Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    This is the best book I have ever read based on the war. It is very emotional to the point you will feel the tears in your eyes to put down the book. The suspense is very thrilling with death looming around in the air. This book is a book you will never forget once it is back on the shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Forgotten Fire

    This is a "must-read" for history lovers. It is a well written and riveting true story from the first page. Those who have never heard of the Armenian holocaust should educate themselves by reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Story of Genocide and Fear

    Not too many people know of the Armenian Genocide that happened even before the Jewish Holocaust. I definitely didn't. My fiance', whose family is Armenian, insisted I read this book. She read it back in High School and said it was an amazing and really emotional story. I picked it up just before I left for a 2 day business trip. I ended up reading the book in a night. The was completely captivating. The author chose to write the story from the first-person account of one of his relatives that lived through the incident. The pacing of the story really holds you. I definitely recommend this book to anyone that who is looking to find out more about the Armenian Genocide. Or even if you just want to read an amazing story of courage and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    One in a Billion

    This book above all others really makes you think. Of just how spoiled we really are. I don't have any personal connection to it, but being the baby I am I still got tear eyed. Vahn's story really makes you appreciate this day and age. If you would love to read up on any other genocides other than the holocaust this book will tell a tale you can't forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Unbelievable

    I am 1/2 Armenian, and I wanted to know more about the Armenian Holocaust, in which my grandparents survived. This book brought tears to my eyes, I couldn't put it down, and read it in one day. It was thrilling, and touched me so deeply. A book worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    captivating story

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. It is not a light book, but it captivated, frightened, and profoundly affected me. Most young people have never heard of the Armenian Holocaust but after you read this book, you will never forget it. A touching story of a boy trying to survive through one of the most grusome and frighting times of history. You will see life in a different way after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    outstanding!

    forgotten fire is a great novel and really describes the period of time the boy went though as a teen. The story was touching and reminded me of the Holocaust period of History.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Thrilling

    Forgotten fire is a very compelling and romantic story. I am amazed how one boy's life can change so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Book gave good insight into a relatively unknown part of Armenian HIstory. Before reading this I had little knowledge of the Armenian Genocide. It combined that with a fantastic storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Awesome

    loved it. so awesome, i have been looking for it. It's really good if your thinking about reading it, don't think just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Forgotten Fire is astonishing!!!

    When I read Forgotten Fire I thought it was great and the story line was soooo tear-jerking at some parts but, Forgotten Fire book was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    What life can do to you at any given moment

    Forgotten Fire is a book that teaches you about what goes on in wars and battles. In this book a boy had every thing and a loving family, but only to have it ripped form him in a flash. The boy loses his family slowly. He first watches his brother get shot to death and his grandmother, his sister posins herself, his other brother dies in his hands, and he never sees his mother again. This boy had to stay low so that know knows how he is and he meets some people that help him. How the author decribes the situations it's like you living what the boy is going through. His pain and the feeling of not belonging. In the end the boy gets on a boat that takes him to an island and he bumps into someone that new his father and he helps the boy to an orphanage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Great book, even better story!

    It really opens your eyes to intollerence around the world. Met a man who was Armenian and whos Grandmother was living 2 blocks away from the main characters house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Started slow but finished strong

    This book had a bit of a slow start but once I finished the first few chapters I was hooked. The author did a great job with the novel, the only thing I didn't like was how quickly the book jumped around. All in all though it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Great Book!

    The book Forgotten Fire was an excellent book. It was the type of book that you wanted to keep reading the second you openend it up. After reading this book I realized life isn't that bad for all of us right now in life. Forgotten Fire is about a war and the harsh things they did to the prisoners. I would highly reccomend reading this book, Forgotten Fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    really good book

    This book is very interesting. It tells about a very important part of the world history but at the same time which is very unknown by a lot of people. By reading it, you not only entertain yourself (even if it is not very funny, but with a theme like this, what book could be funny?) but you learn a lot about how lasted the Armenian genocide in 1915-1918, and how it is so like the Jew genocide, but was in the dark for very long, not like the Jew genocide. During the reading, you feel really sorry for the boy, but it is so well written that you don't want to close it, even if it is very sad at some moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    A Great Book

    This book has to be one of my favorites ever! I like how Adam Bagdasarian showed Vahan's feelings throughout the book, making it feel like you were experiencing what he was going through along side him. It was hard to put this book down, once you started. This is a great book to read, and I recommend everyone to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Better than Outstanding

    I love this book! It's very sad, though. This is a very good book to learn about the Armenian genoicide, first-hand...even though it's fiction. It is well-written and you could understand Vahan's pains and losses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Good but dry

    The book was a good book, don't get me wrong but it had some really dry points that made me question wether to keep reading but i did and it ended being a really good book but those like 3 dry points of 20 pages each but it was a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    unforgettable

    This story is so touching and unbelievable. I don't think I can compare another book to anywhere near to this one that is on genocide and survival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3