Customer Reviews for

Forgotten

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Unputdownable! A Page-Turner Unlike Any Other

4.5 stars

Forgotten explores an almost backwards memory situation with London Lane remembering the future, but never the past. The only people she recognizes are those who are in her future, those she'll see tomorrow or the day after that, or who she'll encounter yea...
4.5 stars

Forgotten explores an almost backwards memory situation with London Lane remembering the future, but never the past. The only people she recognizes are those who are in her future, those she'll see tomorrow or the day after that, or who she'll encounter years down the road. This can be slightly confusing at first, but gets easier to understand as the plot progresses. As great as it may sound to remember the future, it's not. London is faced with knowing how relationships turn out, how each person she comes across will impact her life, and how the gorgeous Luke Henry - a new student who is kind and friendly to London - is not someone she remembers from her future.

London is easy-going, despite her recall issues, but can also be a little self-absorbed. Her voice is strong, somewhat sarcastic at times, and good-natured, but she acts a bit snooty towards her mother and can come off as a little abrasive. She can't remember the past, so it's understandable that she'd have some day to day anger. She has to prep for school each day by reading notes she wrote the day before. The only people who know about her problem are her mom and best friend Jamie. It's a tough situation, only made more complicated by her recurring nightmare of a funeral that reveals more and more each time she has it. The nightmare pops up the same time that Luke Henry shows, adding to the mystery of what's really going on.

One of the things I loved about Forgotten was that London's mother was there, she was active, and she was a participant (despite London not really wanting her to be, at times) in London's life. Jamie, London's best friend, was also a great aspect, at least in the beginning. After London's and Jamie's falling out, Jamie becomes very unlikable, but it's a testament to London's character that she refuses to give up. Watching London forge on, without her best friend but with the knowledge of how things pan out, is surprising and very inspiring. It demonstrates how powerful friendship and loyalty are to her. It shows that London is a caring person who values everything and everyone in her life.

Forgotten is a quick, unputdownable read. The premise is gripping and though-provoking, with glimpses into morality and right and wrong. London's entire existence is based upon what information she allows herself to know, meaning: London's world is unreliable. She can lie to herself and change her perception of her life and her relationships. And she does just that. It makes for an interesting and captivating read. Add a sweet and then sizzling romance, along with a memory mystery, and you've got yourself a fantastically intriguing and unforgettable (pun totally intended) read.

posted by Nikkayme on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Coolio

Omgizzle its good

posted by 3969271 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful story

    Every morning when London wakes up she checks her notes from the previous night. They contain little reminders such as what she wore the day before, things she needs to remember to take to school, homework that still needs to be done, and who that cute boy is that will be waiting for her by her locker. The notes are very important. Every morning at 4:33 am London's memory is wiped clean. She remembers nothing about her past, but the odd thing is, she has memories from the future.Everyone she's had contact with in the future she knows, such as her mother, her best friend, Jamie, and other kids from school. The troubling thing is she doesn't see the face of her boyfriend, Luke, and this scares her. Every day she has to reacquaint herself with him. What happens that he is no longer in the picture, and at what point in time is she going to lose him?

    I really enjoyed this book. When the story first started I couldn't help but think how cool it would be to be able to forget stupid mistakes I'd made in the past. All those embarrassing moments - gone. All the heartache - b-bye. All I would have to do is simply forget to remind myself in my notes. As the book progressed, I felt for London. I realized that maybe it wouldn't be so cool after all.

    Cat Patrick has crafted a very moving, very realistic portrayal of amnesia. Even the fantastical element of London knowing the future is covered so well I never found myself doubting it. The writing is very straight forward and isn't over-emebellished with a lot of needless, flowery description. The dialogue is realistic, the characters are relatable and the story never drags. A major plus? The fact that London and Luke don't meet and fall in love in a matter of minutes. Their relationship is believable and blossoms at what felt like a normal pace, which helped me buy in to the whole story. I highly recommend this one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Definitely Interesting...

    So I have yet to finish this story but it reminds me a lot of 50 first dates wwith drew barrymore and adam sandler...

    Its good.... if you liked 50 first daes youl probably like this...

    Sorry for typos and grammar errors... typing on nook simple touch is weird for a non-smatphone user.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taking a dive right back into my reading pile, I came upon this

    Taking a dive right back into my reading pile, I came upon this story. Unique and mysterious, it gave me what I needed for a perfect Saturday evening.

    Plot. This book sort of reminded me of 50 First Dates but with teens and more twists. I really loved the idea of a girl loosing her memory every night. She has dreams of the future. Other times its her past. This story kept me on my toes the entire time reading this. I never quite pieced things together quickly which I enjoyed rather much.

    Love. There is a love interest that goes far beyond what I thought it be. I really think that their unique love and situation places them on a road that no one has gone down before. They fight against all odds against them, yet the carry such a strong love for each other.

    Drama. The drama in this book carries back into the past which I found to be unique and very interesting. It weaves in beautifully with what is going on in present day and hooks the reader to read more. It brings the reader right into the character shoes, giving hope.

    End. The ending left off on a beautiful note. With strong emotions bombarding the reader about what really happen in Lane’s past, I’m glad that the author ended it hopeful.

    Forgotten is a finely written story about a long past coming back. It fulfills the reader with mysterious qualities in the plot and the characters. Forgotten is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Excellent

    Its a bit confusing in the beginning but stick with it!!! I agree the end feels a bit rushed and i def think there should be a sequel. Buy it, read it, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Great book

    I wouldn't recommend this book for anyone younger than 14, maybe 13. They talk about having wanting to have sex and she states that they made out more than once. Overall I love the book and am very sad it is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    This book was very well written! I will need to read it again t

    This book was very well written! I will need to read it again though because it keeps you thinking till the very end! It is a confusing book but is very well written. I finished it in a matter of hours, I couldn't stop reading this book! The whole concept of her memory situation is very unique and makes you wonder if it can really happen in real life due to the human brain! ROMANCE and PSYCHOLOGY, truly brilliant! A MUST READ!! Doesn't compare to any other book I've read before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Yay!

    This book was positively captivating. A tad confusing at moments, it held my interest for 6 hours straight. I would reccomend this book to anyone literate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Great book, Not so great ending

    This was a great book, with a good storyline and the perfect amount of drama.The only reason it did not get 5 stars is that the ending was WAY to rushed. Other than that it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It wasn't perfect , a little confusing but sweet nonetheless .

    It wasn't perfect , a little confusing but sweet nonetheless .
    I recommend it .
    4/5 Stars .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks to Puget Sound Council for this review copy. London Lane

    Thanks to Puget Sound Council for this review copy. London Lane, 16, must write notes every night before sleeping to remind herself what she wore that day, what events took place, and what homework is due the following day. Her memory resets itself at 4:33am; without her written notes and her cell phone (in which she must look up her locker combination every day), London’s life would be miserable. She remembers the future, not the past. Her best friend, Jamie, is the only person at school who knows about London’s problem. A sweet romance blossoms between London and the new boy, Luke, but it is somewhat unbelievable in the way this hot boy chooses London over all the other girls. This will be explained later in the book, though. One thing that threw me for a loop was the wording that London “remembers” the future but not the past. It would make more sense to say she “saw” the future. The cover photograph and layout are superb. I really liked this book but will send it on to a high school due to references to sex. Reviewed in School Library Journal and Publishers Weekly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Fun teen novel with a new twist

    I liked the twist of the main character only seeing forward and having no memories. The book as a fun quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great.

    I loved the story concept. It was a little hard for me to read her writing style but I could not put this book down. London is such a wonderful character and I was so excited to see how her and Luke's relationship would grow. Every night before bed London would write down things she found was important to remember. She can only remember the future and she forgets the past. She can't remember Luke at all and she is afraid he won't be in her future. I thought it was funny how if she didn't want to remember things she wouldn't write it down. The relationship between London and her best friend Jamie kinda bothered me. I feel like Cat should of put more interaction between them. Even tho they were fighting. It shouldn't of been through the whole book. The only thing that was disappointing to me was the ending. I feel like she kinda just cut the ending. I like how everything turned out but I felt like she left a few things hanging. Maybe its just me. I would still recommend this book. Its a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasant Read

    I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. It was sincerely a pleasant read. It just was. It's one of those realistic books that, although not entirely suspenseful, you can't help but turn the pages quickly wanting to know more and more.
    I don't know how the author does it, but Cat Patrick sure knows how to make it seem as if all this is possible. As a reader, you don't find yourself even doubting that this can occur. If Cat Patrick says it, then it must be true. That's all there is to it.
    The way the author can weave such a story is beyond me and boy did I like it. Since the protagonist always forgets the past and can only remember the future (what will happen in her and others' futures), throughout most of the book I wondered how it was possible for this girl to continue to love a boy she meets every day. Thankfully Ms. Patrick addresses this issue. Sadly, she does so halfway through the book. That kind of bothered me and I can't get over it. Either way, I'm happy with this read and I recommend it as that was pretty much my only complaint.
    Read it. Enjoy it. Love the characters and love the way this book will make you think about your memory and your future.
    -T.V and Book Addict

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Great!

    I couldn't wait to dive into it; with a synopsis promising me that there would be mystery who could refuse, am I right? The writing is by far what surprised me the most. I was expecting something uptight, stiff and overly descriptive. None of that was present. The writing was loose, smooth and easy to read and enjoy. I loved London's personality; strong and curious. And who can forget Luke? Reading about Luke constantly re-meeting London each and everyday broke my heart. The developments weren't at all what I had expected and the depth of the story really surprised me.

    Forgotten was a great psychological mystery with a lovely dose of romance that had me tearing up and latching to the pages like a mad child on Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    A strong debut

    Quirky, fun, and thought provoking. I found the story to be substantial and well-written enough for adults while telling a story that will captivate and ring true with teens. An excellent read that, while short, has already become a true favorite of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

    A novel that will push readers to question "what if". London Lane is a very interesting girl that has to relearn her life every single day. After a traumatic experience as a child; London remembers the future, but can not retain anything from the past. This is a very intriguing concept, and readers will find their selves questioning the possibility of such an experience. Would it truly be possible for someone to survive living with no past memories? For London memories are erased every single day at 4:33 am. The only way that this young girl can force herself to remain even remotely normal is when her dedication to notes that she will have to reread every single day. As the story progresses some latent memories resurface giving readers hope for the future of this character. The story is very entertaining and will grab readers from the start. The conclusion developments anticipate a sequel the story, and what the future for London Lane will offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I started this book wondering how the story would work. I worried a little that the idea of the memory being wiped out daily would be silly. I was wrong on that. I really enjoyed the story but did find the idea had holes in it at times.

    I liked London from the opening pages. I loved how she left herself notes to remind herself of what she needed to do for the day. I imagine the daily note taking to remind oneself of events would be exhausting. At first, I had a really hard time connecting what she can remember with the fact that she could see events in the future. So, she knows who her best friend is because she sees her in the future as a part of her life.

    I also really liked Luke. He was really sweet and I loved some of the things he does for London. I wondered for awhile, how he couldn't see the little things that I'm sure gave clues that London doesn't fully remember things. Granted that was answered and things all made sense. I also really enjoyed how London unravels the clues to the vision of the funeral she's been having. Turns out they hold a big key to her past which completely floored me. It wasn't what I was expecting at all.

    While I really enjoyed the story, there were some points on the memory loss that bugged me. It was weird how it only effected her remembering the events of a day and nothing else. The fact that she could see the future was strange and at times I didn't really understand how it worked. In the end, I resigned myself to not think about them because I don't think they are important to the story and would cause me not to enjoy it. I was also annoyed that we never figure out why she couldn't see Luke in her future and that's why she could never remember him. Then he sets off all sorts of triggers to help her remember her past which leads to his place in her future so she does remember him. It was weird and confused me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2