Customer Reviews for

Forgive My Fins (Fins Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 352 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    OliveBookReviews

    Forgive My Fins was a really cute story that people my age (14) can really understand. It's all about the love you realize was always there even when you thought it wasn't. The sea slang in the book is used constantly (ex: carp instead of crap) but it just adds to the story. I loved it a ton. If you think this review was helpful, please rate it!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very sweet...cant wait for "Fins Are Forever!"

    This book was very cute. I have to admit that I found the fish slang to be a little hokey but other then that I enjoyed the story. The main character, Princess Waterlilly "Lily" is strong, loyal, and extremely stubborn, all good qualities depending on the situation. The only thing I found frustrating was her persistent denial regarding how she feels about Quince/Brody and how they feel about her. But I won't spoil the story for you by diving into that anymore. Quince was amazing! He is the other main focus of the story and I figure if Lily doesn't want him I'll take him :) The rest of the supporting characters were very well developed and really added to the atmosphere of the world Lily lives in and the situation she is faced with.

    Lily is seventeen and quickly approaching her eighteenth birthday. It is on that birthday that she must be bonded "kind of like marriage" or she will lose her rights to the thrown. Lily is the only daughter to the King of Thalassinia, a mer-kingdom located about 45 miles east, off the coast of Florida. Lily has spent the last three years on land living with her mother's sister. After discovering that her mother was a human she wanted to learn more about that world. From the first time she saw Brody Bennett she was hooked (pun totally intended). Brody is hot (bonus), and at home in the water so he would make the perfect mer-mate as far as Lily is concerned.

    Quince is Lily's next door neighbor and he drives her crazy. He has done everything in his power to make Lily miserable for the last three years. But through a cruel twist of fate she ends up being bonded to him instead of her crush. Now she has to convince everyone that they should be separated before the bond becomes permanent and Quince becomes a merman forever.

    This was my first book by Tera Lynn Childs but I have heard good things about her other series, "Oh. My. Gods." If "Forgive my Fins" is any indication then I will have to pick them up. "Forgive my Fins," was a fun summer read and I recommend it to all. If you do enjoy this book you will be happy to learn that there is a sequel, "Fins are Forever" is set to release summer of 2011!

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    FINS?!

    If you like magcal stuff like mermaids and fairies. Then your love this book it has lots of magic and fantasy in it. This book will blow your mind from page one. So read it i dare you.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Oh. My. Goldfish.

    I absolutely adore this book! And I give it 4.5 stars(:
    It's something different from all of this vampire books, I read this book very quickly took me like six hours or so, I'm a very fast reader so don't make you think that it's normal lol. I just ordered the second book because I fell in love with the characters, I love the world that Ms. Childs created it was so fun. This book has it's moments where things are weird and a little boring but as soon as that happens something crazy turns around and slaps you back into something wonderful. This book is very fun and the characters are very likable and even relatable. I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something new. I was honestly getting sick of all the vampire books although I do adore them but I've just read so many that this book was very refreshing and I am so excited for the next two. Hope this helps you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Cuteness, romance, and mermaids!

    I have a confession to make. I love mermaids. So anything that has mermaids in it, I want to read, and I'll probably love. Even if the writing is horrible, I'm still going to squeal like a little kid because there are mermaids in it. Blame Disney and The Little Mermaid.

    And now you can also blame Forgive My Fins, because it was amazing. My first instinct when I finished this was to fan girl squeak and just give it a five-star rating, but I'm going to try to be a little more objective, and not let my undying love for anything under the sea to get in the way.

    One thing I appreciated about Fins was that every question I had was eventually answered. While I know this is going to be a series (or at least one sequel), it felt like a complete novel. There were no dangling loose ends between the main characters. I had no lingering doubts or questions. And I loved it. I hate when a book just has so many threads flapping in the wind, waiting to be tied up in more installments. The intricacies of Child's mermaids were explained to the fullest, such as how they transform, how they hide their mermaid-ness, etc. (My only lingering curiosity was how exactly her parents managed to have a kid without "bonding"? No kissing? Seems suspicious.Or, at least, very unromantic.)

    And speaking of the mermaids, how awesome are they? The can transform from mermaid, to finkini (scaly bikini), to human with no problem. They love sushi and eat with underwater chopsticks, called seasticks. And the slang. I laughed so hard at the swear word replacement. Carp for crap. Frogging for, well.you know.

    As for the story and the characters themselves, it was all just so cute. I quickly became addicted to the conflict between Lily and Quince, and I stayed up way too late to enjoy their bantering. Quince's feelings were painfully obvious to me, even from the very first few pages. I spent a lot of time swooning over him, and wanting to smack Lily at the same time for being so completely oblivious. My only true problems were with elements of the story itself.

    *Beware - spoilers ahead!*

    I did think that Lily's father delaying their separation three times was a little much. Two was funny, but by the third time, I was just rolling my eyes. I also wish Lily had found out Brody was a scumbag in a much more dramatic way. Not just a light bulb clicking on because he was, well, fascinated about her being a mermaid. I wanted it to be a kiss with no sparks, or his "player" tendencies to come out right in front of her.

    As for her reuniting with Quince at the end, I think it also needed a little spice. "Woohoo!" I mean, really? Who says "Woohoo?" I wanted drama, and romance, and tears, and confessions of undying love, and passionate kissing. And all I got was a 'woohoo' and some twirling. So maybe there was a kiss, but it wasn't the fireworks of realized love that I was hoping for.

    And what was with the overly sinister ending with Doe? It just felt.really weird and out of place. I know it's probably setting up for the sequel, but it was really jarring, and totally threw me out of the happy Quince and Lily mode.

    Regardless, I cannot wait for the sequel. I'm picking it up as soon as it comes out!

    The Final Word: A cute, light romance that's a quick read, and even more quickly addicting. If you like mermaids at all, it's a must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Written Mermaid Tale!

    Forgive My Fins was a beautifully written mermaid tale. The characters and magical essence of the story was absorbing. Also, the mermaid lingo was a plus. The usage of ocean terms were entertaining and very original. Lily, was a unique protagonist. Her insecure, complex personality and frizzy hair didn't fit the stereotype of a "glamorous" mermaid. I appreciated how Tera twisted the way I perceived mermaids. However, it didn't take away from Lily's hidden raw beauty and great energy. Since she was a princess, it was her duty to find a lover to bond with, before her eighteenth birthday. I loved the whole idea of bonding a mermaid and a human together. Very romantic. Reminded me of my favorite Disney movie, The Little Mermaid.

    Now, instead of her bonding with her hunky crush Brody, she was stuck with Quince, her annoying neighbor. Quince's personality was awesome. To Lily he was annoying, but I found him charming and endearing. Their cat and mouse relationship was amusing. I liked when he made fun of Lily. It showed how attentive and willing he was to deal with her situation. I routed for him and hoped she would warm up to the idea of Quince as her mate. The novel was a bit predictable at times, but it didn't take away from the story. I was still interested and look forward to continuing this series. After all, Tera left us with a cliffhanger that left me wanting more. Overall, if you're a fan of mermaids, you'll want to pick this one up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Love it!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was fun and quirky, leaving me wondering just what was going to happen to princess lily in her life-on-land adventure. A wonderful tale of a mermaid,her crush, and the pesky neighbor who always tends to ruin her romantic progress, this book has just the right amount of fun and a suprising young love. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Nfnf

    Read this book NOW!!!

    L+Q=FOREVER!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i fell in love with this book from the first page! it was magical i highly recommend this book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Recommend

    I just finished Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs, and can I say amazing!!?! The book was humorous, witty, and everything you want in a love story. I couldn't put this book down. I started it Saturday and read it all day today.
    I love Quince, he was witty, hilarious, and the boy every girl should fall for. Except for the peeping Tom issue he has... He always kept Lily on her toes when he was around and brought out the hidden person in her. Lily, of course, had some issues with him. He tormented her all the time for the three years that she was on land.
    Lily, on the other hand I had some issues with. I get it, your first love, all i you want is for that "perfect" guy to notice you. Love makes you blind, and that's exactly what it did to Lily. She didn't notice Quince at all, except when he was tormenting her. The constant Brody obsession going on in Lily's mind and her life was a little annoying but all in all an amazing book!!

    I even painted my toes a nice Sea Greenish Blue in honor of the book! I cannot wait to see where the mysterious epilogue takes us in the next book Fins are Forever coming June 28th! Save the date!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Love+it%21%21%21%21

    The+best++book+i+have+read+in+a+long+time%21%21%0AI+am+really+sad+that+it+had+to+end+%21+Then+again+i%27m+always+sad+when+good+books+end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    BEST BOOK(:(:<3

    Best book for any new,young teen who hates reading. They will not put this book down until it is done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    NO BOOK IS BETER THAN THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is my very favourite i strongly recomend this book....im already reading the second one!!!! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    Forgive my fins

    It was ok book.203 pages. It was a love story.There are 3 books to read.I had a hard time getting into it.but I finished it.I have to finish the other 2 books.anyone can read this book.since all of the books are only a couple hundred pages I will finish reading the other 2 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Cool

    Inspiraring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    best book ever

    best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Re: Help

    Yes this is a great book for ages 10+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOK SERIES IVE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And yes its worth this many characters

    One of the best book series ever! I was SO happy when i saw tht there was 2 other books to the series AND another series about Lilly's best friend in the merworld! So worth the time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Click here

    This book Forgive my fins iss a great read and those of you who have read this book and want more then read Fins are forever (book #2)
    READ ON!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Fin

    Picking up chicks... first off ask how their day went start the conversation bout how every thing has been and get to know them a bit after a while you just might get some pu.ssy and that pretty well sums it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 352 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18