Customer Reviews for

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Raw, Emotional, Intense

A brilliant, yet lost, alone and angry young man tells his painful story of how he ended up deciding to commit murder and then suicide. His tale is emotionally torturous and he feels like a non-person in the eyes of most of the world, including his self-absorbed mother....
A brilliant, yet lost, alone and angry young man tells his painful story of how he ended up deciding to commit murder and then suicide. His tale is emotionally torturous and he feels like a non-person in the eyes of most of the world, including his self-absorbed mother. Only two people seem to truly care about him, his next door neighbor, an aging old man with two addictions, cigarettes and Bogart/Bacall movies. The other is his Holocaust teacher, Herr Silverman. Having made his decision to die, Leonard chose his eighteenth birthday as his final day on Earth, to make his statement to the world, reveal his pain and hopefully find peace. Can anyone save him? What secrets has he kept hidden for so many years? Does he want to be saved?

As Leonard says good-bye to the world in his own cryptic way, his mental dialogue is angst-filled and raw. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick is a gritty and bleak look into depression, loneliness and what happens when a child fails to thrive emotionally in a world that doesn’t seem to care about him. Matthew Quick has done an amazing job of bringing Leonard to life, warts and all. I instantly felt for this young man, because his pain was evident, the reasons revealed in small bits, one rejection after another. I felt I was in Leonard’s mind, listening to him, and frankly, agreeing with him, he definitely got the short end of the stick throughout most of his life, even Leonard recognized when it all began to go bad and the joy of being an innocent child was sucked out of him. Mr. Quick’s writing style is very descriptive, dark and foreboding, perfectly aligning with the theme of suicide and depression in a young man crying out internally for help, to be wanted and needed.

This should be a MUST read for all, especially those who merely shake their heads in disgust that suicide is the coward’s way out, then turn their backs on the topic. This isn’t a piece of fluff, Matthew Quick has written a thoughtful piece, fiction or not, that will carve your heart out with a dull blade.

An Arc edition was provided by NetGalley and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers in exchange for my honest review.

posted by DiiMI on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Book

This was a really interesting book. I liked it and all the characters and the messages or morals and how the bok made me think. But the end was certainly not what I was expecting. It was like I am reading along and then I turn the page and it simply says "For more infor...
This was a really interesting book. I liked it and all the characters and the messages or morals and how the bok made me think. But the end was certainly not what I was expecting. It was like I am reading along and then I turn the page and it simply says "For more information go to fecebook" or something like that. I was really looking forward to what was going to happen to Leonard afterwards. I wanted to see him jerk his mom back into reality and to see how the rest of his life turned out. I found out about this bok before it was published an was every excited. However if Quick had made the book longer, I would have gladly wait several more months for it to b published. On the other hand, the abrupt ending to the book could have been saying something I just didn't get.

Overall it was a good book. If I could I would rate it a 3.9 because this book doesn't seem like it should have been JUST a 3.

posted by PianoPlayer0 on August 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Raw, Emotional, Intense

    A brilliant, yet lost, alone and angry young man tells his painful story of how he ended up deciding to commit murder and then suicide. His tale is emotionally torturous and he feels like a non-person in the eyes of most of the world, including his self-absorbed mother. Only two people seem to truly care about him, his next door neighbor, an aging old man with two addictions, cigarettes and Bogart/Bacall movies. The other is his Holocaust teacher, Herr Silverman. Having made his decision to die, Leonard chose his eighteenth birthday as his final day on Earth, to make his statement to the world, reveal his pain and hopefully find peace. Can anyone save him? What secrets has he kept hidden for so many years? Does he want to be saved?

    As Leonard says good-bye to the world in his own cryptic way, his mental dialogue is angst-filled and raw. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick is a gritty and bleak look into depression, loneliness and what happens when a child fails to thrive emotionally in a world that doesn’t seem to care about him. Matthew Quick has done an amazing job of bringing Leonard to life, warts and all. I instantly felt for this young man, because his pain was evident, the reasons revealed in small bits, one rejection after another. I felt I was in Leonard’s mind, listening to him, and frankly, agreeing with him, he definitely got the short end of the stick throughout most of his life, even Leonard recognized when it all began to go bad and the joy of being an innocent child was sucked out of him. Mr. Quick’s writing style is very descriptive, dark and foreboding, perfectly aligning with the theme of suicide and depression in a young man crying out internally for help, to be wanted and needed.

    This should be a MUST read for all, especially those who merely shake their heads in disgust that suicide is the coward’s way out, then turn their backs on the topic. This isn’t a piece of fluff, Matthew Quick has written a thoughtful piece, fiction or not, that will carve your heart out with a dull blade.

    An Arc edition was provided by NetGalley and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers in exchange for my honest review.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    I saw this book had a review of only 3 stars and realized people

    I saw this book had a review of only 3 stars and realized people were unfairly ignoring it. This is one of the BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE! It's truly life changing and worth every penny. I stayed up all day and all night just to know what would happen next. Days after finishing it i still find myself thinking of poor Leonard and comparing the book's characters to real people in my life. As the last review said, this is a must read for all. The ending was a bit cryptic, but it allowed me to continue thinking about it and decide for myself what should happen and what would happen with the loose ends. I believe Mr. Quick made it that way to allow you to think and to make your own decisions. Though this book is a great standalone, and i don't know how you could make a good sequel, i do wish i knew a little more about the ending. But like I said, that is how we're supposed to feel. Regardless, if you have not read this book, and have not even considered reading it, think again. It's worth every penny and more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was really interested in reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock b

    I was really interested in reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by author Matthew Quick the moment I finished reading the description of the novel. It sounded like a novel that would stir up emotion in me, thrill me and keep me on the edge of my seat. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock did all of those things and then some. I absolutely adored and loved this read so much I can’t even put my thoughts or emotions into words.

    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock takes place on the main character Leonard Peacock’s birthday, it’s a very special day for Leonard because he is going to kill his ex-best friend with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol and then kill himself. However Leonard first plans on going to see the people who matter to him most and give them a goodbye present so that when they learn about the crime he plans to commit after he commits it they won’t have a bad final memory of him.

    Leonard goes to visit the four people who mattered to him most: His neighbor Walt, one of his musically inclined classmates, the girl he has a crush on and his teacher Herr Silverman. As Leonard goes to visit each of these people (and times moves toward the moment when he will pull of his murder-suicide) Leonard begins to give away the plan he is will put into action and the events that led him to make this decision.

    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock was a novel that I fell in love with right from the start. It was a dark and haunting read that broke my heart, took me on an emotional roller coaster and had me hoping that Leonard would change his fate before it would become too late. The writing style stirred up far too many emotions in me, the footnotes used in the novel as well as Leonard’s dark and depressing thoughts left me both sad and angry. There were so many moments where I was either brought to tears or began crying from Quick’s writing style that made Leonard come alive and become more than just a character.

    The characters introduced in Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock are ones that will connect with readers in some way or form. The main character Leonard is both the good guy and the bad guy and once you discover just what his ex-best friend has done you have to wonder if what Leonard’s doing (despite how totally dark and wrong it is) can be justified. There’s a variety of characters from a dedicated Christian girl to his neighbor and friend Walt who is obsessed with Humphrey Bogart movies and to himself. Despite seeing each character for only a small amount of time I felt that a relationship is established with each character that made the goodbyes very heartfelt.

    When reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock I personally think that a lot of readers will find Leonard’s dark thoughts and dark family history to be intriguing. It’s so seldom that I get to read about a character who is messed up and is actually very smart and applies those smarts in the plot. Leonard is a unique character who pulled me into the plot and left me reading and interested until the very last page. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock is a novel that will keep you hooked. I never wanted to put it down.

    I’d recommend Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock to readers who are looking for an addictive and dark read. Readers who are fans of plots that are thrilling and emotional will eat this read right up. Anybody who is looking for a tear jerker needs to check out Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock as soon as possible.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    I cried.

    I love Matthew Quick's style of writing. He doesn't try to glorify his characters or justify the things they think or do. He embraces the crazy side of them, and I love that. I was actually bawling because, in my 14-year-old-self-kind-of-way, I understood Leonard in his loneliest moments. Leonard was ready to commit suicide, he wanted to murder someone he used to be close friends with, but most of all, even if he didn't say it aloud to anyone, he wanted someone to realize that deep down he was not okay. So many people overlook small things, and at first "direct eye contact" or "a friendly conversation a day" seems so small and unimportant, but all of these "unimportant small things" build up overtime. Leonard was another character with a dsyfunctional family, a bad history with a former friend, and a talent for things nobody but his teachers care about. Who knows if his dad is alive, or if his mom is off sleeping with her French boyfriend, and if anyone actually remembered his 18th birthday? The author doesn't try to force down our throats at the end of the story something cheesy like "life WILL get better after you finish school" or that "a suicide hotline is only a call away!!!!". What I learned from this story was not that being different is okay, nor was it that teenage angst is just a phase, but rather that nobody feels happy all of the time. We are all capable of experiencing somewhat psychotic feelings and emotions, and that's what makes us normal. Looks can be deceiving, and while it is so easy to get lost in oblivion and ignorance, sometimes you need to stop and read between the lines. My favorite parts were when Leonard wrote himself letters from the future, as if there was really something worth living for, and my hope that Leonard would realize he was not alone, that I was by his side and that I understood his pain, has rendered me physically and emotionally incapable to finish any homework tonight. I found myself hoping for more at the end, but that was only because Nook said the novel was 215 pages, when it was actually only about 180 with the rest being acknowledgements and an excerpt from another book. Be warned that you might not be able to sleep at night because Matthew Quick has a way of writing about (slightly) crazy people and making you almost believe that, for a moment at the least, you are the character in the story and you want for them what they want for themselves. For a moment at the least you will feel like the character's problems are your problems and you can't help but just cry over them, but in the back of both the character's mind and yours you are hoping for a bright outcome, because even the craziest of people want that bright outcome, that happiness, that relief of knowing that no more worrying has to be made on anyone's part. I'm probably blabbering but my point is, this is a beautiful book, and I'm sure Leonard would appreciate your becoming of a reader of his story and world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Unicorn

    This book is amazing. Just read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Unknown

    Weird weird book but brillant. Didnt go they way thatni.excpected which is good i enjoyed it read it within 24 hrs. I really didnt exspect leonard to hold a gryge toward asher for that reason. I really love the relationship between leonard and his teacher.leonard was somone who didnt care about peoples opinions but he cared about others feelings, if u know what i mean,and i really liked that about him and he was clever, and thats somthing that brought the story together.honestly i love the ending which is rare so yeah

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    This is without a doubt one of the greatest books i have ever re

    This is without a doubt one of the greatest books i have ever read. This is the type of book that stays with you when you finish it, the type that leaves you with something to think about when you finish it. this is a must read for everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Interesting Book

    This was a really interesting book. I liked it and all the characters and the messages or morals and how the bok made me think. But the end was certainly not what I was expecting. It was like I am reading along and then I turn the page and it simply says "For more information go to fecebook" or something like that. I was really looking forward to what was going to happen to Leonard afterwards. I wanted to see him jerk his mom back into reality and to see how the rest of his life turned out. I found out about this bok before it was published an was every excited. However if Quick had made the book longer, I would have gladly wait several more months for it to b published. On the other hand, the abrupt ending to the book could have been saying something I just didn't get.

    Overall it was a good book. If I could I would rate it a 3.9 because this book doesn't seem like it should have been JUST a 3.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    If there is any book that is important to read, it is ¿Forgive M

    If there is any book that is important to read, it is “Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock” by Matthew Quick.

    I feel like I could hit a character limit for reviews simply by listing all of the life lessons to be found in the book, but I will try to keep it at a minimum.  It gives excellent insight into the mind of someone who feels they have nothing left to live for, as well as all of the attempts made at reaching out that go unnoticed by most.  However, it also makes it very clear that someone does care, even though Leonard may not know it at the time.  There is another hugely important issue raised that is very seldom touched on and took quite a bit of bravery to tackle as bluntly as it was, but I don’t want to spoil what happens.  Trust me when I say that it will make you think.

    The characters are all very quirky and well-written, which is typically the case in anything written by Matthew Quick, and I really appreciated that Leonard is an extremely flawed character.  All too often books for young adults tend to portray a victim of bullying and/or someone with suicidal tendencies as being a perfect human being.  That is not the case here, nor is it the case with any person on earth.  It makes the entire story even more relatable by keeping it realistic.

    The writing flows well, and given its subject matter, it is an incredibly quick read.  However, the story will stay in your mind long after “Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock” ends.

    Everyone should read “Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock”.  I know that I will think more carefully about those around me and look for signs of distress, and I hope that others will, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Beautifully written.

    One of the most heartwrenhing books, this one kept me at the edge of my seat and i was able toread it in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Connor

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    this book saved my life.

    this book saved my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I don know if i hould get yhis book i realy want to know the ending does lenard kill himself. Respond togirl100%
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Demented

    Leonard is downright crazy. This book freaked me out once i finished it. It isnt one of those wonderful books that everyone ends up reading, like The Fault in Our Stars, and its honestly best that way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    LOVE

    This book is great! I loved it. It is simulatinsouly sad, depressing, moving, insprational, and hopeful. I really just enjoyed reading this book. It is a great read with a hopeful ending. I recommend it, you wont be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Rating: Top Shelf, a beautifully tragic happenstance. You're im

    Rating: Top Shelf, a beautifully tragic happenstance.

    You're immediately taken back to the toughest times in your life, the awkward stages. Maybe you were bullied, maybe you were ostracized because of they way you acted or dressed. Maybe you had your own personal demons and still had to deal with life. I instantly fell in love with this book. The moments of breath above water, the letters from Leonard's loved ones, are inspiring and uplifting, even when you feel Leonard drowning.

    If my classmates put as much effort into making our community better as they give to the college application process, this place would be a utopia.
    Appearances, appearances.
    The great facade.
    How to Live Blindly in a Blind World 101.
    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. Quick, Matthew. Published August 13th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Kindle edition. Loc 630

    So many terrible things happen to Leonard that leave him with only one option to stop the pain. Leonard's parent's 'hands-off' approach to loving their only child cause Leonard to bottle up most of his feelings. A best friend, who is sexually abused, becomes Leonard's living nightmare. Feeling and understanding beyond the socially acceptable top layer has fellow classmates pegging him as a freak.

    I heard other kids in my class whisper all sorts of things about me afterward, saying that I had justified killing children and suicide, but my classmates just didn't get it, because they are spoiled teenagers living here in America at the beginning of the twenty-first century. They've never had to make any real decisions at all. Their lives are easy and unremarkable. They're not awake.
    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. Quick, Matthew. Published August 13th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Kindle edition. Loc 439

    But it's not all gloom. He has a few 'friends' that want to help, or at least understand, but they don't know the best way to approach the situation they all fear is about to take place. Baback helps Leonard escape everyday school life by listening to the beauty of Baback's violin. Lauren, inadvertently, helps him believe in the idea of Love, even if religion gets in the way. These two are just kids themselves and only accept Leonard up to a certain point, then insist that there is something wrong and he needs help.
    Walt, his elderly widowed neighbor, lends an ear even but the two can only communicate emotionally through Bogart statements.
    And Herr Silverman taps into Leonard and tries desperately to keep him around, just a little longer.

    Show me it's possible to be an adult and also be happy.
    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. Quick, Matthew. Published August 13th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Kindle edition. Loc 476

    For me, the most moving parts of this book are the letters from Leonard's future. At first I didn't understand where the book was going but they were so fun to read. After Herr Silverman let's the reader in on the concept, the fun letters become more beautiful and then heart breaking.

    Mom says you never thought you'd find her when you were my age, but you did.
    You probably never thought you'd find me either, and now I need to find the people in my future too - because that's just the way of the world maybe.... I've watched you sleep for over an hour, just because.
    And the whole time I wished your mind was a sea we could scuba dive in together because I'd like to see the LOVE statue that sits at the bottom of your consciousness.
    Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. Quick, Matthew. Published August 13th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Kindle edition. Loc 2816

    I felt emotionally altered after reading this book. I highly suggest it to everyone, because no one had a perfect life growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    One of the best books I've ever read! beautiful, powerful, and a

    One of the best books I've ever read! beautiful, powerful, and amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    A brilliant masterpiece. 

    A brilliant masterpiece. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I heard about this book in my senior lit class and was drawn int

    I heard about this book in my senior lit class and was drawn into it immediately. I thought the book was amazing and could connect really well with today's world. For example, Leonard's mom works all the time and hardly even notices him. In today's world I feel like we are so job driven and it’s all about how much money we make when, like Leonard says, we need to enjoy our lives and realize that it’s not all about money and working. One of the good things about this book is that Mathew Quick wrote it in a way that kept me drawn in throughout the whole book and I had a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this book to everyone, it really opened up my eyes to what my future is going to look like, what’s going on in the word around me, and what my relationships need to look. Many people may turn it down because they think that it’s about a school shooting, but in reality the bigger part of the book is about his relationships with the people in his life and why he is feeling the ways he is. I thought this book was fantastic and everyone should read it; so much about life can be learned from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    For a high school boy without a mother around and very few frien

    For a high school boy without a mother around and very few friends, life can seem quite dreadful. Leonard Peacock deals with this on a day to day basis, but takes it to the extreme with starting the book stating he’s going to kill himself along with a classmate by the end of the day. Following Leonard’s last day brings up his past, such as his time spent with a devout Christian girl, to his future, seen through letters his family sends him from their lighthouse. Relationships, adult life, and humanity itself are questioned throughout the book, drawing the reader in more and more to find out what exactly is going to happen to dear Leonard. Not once was I bored, for the sarcastic main character is easy to get along with and easy to feel as if you’re traveling with him through his (possible) last day on Earth. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2