BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Forgotten

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Unputdownable! A Page-Turner Unlike Any Other

4.5 stars

Forgotten explores an almost backwards memory situation with London Lane remembering the future, but never the past. The only people she recognizes are those who are in her future, those she'll see tomorrow or the day after that, or who she'll encounter yea...
4.5 stars

Forgotten explores an almost backwards memory situation with London Lane remembering the future, but never the past. The only people she recognizes are those who are in her future, those she'll see tomorrow or the day after that, or who she'll encounter years down the road. This can be slightly confusing at first, but gets easier to understand as the plot progresses. As great as it may sound to remember the future, it's not. London is faced with knowing how relationships turn out, how each person she comes across will impact her life, and how the gorgeous Luke Henry - a new student who is kind and friendly to London - is not someone she remembers from her future.

London is easy-going, despite her recall issues, but can also be a little self-absorbed. Her voice is strong, somewhat sarcastic at times, and good-natured, but she acts a bit snooty towards her mother and can come off as a little abrasive. She can't remember the past, so it's understandable that she'd have some day to day anger. She has to prep for school each day by reading notes she wrote the day before. The only people who know about her problem are her mom and best friend Jamie. It's a tough situation, only made more complicated by her recurring nightmare of a funeral that reveals more and more each time she has it. The nightmare pops up the same time that Luke Henry shows, adding to the mystery of what's really going on.

One of the things I loved about Forgotten was that London's mother was there, she was active, and she was a participant (despite London not really wanting her to be, at times) in London's life. Jamie, London's best friend, was also a great aspect, at least in the beginning. After London's and Jamie's falling out, Jamie becomes very unlikable, but it's a testament to London's character that she refuses to give up. Watching London forge on, without her best friend but with the knowledge of how things pan out, is surprising and very inspiring. It demonstrates how powerful friendship and loyalty are to her. It shows that London is a caring person who values everything and everyone in her life.

Forgotten is a quick, unputdownable read. The premise is gripping and though-provoking, with glimpses into morality and right and wrong. London's entire existence is based upon what information she allows herself to know, meaning: London's world is unreliable. She can lie to herself and change her perception of her life and her relationships. And she does just that. It makes for an interesting and captivating read. Add a sweet and then sizzling romance, along with a memory mystery, and you've got yourself a fantastically intriguing and unforgettable (pun totally intended) read.

posted by Nikkayme on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Coolio

Omgizzle its good

posted by 3969271 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unputdownable! A Page-Turner Unlike Any Other

    4.5 stars

    Forgotten explores an almost backwards memory situation with London Lane remembering the future, but never the past. The only people she recognizes are those who are in her future, those she'll see tomorrow or the day after that, or who she'll encounter years down the road. This can be slightly confusing at first, but gets easier to understand as the plot progresses. As great as it may sound to remember the future, it's not. London is faced with knowing how relationships turn out, how each person she comes across will impact her life, and how the gorgeous Luke Henry - a new student who is kind and friendly to London - is not someone she remembers from her future.

    London is easy-going, despite her recall issues, but can also be a little self-absorbed. Her voice is strong, somewhat sarcastic at times, and good-natured, but she acts a bit snooty towards her mother and can come off as a little abrasive. She can't remember the past, so it's understandable that she'd have some day to day anger. She has to prep for school each day by reading notes she wrote the day before. The only people who know about her problem are her mom and best friend Jamie. It's a tough situation, only made more complicated by her recurring nightmare of a funeral that reveals more and more each time she has it. The nightmare pops up the same time that Luke Henry shows, adding to the mystery of what's really going on.

    One of the things I loved about Forgotten was that London's mother was there, she was active, and she was a participant (despite London not really wanting her to be, at times) in London's life. Jamie, London's best friend, was also a great aspect, at least in the beginning. After London's and Jamie's falling out, Jamie becomes very unlikable, but it's a testament to London's character that she refuses to give up. Watching London forge on, without her best friend but with the knowledge of how things pan out, is surprising and very inspiring. It demonstrates how powerful friendship and loyalty are to her. It shows that London is a caring person who values everything and everyone in her life.

    Forgotten is a quick, unputdownable read. The premise is gripping and though-provoking, with glimpses into morality and right and wrong. London's entire existence is based upon what information she allows herself to know, meaning: London's world is unreliable. She can lie to herself and change her perception of her life and her relationships. And she does just that. It makes for an interesting and captivating read. Add a sweet and then sizzling romance, along with a memory mystery, and you've got yourself a fantastically intriguing and unforgettable (pun totally intended) read.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Interesting

    This book makes you think, i couldnts stop reading. Just when i thought it couldnt get any better, it did!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    BUY IT!

    This is my kind of book. Its very interesting an i love how it includes a boy in her problems.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful story

    Every morning when London wakes up she checks her notes from the previous night. They contain little reminders such as what she wore the day before, things she needs to remember to take to school, homework that still needs to be done, and who that cute boy is that will be waiting for her by her locker. The notes are very important. Every morning at 4:33 am London's memory is wiped clean. She remembers nothing about her past, but the odd thing is, she has memories from the future.Everyone she's had contact with in the future she knows, such as her mother, her best friend, Jamie, and other kids from school. The troubling thing is she doesn't see the face of her boyfriend, Luke, and this scares her. Every day she has to reacquaint herself with him. What happens that he is no longer in the picture, and at what point in time is she going to lose him?

    I really enjoyed this book. When the story first started I couldn't help but think how cool it would be to be able to forget stupid mistakes I'd made in the past. All those embarrassing moments - gone. All the heartache - b-bye. All I would have to do is simply forget to remind myself in my notes. As the book progressed, I felt for London. I realized that maybe it wouldn't be so cool after all.

    Cat Patrick has crafted a very moving, very realistic portrayal of amnesia. Even the fantastical element of London knowing the future is covered so well I never found myself doubting it. The writing is very straight forward and isn't over-emebellished with a lot of needless, flowery description. The dialogue is realistic, the characters are relatable and the story never drags. A major plus? The fact that London and Luke don't meet and fall in love in a matter of minutes. Their relationship is believable and blossoms at what felt like a normal pace, which helped me buy in to the whole story. I highly recommend this one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Definitely Interesting...

    So I have yet to finish this story but it reminds me a lot of 50 first dates wwith drew barrymore and adam sandler...

    Its good.... if you liked 50 first daes youl probably like this...

    Sorry for typos and grammar errors... typing on nook simple touch is weird for a non-smatphone user.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    L.o.v.e.

    I loved this book so much. I just finished it yesterday and i couldnt put it down at all. I also liked how the book was broken into the chapters and i absolutely loved the characters amd the whole plot. There definitely needs to be a sequal to this book because i want to know more. It was just awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Awesome book!!!

    I have read this book at least 4 times so far and may I say it is one of the best books in have ever read. I finished it in one sitting and was at the edge of my seat the entire time. I love the romance and the mystery of it all. Definately 5 out of 5 stars. I recomend this book to anyone who loves fiction, conspiracy, and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    HONEST REVIEW

    I loved the idea of the story. How London remembers the future but blanks out on the past. Very original!
    I read through it pretty quick because it was hard to put down.

    BUT I thought the story was a tad mixed up. There were a few plot holes and it didnt explain a lot. I really enjoyed the book, but when I got to to the end... I didnt feel like the story wrapped up like it should have.

    The ending was extremely rushed. The last few chapters quickly resolved all conflict and confused you more than satisfy you. And when I reached the last page...I did not feel like it ended right as a stand alone book. It left you craving more. That is why I rate it a 3 out of 5 stars.

    This would have made an excellent trilogy.
    The characters could have been developed more and situations explained better.

    Loved it. Wish there was more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    H

    Ths book is soo amazing you wont want to put it down at all! My teachers kept getting mad for reading during class haha i ended up finishing it today on the bus and screamed at my friend "i finished it!!!!!" She gave me a weird look.... anyways i loved this book i had some suspicions about what happens from the beginning but good suspicions. I didnt really like the ending all too much, it was too abrupt and i have a bunch of questions still... my mom said to just imagine it, and sure thats ok sometimes but i would rather have better closure anyway. I still liked the ending i just wish there was a sequel to answer all my questions :/ its frustating but youll love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    When i first bought this book i was a little skeptical about how interested i would be throughout reading it because i'm normally interested in paranormal romance and fictional creatures falling in love and stuff like that. I almost didnt even buy it but thrugh instinct and a feeling in my gut i pressed buy and am so glad that i did. The author was able to take an already used idea, having your memory erased everyday (50 first dates staring adam sandler and drew barrymore) and completely twisting it around so that its almost backwards. London can remember the future, but every night at 4:33 am her memory is wiped clean. Although the idea of this was confusing at first, after experiencing it with london firsthand you start to get the hang of it. Although a little slow in the beginning the plot really intrigues you somewhere right before the middle of the book. Luke is a fantastic secondary character, lover, and supporter. The romance between luke and london made you feel all sweet and mushy inside but not in a corny way. Fantastic book that keeps you guessing until the end, adds in little twists and turns that keep you on the brink of ripping your hair out because you're so curious, and even has a little romance, mystery, and a refreshing new idea never used before. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great book, ending had me wanting more.

    Very good book, I finished it in a day. But the end stopped so suddenly that I'm wondering if there's going to be a sequel anytime soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Best book ever!!!

    One of my favorite books EVER! Go CAt PAtrick!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    GREATTT

    I Lovveeeddd it but I wish I had explained more in the end. I hope Cat writes more because her books are great!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Great

    Oh my god great book. Couldn't put it down i have read it 6 times now and i cry every single time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Best book ever

    This was the perfect book to read. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Join Frostclan at frost res one

    To Fangkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Mean Hollow

    The main place for the clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Boring

    It was ok but i abandoned it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    HORRIBLE ENDING

    The book was great, except there were some uncleared questions I had, I won't spoil them, though. The ending just wasnt very satisfying for me, it was like, really? NOW you end the book? The whole ideas into the book's making was great just the end was... not enough for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Love this book!

    I just finished reading Forgotten. I hope there is a sequal! ;) ( i can't believe that since summer, i've read 59 books -not kidding-) :) i will definitley recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8