Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Door

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I read this book for the first time when I was in 4th grade, 20 years later I still remember this story. I am so excited to buy and reread this book. Hopefully I haven't worked it up in my mind too much in those 20 years :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    This book was very good. I taught it to my eighth grade Literature class. They throughly enjoyed the story. It puts very heavy social issues on a middle school level. The boy in the story deals with the pros and cons of capitalism vs. communism, without bias one way or the other. The book contains strong themes of family and right and wrong. It would be a good story for teaching character, plot, and theme, as well as setting. The story line was captivating, and I found my students and myself wanting to know what was coming next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A Classic

    I'm 50 now, looking 51 in the face, and I still remember this book. It was one of my all time favorites, along with the Chronicles of Narnia, and The Silver Sword. Bought it for my own daughter and nieces, too. Timeless, like all wonderful writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    wonderful

    I read this years ago and all of the books i read were different, but this one captivated my 13 yr old mind. The story was so ahead of us then and the possibilites were endless. good reading for young kids and the story is interesting again for kids , I had an original copy for years and it finally fell apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Class Read-A-Loud

    This book is wonderful. I will add this to my collection of class read-a-louds. Did you know the movie 'Escape to Witch Mountain' was based on this book. So of course my students will watch the movie after reading the book and compare the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Forgotten Door

    it is a all time book everyone sould read it.i liked it in the first chapter when the farmer held out a gun at jon. it is intresting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Forgotten Door

    i like the book kit is a good book. everyone sould read it again and again and again.it is the best book i have ever read besides harry potter books. i like the when the farmer pulll out a gun to jonh. but it was also not called for. but it is a really good book.how ever reads this needs to read the fogotten door.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    One af my all time favorites

    Of all of the books I read as a child this is one of the few that sticks in my head. For anyone that feels 'different' from others, whether it be intellectually, intuitively, or empathically, this book should have an almost hypnotic appeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    okay

    This is not a good book. It was boring and unpredictable. There were some good little parts about the people though. I would have never read it if I didn't have to read it in school. :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    The first day I held The Forgotten Door in my hand I was dreading it. I hated reading, I thought it was going to be another lousy book my teacher picked out. As i began reading the book I became so interested in it that when the bell rang for seventh period I couldnt put it down. I am very interested in the concept of the book. There is so much excitement in it. I love the way Jon is placed as a kid from another planet and has to find his way home after finding himself on earth. The characters in the story are so much like people now. My favorite part of the book was the end. The suspense was driving me crazy I had to find out what was going to happen. I would recommend this book to anyone who believes that we are not alone in this universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    30 years later...and I feel the need to read it again!

    We read it when we were kids, remembered it as adults. Thought we were stupid recollecting the games we played back then immitating Jon falling through the 'Door' and running like deer. C'mon, WHAT was the name of that book? Life's prejudices rearing its ugly head on an innocent boy, who could have been anyone - lost anywhere... 'the thoughts in this room are so loud, it's as if everyone was sceaming' (I think that's the quote, well that's why I came to bn to find and read it again!) I think Walter would agree..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1