Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten 500: The Untold Story of the Men Who Risked All for the GreatestRescue Mission of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I do not typically read books about war and anything historical. I picked this book up because I had heard that one of the men written about in the book was from my hometown. I could not put this book down once I started it. For someone who doesn't have extensive kno...
I do not typically read books about war and anything historical. I picked this book up because I had heard that one of the men written about in the book was from my hometown. I could not put this book down once I started it. For someone who doesn't have extensive knowledge of World War II, this book was written in such a way that was easy to understand and left you wanting to know more about this time in our history. For those who like to read about World War II, this is a story that hasn't really been told before.

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Forgotten 500 forget it

Dissapointing, repitious, too much fluff for this type of documentary ! Story needed to be told

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Great Read

    As a woman I loved this book. It was a great read with a truly remarkable story of bravery. It should be required reading in high school history or made into a movie so the masses will know the story of these heroic men & women. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Expertly written

    Given the circumstances and efforts of the Allied advance in World War II, it it amazing this story remained hidden all these years. As a student of History, I have a grand understanding of the efforts the Allies have to Yugoslavia and the fact the Brits supported Tito. But to find out that Tito only helped a few airmen versus the effort of Mahailcovich is amazing. The work by the OSS and brave pilots to rescue these men is lacking in being recognized. With the 70 the anniversary of D-Day upon us, there is a need for works like this to remind everyone of the sacrifices made to secure freedom. Even if recognizing that sacrifice comes nearly 70 years later.

    The book is well researched and makes use of diaries and personal accounts, making the work feel like hitting home. A must read for any WW II buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Good WWII story

    Freeman's account is well rounded with appropriate background information and insight into what was going on, but on a 1-to-10 scale I'd only give it a 6 overall. It's an interesting story, but not a particularly strong story as it drags on until the story progresses to the actual rescue operation. It's important points, however, is how the OSS operated in the background to get the operation moving, and how those in command at the highest ranks can get preoccupied with the current battle and easily forget a group of stranded airmen and solders. The story has an interesting kinship with the story of the cruiser Indianapolis and how the navy heirarchy could so easily pass blame elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great Story

    This book tells a great story and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    haha to number 2

    You spelt HERO wrong (;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    AR1

    A very interesting story based on facts from people who actually lived the nightmare that occurred at that time...........dedicated to the fallen heroes at that time. These are real people who actually were "heroes", not because they were in a foreign land, but because they earned the definition of the word "HEROE".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Nuffy

    Started out very good the telling of how the men were treated by the people in the villages this was the first 90 pages. Then it took a nose dive when the book switch to the boring and way to long telling of the plan to build the air strip and rescue the men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

      

      

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    A definite read for all those who had parents living in that time era

    Give you insight to what people of Europe is to do for Americans. Some background on all of .those who are involved. Make sure your afternoon is clear when you start reading this book you won't want to put it down.r

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Only enough material for 500 word essay

    The story of the OSS rescue of American fliers in Yugoslavia does not begin to fill a book. At best, it might work as an extended essay in the New Yorker or Atlantic. As a result, the author is forced to pad his story with tangential back stories on some of the principals, the OSS and Yugoslavian politics. It's a studied contrast to Argo which provides a compelling narrative of a modern day rescue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WOW

    A good read. Of course you may get mad once you find out how much politics got in the way of doing what was right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Hey title wrong

    Ur dumb

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Recommend

    This is a very good book but you should also get "Red Tails" to complete the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Good work for WW II buffs

    A very interesting episode, with plenty of well-researched historical background and personal details.

    In a few places I think the author's political leanings peek through and are a little right-wing for my taste. But very good overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3