday routine.

    Their were moments in this book where it felt like an emotional roller coaster. The physicality was raw and relatable. Zoey's sense of longing and bad judgment on what's really good for her was apparent. Besides, the perfectly developed characters, Jennifer created a plot that was full of real-life situations. I must warn my young readers that the author didn't shy away from presenting moments of sex, masturbation and drinking. Personally, I respected the fact that this YA novel expressed practical incidents. It does happen every day amongst some teens and young adults. I admired Jennifer's tasteful way of pushing the envelope with her characters and can't wait to see what other projects she comes out with. Overall, a great book, with an ending that will warm your heart. I know some people don't like seeing sex in YA but, I recommend you look passed that and into a well-written story. :)

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    love this book!

    This book is awesome! It is one of the best books i have read in a very long time. I suggest every teen girl read this!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forget YOu

    After days full of drama for Zoey she is struggling to stay strong. With her father problems spread everywhere and her mother's nervous breakdown over it, Zoey can't help but feel trapped. Trapped into the perfect daughter, doing everything she can to help matters. Zoey made some unwise decisions with Brandon leading her to assume other things.




    Then she starts speaking to Doug. A kid who has had it rough he whole life and hates Zoey. She last saw him at the football game looking loath at her and then the next morning he is all sweet. Zoey totalled her car in a car accident, that left her with amnesia. She doesn't remember what happen the night before. After her father threatens her, she lies about remembering the night before and sets off to seek her own answers as to what really happen that night.




    *SPOILER WARNING*




    This book started off already with major drama. I was immediately sucked into the whirlwind of it and felt bad for her. Her father cheats on her mother and whats worse he gets the girl pregnant. Zoey works for her father who owns a very popular water park and so now it is buzzing all of the place. Zoey feels horrible after what happen and made some unwise decisions. Zoey's mother could not take the stress of it all so she attempted suicide. Zoey walks in to find her mother is going to thankfully make it.




    Okay let me just say that I absolutely hated the father. He get the girl pregnant, Zoey and her mother leave the house moving into the apartment and then he move the girl in there with him. Whats worse is that the father is angry with Zoey after her mother's apparent suicide. Instead of consoling her at the hospital he walks in upset, yelling at her not to say a word of it to anyone. Poor Zoey is in such shock, she doesn't even know what to say. It's no wonder Zoey acted the way that she acted. He dad was a jerk. Then after Zoey's car accident, he blames her again, threatening that there really better be something wrong with her head if he is going to miss his honeymoon, if so he was going to put in the loony bin with her mom. Right there, my jaw drop. First off how can you say such a thing to your own daughter. This father was thinking of no one but himself. UGH!!!




    This book was great drama. Watching it unfold was something uncanny. I connected with Zoey on a very personal level. I too grew up with a father somewhat like that. He has a business and reputation to keep. He of course has girlfriends that are 24 yrs or younger and I am expected to treat them as such. Hello! I am just 25! They can be my freaking sister!!! Also even though my father has money and spends it on his girlfriend like there is no tomorrow, I have to work to earn my keep because he wants to teach me repsonablility. Believe me that is the last thing I learn from him.




    If you like a good book with lots of drama and gasping then this book is for you. For me is was personal and touching. I did connect with Zoey on many levels and felt her anger and pain. I can truly say that this is something that happen in real life's because it happen in mine. There was some curse words and some sexual scenes. I recommend for older teens. (18+)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    waste of time & money

    This book was one of the dumbest books I've read. I was lost the whole book as someone else mentioned, the story was all over the place. It really didnt make sense. The story couldve been written better by someone like myself. It was awful. DO NOT RECCOMEND AT ALL!!!!!

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Excellent story!

    Strong characters, amazing storyline... what wasn't to like? This was the first of Ms. Echols books I read and I was pleasantly surprised. The moment I finished it, I went in search of other titles by her. "Forget You" has made it into my "keeper" pile.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    One of the worst books I've ever read.

    I read the reviews before checking this book out, and was astounded to find such terrible writing. The sentences lacked structure and there would be random sentences within each paragraph that did nothing to add to the story. The plot was fuzzy and dull, the characters annoying and unbelievable, and the ending...oh my. It was predictable, although Jennifer did make an attempt to make it not so much, she failed. Miserably. The main characters desicion at the end was not only stupid, it was unrealistic. Overall, I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Gosh

    Oh Gosh this was a good one! Zoey seemed to project her self imperfections in a negative way. Despite her oh so perfect Outer shell that most people see. She doesn't want anyone to see the side where her mother has gone insane and her father could careless about her and her mother since he was having an affair and now is marrying little 24 yr old trophy wife. Zoey decided to lose her virginity to Brandon one of her best guy friends. She seems to create some weird fake yet not fake relationship with him. The whole time in denial that he isn't what she needs. You can't make someone into something they aren't.

    After finding her mother in a suicide attempt. Zoey does what she knows best, destruction. Fast forward through the night Zoey wakes up not really remembering what happened that night only a few bits and pieces. Pieces that include Doug. She then has to pretend that she remembers everything that has happened. So when Doug shows up acting like the are together. Zoey doesn't know what to do. What really happened?

    I love Forget You. Jennifer Echols is amazing! Forget You has some zing. I would recommend this to anyone. Though there is a few steamy scenes. You need to get this one. Forget You is going to be one of the greats of 2010. hehe atleast to me :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect.

    Its a really great love story! I cannot get this book out of my head! I've been thinking about it! I LOVE IT! have fun reading(:

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Disappointed

    This book looked very promising but it became apparent in the first chapter that it would be a very raunchy book. Not only was it disturbing to read it but it was also a huge waste of my time. Its that kind of a book for really oversexed teen girls who just need a really sexual story about an promiscuous girl. Don't waste your time.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    NOT FOR YOUNG TEENS

    First off, I want to say the description of this book is NOTHING like what happens in the rest of this book. Mainly this book is about the main character (a girl) having problems with her life. Her dad cheated on her mom with a 24year old employee and they are going to get married and have the baby together. Then her mom tries to comite suicide leaving the main character not thinking clearly. So she decides to try and overcome her problems by dating this football player. Soon the book gets into A TON of stuff involving sex, condoms, and cheating. I decided to buy this book expecting a nice love story just to end up reading a book that goes into detail of the really gross stuff that younger teens should not be reading about. As an added negative, there was also quite a bit of swearing, alchohol, cigaretts and things like that in the book. I would definatly not recommend this book to my friends.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Worth the read!!!

    The book was definitely worth the read. The plot deserves five stars. The story was great. There was no lulls, it keeps you on the edge of your seat. And although it had romance in it, the romance wasnt ridiculously over-done. It was just the right amount mixed in with the other elements of the plot. There are few sex scenes, and they are short, and not dirty. It was great to read a story with romance that wasnt disgusting. there are also several conflicts going on that adds to suspense. I have fallen in love with this book.
    As for the characters, they were well written. Doug in honestly my favorite fictional character ever. I fell in love with this boy! His character was amazing! The main character, Zoey, is also a great character.
    The reason i had to give the book four instead of five stas is the actual writting itself. There were some important details missing that the editor or someone should have fixed. Theres just simply not enough time spent on zoey's time with brandon before they hooked up to make her trust in him believable. This missing information did take away from the story a little because you too busy being annoyed by zoey to stay connected to her character the way a readed needs too. Also, theres scenes that lack some detail so they can be a bit unclear. I was disappointed to see a story i so much loved being cheated out of its full potential becauae of its writting.
    All in all, the story was great. The small flaws are ignorable. I absolutely adorws the story. I do recommend this book!!!! (Although i feel obligated go say for ages 15 and up) if youre considering this book, dont let the reviews sway your choice. This book will not disappoint!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great book

    I thought that this book was a steal! It was a free read so I was a bit skeptical but I really enjoyed it. It is definitely geared for a more mature audience that can look past certain parts and just enjoy the book :) .. It is an easy read and I too finished it in about a day; definitely worth downloading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Standing ovation

    i heart stoping, jaw droping phenomenon. Highly Recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    amazing!!!!!!!

    i loved this book. i thought that the characters were very relatable. it was good from start to end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Ok

    I found this book good... but not very deep. The emotions were flat, and I honestly could not connect with this book. It had a bit of humor, but the plot was, frankly, boring. I would not recommend this book, especially when there are so many better books out there.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    veryy good book!

    there was alot of cursing but other than that, best book ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Loved it

    I LOVED IT! I've read better, but it grabbed my attention. The plot and the romance of the story made sense. I read it in two days. I never put it down. It was one book I might forget, but life makes some sort of sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61