Customer Reviews for

Forgiven

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait!!!

These novels are absolutely amazing and I can't wait to read this one!!! Riley is a strong female main character and she never gives up. You must read these books!

posted by NinjaReader22 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Omg

    I love this series you have to read it i only 10 and lllloooooovvvveeeee it

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Omg!

    Another one! I dont have number 2 yet!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Even though I bought this book back in March, I didn't start rea

    Even though I bought this book back in March, I didn't start reading it until yesterday. Why? Because I was mad at Beck! Riley screwed up, yes, but I was mad at Beck!

    When I first started the book, I was mad at him again! Now, this is NOT to reflect on the story on a whole. The story is great and the fact that I was mad at Beck was great because it shows how well Jana weaves this story, drawing you in and really becoming emotionally invested in these characters.

    With each book in this series, the steaks are set higher and higher. I think this is probably the most intense of the books yet. I was on the edge of my seat, holding my breath. I swear with the turn of every page you're like "How is she getting out of this one?" Even in the downtime with her friends, you're still wondering what's going to come next.

    We start the story back up with Paul Blackthorne - now a reanimated body - back with his daughter. Beck is not really speaking to Riley right now. Even if he wanted to, he's face down in the dirt in front of his house while the Hunters' ransack his home.

    As I said, things just keep piling on as the Vatican's demon hunters believe Riley is in league with Hell - an offense punishable by death. Don't forget, we still have those fake bottles of Holy Water out there and demons chanting Riley's name!

    I love how Jana truly weaves this story together where you can't really separate them by books. While each does have its own story arch, they are still a continuing story arch, each one leading into the next. Some things answered, more questions come up.

    Definitely happy with this latest edition.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    This is the third book in Jana Oliver’s ‘Demon Trapp

    This is the third book in Jana Oliver’s ‘Demon Trappers’ series. I liked it better than the second, it’s almost as good as the very first.

    I liked the way the book builds more on action and adventure and I like the way Riley is being more rational in her decision making, particularly when it comes to matters of the heart. Things seem to look up for her in the relationship department with Beck...but are things really as they seem?

    Riley has made deals with heaven and hell so is right in the middle when Armageddon threatens to begin. There's plenty of Demon action in this book, and more background in Demon Trapper history.

    The book flows fast, many issues are resolved at the end but then there’s also a cliff hanger ending which leaves me keen to read the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    book

    These books are the best! You should totally read them! They have great relationships and who to trust issues in it, too! Best books!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Can't wait!!!

    These novels are absolutely amazing and I can't wait to read this one!!! Riley is a strong female main character and she never gives up. You must read these books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. I'm 13, i had my mom read it and s

    I absolutely loved this book. I'm 13, i had my mom read it and she instantly fell in love with the series. It is an amazing book for all generations and ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved it

    Thisbook is way beyond magnificent as well as all the other books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Omg

    Finally praise the author, wait beck broke it off with riley because he didnt want her getting hurt!!! THATS SWEET AND ALL BUT SHE HAS PROVEN TIME AND TIME AGIAN IN THIS BOOK AND THE OTHERS THAT SHE CAN HANDLE ALOT!!!! BECK GET IT TOGETHER SO YOU CAN LOVE RILEY THE WAY SH ELOVES AND WANTS YOU TOO!!! YOURE NOT HER BIG BRITHER YOURE HERE "SHOULD BE" BOYFRIEND!!!! THE FOURTH ENSTALLMENT IN THIS BOOK COMES OUT IN DECEMBER 2012!!! YEAH THATS NOT TOO LONG TO WAIT!!!! HOPEFULLY......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    good series

    Liked first two books better This one did not end right waiting to see if there is another one

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, so first I’d like you to know that this was the firs

    Okay, so first I’d like you to know that this was the first book I read from the author---the first book I read from the series. So I don’t have anything to compare to especially with the previous books in the series. Though personally, I asked to review this book is because the many positive reviews I heard from the first two- The Demon Trapper’s Daughter and Soul Thief.

    Surprisingly enough, even with the vast new and old characters- the demons, the trappers, fallen, summoners, I wasn’t entirely lost. Once I tuned in with Riley, everything comes vivid in her POV. I understand the situation she’s in, the relationships and misunderstandings she had with the other characters and even her choice to uncover the mysteries and protect humanity. The storyline was easy to follow but the twists and turns are not easily figured out.

    I loved Jana Oliver’s writing style, its fresh and unique. The readers were always up for action and at the same time, subplots were given emphasis and the tension between the protagonists, the mysteries, the conflicts were all there. She wrote the book with passion and deep detail that it’s easy to imagine the world she made, the demons, and the action-packed scenarios happening.

    I also loved Riley, she’s a strong character that doesn’t depend on her leading man or anyone, she actually thinks about resolutions and the things to do in order to make things right especially the consequences of her past actions. Her behavior was measured and it’s less on drama, she was too mature for a seventeen-year-old, which isn’t bad.

    Beck…at first, I thought Beck’s a girl..:D. He was hot, gorgeous, yes, but it was really unfair of him to get really mad with Riley, just because she made the mistake of sleeping with another man, which, take note, Beck had been with many girls before. I would have loved to see more of them- Beck and Riley that is.

    Meanwhile Justine, I hate her. Though I know, she played an important role in the story. Just don’t want to talk about her. By the way, another queer about this book, is that the feminine names are mostly used by boys and the masculine ones, Riley, Justine are for girls.

    The ending? I would have like to see the epic battle to be really epic. I was expecting far something greater and yet the resolution was too perfect for me. With all the non-stop action, the ending seemed a little too easy maybe. Meanwhile Riley’s dad is a character I would never forget, her love for Riley that even in death, he would still do everything to keep her safe.

    I laughed, I cried, got annoyed, mad, I felt everything while reading this book. I can’t wait to read the last book in the series and see how the story would end and especially to have more of Riley and Beck.

    Forgiven is an action-packed, enthralling and riveting tale of Demon Trappers and the world in chaos of the near Armageddon set in the future but not too futuristic. With heart-pounding, jaw-dropping scenarios, Forgiven would leave you wanting for more. Highly Recommended!..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great book

    The book really did have a lot of action in it unlike someother series where the author drags the plot on and on. The book was written very well and the characters seem to develop a lot. Lots of action that will keep you turning pages for hours. I read this book in 1 day and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All i have to say is that I'm VERY DISAPPOINTED in Jana Oliver w

    All i have to say is that I'm VERY DISAPPOINTED in Jana Oliver with Forgiven.
    3/5 Stars because the action and storyline are well written , But everything goes down hill again for Beck and Riley pages 250 and up .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    *DANCES AROUND* I loved this book! Really, I enjoyed that in th

    *DANCES AROUND*
    I loved this book! Really, I enjoyed that in this book there is finally some movement with the characters.
    This is the third book of The Demon Trappers Daughters series. Like always, I feel in love with the story and have been following it. I am happy that there are some good changes!!!!

    So, this storyline picks up where the last book left off and the reader is diving straight into more action. The is not much demon trapping ,but more running for you life action. I loved stepping right into Riley shoes and feeling every heat of the moment. Every heart-racing stand off, fight, and breathing taking moments!

    For those who are following this series like I am, I am happy to report that it finally happen!
    *wink*
    And then things went downhill again! UGH!

    Still, nonetheless, I am very happy with the progress of the story. Loose ends are beginning to come together and the Riley has grown up so much. She is not naive, scared or helpess. She is strong, faithful in who she is and determine to fight till the end. The book did start off a bit slow (lot of catching up on information from the last book) but I can assure you its takes off like a rocket!

    Forgiven is amusing and unexpected. It give the reader the ultimate satisfaction with great scenes!
    A fantastically-crafted story, Forgiven takes you for a ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Loved it

    Great series! I love Rileys charchter and Beck to me is on my nerves. Romance is fanstatic and the battles r great! Must read series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great series! I hope this isn't the last one, though.

    Great series! I hope this isn't the last one, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Amazing

    Amazing book!! But is it the last one?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Spectacular!

    An amazing series. For people who love urban fantasy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3