Customer Reviews for

Forgive My Fins

Average Rating 4.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very sweet...cant wait for "Fins Are Forever!"

    This book was very cute. I have to admit that I found the fish slang to be a little hokey but other then that I enjoyed the story. The main character, Princess Waterlilly "Lily" is strong, loyal, and extremely stubborn, all good qualities depending on the situation. The only thing I found frustrating was her persistent denial regarding how she feels about Quince/Brody and how they feel about her. But I won't spoil the story for you by diving into that anymore. Quince was amazing! He is the other main focus of the story and I figure if Lily doesn't want him I'll take him :) The rest of the supporting characters were very well developed and really added to the atmosphere of the world Lily lives in and the situation she is faced with.

    Lily is seventeen and quickly approaching her eighteenth birthday. It is on that birthday that she must be bonded "kind of like marriage" or she will lose her rights to the thrown. Lily is the only daughter to the King of Thalassinia, a mer-kingdom located about 45 miles east, off the coast of Florida. Lily has spent the last three years on land living with her mother's sister. After discovering that her mother was a human she wanted to learn more about that world. From the first time she saw Brody Bennett she was hooked (pun totally intended). Brody is hot (bonus), and at home in the water so he would make the perfect mer-mate as far as Lily is concerned.

    Quince is Lily's next door neighbor and he drives her crazy. He has done everything in his power to make Lily miserable for the last three years. But through a cruel twist of fate she ends up being bonded to him instead of her crush. Now she has to convince everyone that they should be separated before the bond becomes permanent and Quince becomes a merman forever.

    This was my first book by Tera Lynn Childs but I have heard good things about her other series, "Oh. My. Gods." If "Forgive my Fins" is any indication then I will have to pick them up. "Forgive my Fins," was a fun summer read and I recommend it to all. If you do enjoy this book you will be happy to learn that there is a sequel, "Fins are Forever" is set to release summer of 2011!

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Oh. My. Goldfish.

    I absolutely adore this book! And I give it 4.5 stars(:
    It's something different from all of this vampire books, I read this book very quickly took me like six hours or so, I'm a very fast reader so don't make you think that it's normal lol. I just ordered the second book because I fell in love with the characters, I love the world that Ms. Childs created it was so fun. This book has it's moments where things are weird and a little boring but as soon as that happens something crazy turns around and slaps you back into something wonderful. This book is very fun and the characters are very likable and even relatable. I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something new. I was honestly getting sick of all the vampire books although I do adore them but I've just read so many that this book was very refreshing and I am so excited for the next two. Hope this helps you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Cuteness, romance, and mermaids!

    I have a confession to make. I love mermaids. So anything that has mermaids in it, I want to read, and I'll probably love. Even if the writing is horrible, I'm still going to squeal like a little kid because there are mermaids in it. Blame Disney and The Little Mermaid.

    And now you can also blame Forgive My Fins, because it was amazing. My first instinct when I finished this was to fan girl squeak and just give it a five-star rating, but I'm going to try to be a little more objective, and not let my undying love for anything under the sea to get in the way.

    One thing I appreciated about Fins was that every question I had was eventually answered. While I know this is going to be a series (or at least one sequel), it felt like a complete novel. There were no dangling loose ends between the main characters. I had no lingering doubts or questions. And I loved it. I hate when a book just has so many threads flapping in the wind, waiting to be tied up in more installments. The intricacies of Child's mermaids were explained to the fullest, such as how they transform, how they hide their mermaid-ness, etc. (My only lingering curiosity was how exactly her parents managed to have a kid without "bonding"? No kissing? Seems suspicious.Or, at least, very unromantic.)

    And speaking of the mermaids, how awesome are they? The can transform from mermaid, to finkini (scaly bikini), to human with no problem. They love sushi and eat with underwater chopsticks, called seasticks. And the slang. I laughed so hard at the swear word replacement. Carp for crap. Frogging for, well.you know.

    As for the story and the characters themselves, it was all just so cute. I quickly became addicted to the conflict between Lily and Quince, and I stayed up way too late to enjoy their bantering. Quince's feelings were painfully obvious to me, even from the very first few pages. I spent a lot of time swooning over him, and wanting to smack Lily at the same time for being so completely oblivious. My only true problems were with elements of the story itself.

    *Beware - spoilers ahead!*

    I did think that Lily's father delaying their separation three times was a little much. Two was funny, but by the third time, I was just rolling my eyes. I also wish Lily had found out Brody was a scumbag in a much more dramatic way. Not just a light bulb clicking on because he was, well, fascinated about her being a mermaid. I wanted it to be a kiss with no sparks, or his "player" tendencies to come out right in front of her.

    As for her reuniting with Quince at the end, I think it also needed a little spice. "Woohoo!" I mean, really? Who says "Woohoo?" I wanted drama, and romance, and tears, and confessions of undying love, and passionate kissing. And all I got was a 'woohoo' and some twirling. So maybe there was a kiss, but it wasn't the fireworks of realized love that I was hoping for.

    And what was with the overly sinister ending with Doe? It just felt.really weird and out of place. I know it's probably setting up for the sequel, but it was really jarring, and totally threw me out of the happy Quince and Lily mode.

    Regardless, I cannot wait for the sequel. I'm picking it up as soon as it comes out!

    The Final Word: A cute, light romance that's a quick read, and even more quickly addicting. If you like mermaids at all, it's a must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Written Mermaid Tale!

    Forgive My Fins was a beautifully written mermaid tale. The characters and magical essence of the story was absorbing. Also, the mermaid lingo was a plus. The usage of ocean terms were entertaining and very original. Lily, was a unique protagonist. Her insecure, complex personality and frizzy hair didn't fit the stereotype of a "glamorous" mermaid. I appreciated how Tera twisted the way I perceived mermaids. However, it didn't take away from Lily's hidden raw beauty and great energy. Since she was a princess, it was her duty to find a lover to bond with, before her eighteenth birthday. I loved the whole idea of bonding a mermaid and a human together. Very romantic. Reminded me of my favorite Disney movie, The Little Mermaid.

    Now, instead of her bonding with her hunky crush Brody, she was stuck with Quince, her annoying neighbor. Quince's personality was awesome. To Lily he was annoying, but I found him charming and endearing. Their cat and mouse relationship was amusing. I liked when he made fun of Lily. It showed how attentive and willing he was to deal with her situation. I routed for him and hoped she would warm up to the idea of Quince as her mate. The novel was a bit predictable at times, but it didn't take away from the story. I was still interested and look forward to continuing this series. After all, Tera left us with a cliffhanger that left me wanting more. Overall, if you're a fan of mermaids, you'll want to pick this one up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Recommend

    I just finished Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs, and can I say amazing!!?! The book was humorous, witty, and everything you want in a love story. I couldn't put this book down. I started it Saturday and read it all day today.
    I love Quince, he was witty, hilarious, and the boy every girl should fall for. Except for the peeping Tom issue he has... He always kept Lily on her toes when he was around and brought out the hidden person in her. Lily, of course, had some issues with him. He tormented her all the time for the three years that she was on land.
    Lily, on the other hand I had some issues with. I get it, your first love, all i you want is for that "perfect" guy to notice you. Love makes you blind, and that's exactly what it did to Lily. She didn't notice Quince at all, except when he was tormenting her. The constant Brody obsession going on in Lily's mind and her life was a little annoying but all in all an amazing book!!

    I even painted my toes a nice Sea Greenish Blue in honor of the book! I cannot wait to see where the mysterious epilogue takes us in the next book Fins are Forever coming June 28th! Save the date!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Enjoy

    A great story that you can sit and relax to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Fluff meets Romance Son of a swordfish! This book was good. Goo

    Fluff meets Romance

    Son of a swordfish! This book was good. Good in a pink, fluffy, excessively cute way. I never really gave much thought to mermaids. I was never attached to the concept nor did I like the Little Mermaid much. But reading a book of this fuzzy caliber. I guess, you can't help but love it.

    Lily is half-human, and the other half being a mermaid. Duh. First thing I loved about her was her ocean terminology and how all her swear words were inspired by little critters in the deep blue sea, like holy blowfish! I say again, excessively cute. Lily is loyal to all her friends, mer or human. If someone speaks smack about them, she comes running to defend them. Only thing that ticked me off, is her blind obsession with her supposed soon to be "bond" (Marriage) mate, Brody and her endless self-pity. Thank Poseidon, Quince, her overly annoying human neighbor, is there to stop her from doing anything stupid. Well, almost.

    Honestly, the only thing that kept me reading is Quince's mean and rude attitude towards Lily and how obvious their attraction is to each other. Quince knows this, but Lily. Well, like I said. She's blind. It was a predictable love and hate relationship but it was awesome!

    So, the majority of the book was about Quince intentionally kissing Lily (which initiates the bond) in the dark (she thought he was Brody), and Lily trying to get them "separated" (sea equivalent to a divorce) from the bond. And that involves introducing him to her King Father from her Kingdom under the sea (She's a Princess). The entire time she's trying to get "separated" from him. She doesn't realize how fast she's falling for the guy until she makes a mistake with Brody.

    Worst comes to worse, they make sacrifices and live happily ever after all the stupidity, rude remarks and hurt. I'm just happy it ended well.

    Childs writing is clean, clear and amazingly vivid. She's got the writers gift that literally pulls you into the story. As much as the book would appeal to teens who like fluff. This isn't a guy friendly book, unless they're into that kind of stuff. At least, the fluff is romantic and energetic. An automatic fav amongst the soft hearted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    This book is adorable. The fish puns are pretty cheesy, but it's

    This book is adorable. The fish puns are pretty cheesy, but it's still so fun to read. It really is cute an it's something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A bubbly and youthful water adventure!

    FORGIVE MY FINS was my very first mermaid novel and I found it really refreshing to have yet another fantastic paranormal being to meet!

    We follow Lily who is not only a mermaid, but in fact princess of the sea. She spent the last year on land to learn more about life out of sea and to find her prince. She’s living with her aunt and has a best friend and she also has a pretty normal human life to live. Our splashy narrator is an impulsive person. In general I liked her, her behaviour and way of thinking were sometimes just too infantile.

    The main focus lies on Lily’s boy issues. There are two. Her true love Brody Bennett and neighbour Quince. Both guys are different in personality and it wasn’t very difficult to root for one guy after only a few chapters.
    What I really liked about FORGIVE MY FINS is the concept of a kiss binding the mermaid Lily to her chosen prince. It’s a very romantic and magical idea, which will of course confront Lily with a bunch of problems in the course of FORGIVE MY FINS.
    Tera Lynn Childs created an enjoyable concept of sea people and story, because there is no typical conflict between land and sea. Lily is even encouraged to spend some time on land and follow her dreams. So this story is told in a rather peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. We get an insight in both worlds and are provided with many details and customs of the sea folk.

    Join Lily and her chosen boy on their cheerful underwater adventures. If you haven’t read a mermaid novel before you should definitely add this paranormal being to your reading repertoire.

    THE VERDICT

    I give it 3,5/5 stars.

    FORGIVE MY FINS is told in a light and humorous style which makes it an easy and fun read. The story around Lily feels aimed at a younger audience, yet I found it quite enjoyable for all YA fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Pink lip gloss

    This was a well atempted book and i enjoyed it as much as the next person, however let me remind readers that the bulk of the book is all interpreted by the soul and this book was a great example. Filled with fish tail fun and trauma this book will appease those who habe a heart for the resemblence of another way of life and a love that is greater than life itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great Teen Romance

    This book has a great flow that holds your interest to the very end. We enjoyed the book so much that we quickly bought the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Awesome.

    I finished in a couple hours, the characters are creative, it's laugh-out-loud funny. My problem is that it felt like you were dropped in the middle of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Ariel1

    I havent read it but i think after what ive seen about it i just might get it .interesting reviews. Ill definitely look forward to getting it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Intriguing characters

    Honestly, I knew how this book was going to end by the time I was done with pg. 20. However, I found the characters intriguing so I didn't mind. I wanted to continue reading to see how Lily, who wants her crush Brody to be her "Prince", gets to the predictable ending. How her annoying neighbor Quincy factors in. I found their journey from points A to B sweet. I'm defiantly continuing the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average mermaid tale

    Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs is about a girl named Lily who is really a mermaid princess living on land with the sister of her dead mother. Lily is convinced that the swimming star, Brody, is her one true love. After many failed attempts of trying to get Brody interested in her, she receives help from her annoying neighbor, Quince. Accidently bonded with Quince, Lily has to undergo a test in order to get her "divorce". Keeping her secret form her friends and love is hard, and sometimes secrets are ment to be shared.
    I took a chance reading this book. I don't usually like to read books about mermaids. But I really ended up liking this one. If you like this book read Tera's sequal, Fins are Forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    BookHounds

    **slight spoilers -- don't read after the first paragraph**

    This is a super fast read and much like a candy bar, you are done and wondering where it all went. Well, at least this won't spend a life time on my hips. I still think about this one wistfully and how cute and sweet it is. This is just so much fun! There are so many adorable puns and cute ways Lily has about cussing -- my favorite, son of a swordfish! This is a pretty clean book with only some G rated kissing and not much else, although Lily does fantasize about it a lot. If you enjoy Kelly McClymber Salem Cheerleader series, you will really enjoy this one.

    The story introduces us to Lily Sanderson (her name is the first of many fish puns) and her life on Florida coast where she is trying to blend in with the locals even though she is a mermaid princess of Thalassinia and discover her half human side. Lily has one goal and that is to kiss the hot hunk Brody she has set her sights on to help her rule her kingdom. Of course, nothing goes according to plan and her first kiss which bonds her to the gentleman for life ends up with her annoying neighbor, Quince.

    Quince is all wrong for Lily, or so she thinks. Quince has been in love with her since he first met her, but doesn't let on. It is only when Lily explains the seriousness of that first kiss, that he truly understands what Lily is and will become. Just like any fairy tale, this one has a happy ending, but not exactly what you might think. Lily shows true maturity in realizing that she care about Quince, but can't condemn him to her lifestyle until they work their way through many issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulously Fintastic

    Forgive My Fins is a great mermaid tale that puts a new spin on the newest of young adult fads.

    When you think of Mermaid's you think of flawless skin, coral cheeks, long shining hair, large sparkly eyes and lots of grace whether on land or water. At least I do. Lily, our main character and mermaid, isn't quite like the fairy tales depict which makes her story so much more enjoyable- no flawless, perfect, boy magnet here.

    Lily is slightly awkward with frizzy hair and has an interesting sense of fashion, or lack there of. Her attraction to the popular high school hunk is no surprise but it is when she ends up literally stuck with her annoying neighbor, Quince. Even though Lily found her neighbor less then adequate for her companion merman I thought he was absolutely adorable and had a personality which fit Lily's perfectly. Quince thought Lily was perfect the way she was, short comings, frizzy hair, clumsiness and all.

    Tera Lynn Childs gave us an underwater world complete with deserted island and our own personal Mermaid version of a reality show starring Lily and Quince. Pair the affectionate (or annoying, depending on which side you are on) banter of Lily and Quince, the anticipation of wondering if Lily will ever warm up to Quince and the thought of a mermaid-human happily-ever-after romance was enough to keep this at times predictable story completely entertaining.

    'Fintastically' written, Forgive My Fins is a great, light-hearted and comical read. The extra detail in Lily's vocabulary, playing on her mermaid-natured self, only adds to an already fantastic read.

    On the cover: I am honestly not really feeling the blue lips. The eyeshadow and sparkles are fabulous but the lips irk me a little bit. I really feel the content of the book outshines the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I loved it!

    Forgive my fins was a hilarious and adorable book. I can't say anything or I will spoil the book! You just gotta read it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Mermaid Kisses

    Tera Lynn Childs writes an adorable tale about a girl who wants nothing more than to be bonded with a gorgeous boy at her school, only problem is that she isn't just an ordinary girl, she's a mermaid, and the princess of her kingdom.

    The biker boy next door wants nothing more than to be bonded to her, but with her blinders on and having only eyes for the gorgeous hunk at school she only finds him annoying and a waste of her time. It's only until there is a kiss and she is bonded with someone she has no interest in being bonded too that real problems begin.

    With high school woes and obstacles that Lily must overcome she finds herself falling in love with the biker boy and learning that sometimes the person you would least expect to love is the one that will love you forever.

    The read is light-hearted and fun, you'll want to read it in one sitting with the fun and witty fish talk and Lily's light personality. Fun for the family and young teens you'll find only wanting more after the book is complete!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    A Magical YA tail.

    My thoughts...This is the perfect summer read! Forgive My Fins is a fun, lighthearted story the will leave you grinning from ear to ear.

    Being half human, Lily has chosen to live on the land to learn more about her mother. While attending school and trying to blend with the mortals, she falls in love. The question is did she fall for the right guy? When she accidentally kisses the wrong boy, she has to prove to her Daddy that it was a mistake before they are bonded forever. Lily's character was quirky and fun to read. My favorite character in the story was bad boy Quince, his character developed so much through the story, that I was rooting for him in the end.

    Forgive My Fins moved at a fast pace, easy read. Childs did a brilliant job of describing her world, especially the underwater kingdom of Thalassinia. The story is romantic without being gushy, charming and funny. The ending surprised me, it did not end the way I expected. The epilogue actually left room for another tail.

    I would recommend this to YA fans of all ages. It was a clean read, just some kissing scenes. This is the perfect for reading by the pool or at the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4