Customer Reviews for

Forgive My Fins

Average Rating 4.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Okayyy

    It was a good book to spend some time reading this book i like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Royal Mermaid Tale

    Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it's not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you're a normal teenage girl, but when you're half human, half mermaid, like Lily, there's no such thing as a simple crush.

    Lily's mermaid identity is a secret that can't get out, since she's not just any mermaid—she's a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn't feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she's been living on land and going to Seaview High School ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems—like her obnoxious biker-boy neighbor, Quince Fletcher—but it has that one major perk: Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren't really the casual dating type—the instant they "bond," it's for life.

    When Lily's attempt to win Brody's love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily ever after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.

    Lily came to the main land to experience life as a "Terraped" (aka 'Human' to Mermaids) and get close to the memory of her long-lost human Mother; who died shortly after she was born. Living at her Aunt's house, she goes to school as a normal teenager and becomes involved with the swim team and yearbook club. Her royal mermaid destiny claims she has to find her mer-mate before her eighteenth birthday, thus she's on a mission to kiss her long-time crush, Brody, and bring him back to her under water kingdom. Unfortunately, her annoying neighbor, Quince, always seems to get in the way of all her romantic attempts and when one finial Brody slip up occurs, Lily has to return to her home in the sea to set things straight, with Quince in tow.

    I've been on a mermaid genre reading spree lately, but found this book sadly underwhelming and quite callow overall. Lily can come off sometimes are endearing but mostly she's frivolous & indecisive -- almost annoyingly so! Quince is easy to understand, but quite a push-over when it comes to Lily. Though it's nice that he can push Lily's buttons and add some much needed playfulness to the story. The side characters were all very bland, stale, and didn't really excite me that much; except for the Father/King -- he created an emotional bond that really added to Lily's family history. All in all, if you are looking for an easy juvenile paranormal read ( with silly characters doing foolish things! ) you may enjoy this book more than myself (esp. with Book #2 coming out shortly)

    Likes: Lily has quite a collection of ocean-related potty-mouth slang she uses throughout the whole story. (ex: "Son of a Shark", "Carp","Holy Crab Cakes", etc.)

    Dislikes: The story's plot was very underdeveloped and Lily's naivety put a damper on the tale as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Reviews

    Where r the reviews??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Okay...

    This book was just average. Nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bobbing along in the beautiful briny sea

    Forgive My Fins did not quite catch my fancy as expected, but all in all, it was quite a charming read if one is looking for bubbly fun. I could tell Tera Lynn Childs had a whale of a time with all the sea-themed quips and giggles - and after finishing such a read, I cannot help but roll with the puns as I type this review. Even horrible as they must be to you, my finless Readers. Yet, as fun as Lily's aquatic phrases were, the story itself didn't sizzle and spark and all that good stuff. I wanted a little more tension within the love triangle between Lily, Brody, and Quince - it almost got to that delicious point, but then backed off too soon for me to get 110% committed to the characters. As far as characters go, Quince was by far my favorite. Misunderstood, overlooked, but absolutely irresistible and charming. I'm debating whether or not I want to read the sequel Fins Are Forever when it comes out, but I think I probably will to find out how sweet the story ends - and to see if Quince gets uber-hotter :) Compared to oh.my.gods. (review here), Forgive My Fins follows the same vein of funness of Tera Lynn Child's debut series, but without the Greek mythiness which might have colored my reaction since I am quite partial to the myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rather lukewarm for me, despite the bubbly fun

    Forgive My Fins did not quite catch my fancy as expected, but all in all, it was quite a charming read if one is looking for bubbly fun. I could tell Tera Lynn Childs had a whale of a time with all the sea-themed quips and giggles - and after finishing such a read, I cannot help but roll with the puns as I type this review. Even horrible as they must be to you, my finless Readers.

    Yet, as fun as Lily's aquatic phrases were, the story itself didn't sizzle and spark and all that good stuff. I wanted a little more tension within the love triangle between Lily, Brody, and Quince - it almost got to that delicious point, but then backed off too soon for me to get 110% committed to the characters. As far as characters go, Quince was by far my favorite. Misunderstood, overlooked, but absolutely irresistible and charming.

    I'm debating whether or not I want to read the sequel Fins Are Forever when it comes out, but I think I probably will to find out how sweet the story ends - and to see if Quince gets uber-hotter :)

    Compared to oh.my.gods. (review here), Forgive My Fins follows the same vein of funness of Tera Lynn Child's debut series, but without the Greek mythiness which might have colored my reaction since I am quite partial to the myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forgive My Fins

    This book is perfect if you like the Little Mermaid. Me? I don't like that movie, nor do I like the idea of a chick with a fin. It's weird, but I do appreciate and give kudos to Tera Lynn Childs for coming up with something original. Too many books are of the same concept, and its refreshing to read about a new world that no one has probably thought about since they were eight.
    Lily is basically obsessed with this Brody guy, and she knows absolutely nothing about him--aside from the fact that he loves water like her. And I have to admit to hating how weird Lily was when thinking of Brody. Like Quince says somewhere in the book, it's shallow for her to think that Brody is going to be her knight-in-shining-fins.
    I liked Quince (the next-door neighbor), even though he comes off as a weirdo pervert in the beginning of the book. He brought the laughs--not that Lily wasn't funny, because she was. Her thinking-process alone is laughable, and her use of underwater words were different from how teens normally use swear words.
    There was some terminology that I had a hard time grasping, and imagining an underworld kingdom was kind of difficult, because I kept thinking, 'This is so stupid!' But if you just stop your mind from judging, and just read, then you should breeze though this short book. (Well, short in my opinion. Most books I read are at least 300 pages)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs Review

    I just have to say that without a doubt that I'm a very big fan of Tera Lynn Childs' writing. I believe it's possible to be a one-hit wonder in the writing world just like it is everywhere else, but Childs is in no danger of falling into this category. After reading her Oh.My.Gods. series, I was hoping for the same fun, light reads that I had come to expect from Childs, and I was not disappointed with Forgive My Fins. I think I've found a new series that I'll be following in the future with a lot of anticipation.

    We are introduced to Lily, our half human, half mermaid main character and I think a lot of readers will be joining her fan club after getting to know her. She's very easy to sympathize with and relate to. Although I can't claim to be a mermaid (even though Ariel and The Little Mermaid had me daydreaming as a little kid) I think most girls have had their share of crushes growing up. And Lily shows this in spades. As Lily pines for Brody Bennett (the swim god at her high school) I think every reader will be walking on egg shells right along with Lily as she tries to get up the courage to confess her love to the boy in question. And if that wasn't enough to stress her out, Childs decided to throw another wrench into her plans.

    This wrench I was talking about happens to go by the name Quince and lives right next door to Lily. He's tall, well built, knows his way around a motorcycle (major cool points there), has blonde hair and blue eyes the color of the Caribbean. Can you tell I'm drooling over here? While Lily might find his teasing and constant meddling in her personal life irritating, I'm saying I'll take him off her hands if she doesn't want him! But I digress, because the fun didn't stop there, it was only just the beginning.

    With just one kiss Lily's world is thrown upside down and in order to fix and figure things out she just might have to spend a little time with Quince and *gasp* get to know him a little better. Can you imagine the horror? Will she survive the torture? Will she finally find the courage to confess her feelings to Brody, or will she discover that just because you get what you want doesn't always mean that it's what you need or could it be that you might not have realized what you really wanted when it was staring you right in the face. Enter Childs' world and enjoy the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Forgive My Fins Review

    When I read the summary for this book, I was instantly interested. I have read books by Tera Lynn Childs before- Oh.My.Gods and Goddess Bootcamp were great books- so I expected this book to be great too. Although the plot for the book was interesting and kept me turning the pages, I just couldn't stand the main character, Lily. She was so snotty and mean to Quince, even when she thought she liked him! I also didn't like the fact that until the very end she was completely IN LOVE with Brody, and that she wouldn't admit that there was something between her and Quince. After awhile her attitude toward Quince really turned me off this book and I skimmed through the rest of the pages I had left. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone who wants to read this book because of the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2