BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 1773 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1030)

4 Star

(435)

3 Star

(179)

2 Star

(74)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Well-written, likeable characters and enjoyable read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read, and yet gave me room to pause as I stopped to think. I like books that let me do that without pounding me into a pulp on the way. I suspect the book might appeal more to women then men and it would be a good choice of...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read, and yet gave me room to pause as I stopped to think. I like books that let me do that without pounding me into a pulp on the way. I suspect the book might appeal more to women then men and it would be a good choice of several of the reading circles I know.

I appreciated the many issues raised in a gentle and non-judgemental fashion. Those with unresolved issues involving child abandonment, fostering, adoption, and similar issues might find the book uncomfortable but most likely not overwhelming. I would have read this book with my daughters, exploring the different facets of love of a child, some that hold tightly, some that let go.

I also appreciated that skillful weaving of the generations, a reminder that we impact each other with our choices.

My only regret: that Eliza's book of fairy tales isn't a real book.

Things I like knowing before I buy a book: No profanity that I noticed. Respectful story-specific reference to sex. Emotional issues dealt with tastefully and healthily.

I wil read more by this author.

posted by Aradanryl on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

I hope someday I can forget this book

That it took me a week to read this books is very telling. This was a hard book to read and I'll try to be very clear as to why.

First, the authoress ;) is very good in her craft in the sense that the writing itself is well done. And if that was all it took for me ...
That it took me a week to read this books is very telling. This was a hard book to read and I'll try to be very clear as to why.

First, the authoress ;) is very good in her craft in the sense that the writing itself is well done. And if that was all it took for me to enjoy a book she would have received five stars from me.

However, it takes more than a well written tale for me to fully enjoy the book. First I have to like the characters and let me say, most of the characters were not likeable. From Nell who squandered a gift, to her parents, and the cast of characters we found in England. They were all despicable people, with a very few exceptions, and more than that there was a level of stupidity beginning with Nell that was almost impossible to bear.

I also felt the story was purposely and needlessly drawn out. Several chapters before the end you have the whole "mystery" figured out so that its anti-climatic when it is finally revealed. I personally don't appreciate such manipulations. I would rather get through the book than draw it out an unnecessary 100 pages.

I could have done without the fairy tales, but if I'm honest I was so frustrated after the first 100 pages that there was little this book could have done to redeem itself. To me this was a tale about stupid people who made stupid and selfish choices and made everyone around them suffer for their stupidity and selfishness. If I want that kind of tale I'll go read the minutes from Congress.

posted by CeCeSG on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1778 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well-written, likeable characters and enjoyable read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read, and yet gave me room to pause as I stopped to think. I like books that let me do that without pounding me into a pulp on the way. I suspect the book might appeal more to women then men and it would be a good choice of several of the reading circles I know. <BR/><BR/>I appreciated the many issues raised in a gentle and non-judgemental fashion. Those with unresolved issues involving child abandonment, fostering, adoption, and similar issues might find the book uncomfortable but most likely not overwhelming. I would have read this book with my daughters, exploring the different facets of love of a child, some that hold tightly, some that let go.<BR/><BR/>I also appreciated that skillful weaving of the generations, a reminder that we impact each other with our choices. <BR/><BR/>My only regret: that Eliza's book of fairy tales isn't a real book.<BR/><BR/>Things I like knowing before I buy a book: No profanity that I noticed. Respectful story-specific reference to sex. Emotional issues dealt with tastefully and healthily. <BR/><BR/>I wil read more by this author.

    81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting and Entertaining!

    Hugh and Lil ended up raising 4 year old Nell when they couldn't find her family. Nell grows up and has a nice life but always searching for her original family...Nell dies in her 90's and her granddaughter continues the search for Nell's family....Exciting, mysterious read, in the Victorian era...Lots of drama!..Enthralling page-turner! A beautifully written tale!!!

    Just finished reading THE HELP...WoW! Another must read I'm recommending is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, Beautifully done as well! Definite KEEPERS!

    44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I hope someday I can forget this book

    That it took me a week to read this books is very telling. This was a hard book to read and I'll try to be very clear as to why.

    First, the authoress ;) is very good in her craft in the sense that the writing itself is well done. And if that was all it took for me to enjoy a book she would have received five stars from me.

    However, it takes more than a well written tale for me to fully enjoy the book. First I have to like the characters and let me say, most of the characters were not likeable. From Nell who squandered a gift, to her parents, and the cast of characters we found in England. They were all despicable people, with a very few exceptions, and more than that there was a level of stupidity beginning with Nell that was almost impossible to bear.

    I also felt the story was purposely and needlessly drawn out. Several chapters before the end you have the whole "mystery" figured out so that its anti-climatic when it is finally revealed. I personally don't appreciate such manipulations. I would rather get through the book than draw it out an unnecessary 100 pages.

    I could have done without the fairy tales, but if I'm honest I was so frustrated after the first 100 pages that there was little this book could have done to redeem itself. To me this was a tale about stupid people who made stupid and selfish choices and made everyone around them suffer for their stupidity and selfishness. If I want that kind of tale I'll go read the minutes from Congress.

    29 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery, Suspense, Romance, Fairy Tales -- Another Fantastic Read From Kate Morton

    When I saw that Kate Morton released a second book, I couldn't wait to get my hands and eyes on it. House at Riverton had been a recommend from a fellow bookseller and, wary as I am of recommends, I read it. And I loved it. But The Forgotten Garden I loved even more.

    Kate Morton has a knack for weaving the past and the present together, for spanning the continents, and for intricate character and plot details that have that "blink and you'll miss it" feel.

    I devoured The Forgotten Garden. Cassandra in present-day Australia who, after her grandmother's death, is left a house in Cornwall, England. To Cassandra's grandmother, Nell, both as a child and as an adult, discovering her past. To the mysterious Mountrachet family and fairy tale Authoress Eliza Makepeace. Who is everyone? How are they connected? Who is Nell, really? And what will Cassandra learn about both her grandmother and herself along the way?

    What I liked most about Morton's second novel is that it wasn't easy to figure out. The mystery shrouding the characters (each and every character, from a maid in the Mountrachet household, to Nell's parents in Australia, to a young gardener Cassandra meets) folds them all together and doesn't give anything away prematurely. I love figuring things out, but each time I thought I had something figured out, Morton added in another element. You would think with this many strings, the novel would be tangled and heavy, but that isn't the case at all. In fact, everything is necessary and everything comes to fruition.

    I'd recommend this to anyone who likes to be surprised, who likes interweaving storylines, past and present, and -- well, really, anyone at all. It is phenomenal.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept me completely immersed!

    In 1913, an Australian dock master found a child alone on a ship. She couldn't tell him who she was, who she'd come with, or why.
    The author does an amazing job of keeping the reader on track with such an expanse of time and three generations of women. It is like reading more than one story like a book of fairy tales. a gripping read.

    Older Nell became obsessed and needed to find out where she had come from, who had abandoned her and WHY.

    Despite her best efforts, Nell died before she was to find the answers then the obsession passed on to her granddaughter Cassandra.
    There are many layers to this book that will keep you completely immersed throughout. I loved it!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OUTSTANDING NOVEL

    As with everything this book is not for some people. I loved it. I couldn't put this book down. I was addicted. Trying to figure out the puzzle is part of the attraction. I love the way Kate Morton gives you just enough information to try to mislead you, while always making you question your own revelations as they happen. This is part of her greatness as a writer. I think she is amazing and I have greatly enjoyed both of her books.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book follows me around like a ghost

    I loved this book. I had the privilage to receive a copy of The House At Riverton before it was available to purchase and reveiw it with Barnes & Noble. It was a mysterious read but not something that I would call great or even recommend; however, I think Kate really hit all the spots with this book. There was a mystery and characters a plenty to love and hate. I devoured this book and regret that I am now finished but it's one that you keep reading late into the night because you just have to know where the character's story began and how they have come to be. I will be recommending this one but suggest that they purchase their own copy because I will not be loaning mine. It's a keeper.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT MYSTERY!

    I loved the suspense and anticipation of turning each page to find a new clue in solving the mystery of an abandoned four year old girl's history over the span of decades. Exciting!

    Others I've enjoyed are The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TRUE COLORS.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    jumps too many times

    This is a good story, leaving the reader wanting to find out the real
    truth for Nell. The writing style of jumping 3 different time periods
    back and forth takes too much away from the novel.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't miss "The Forgotten Garden."

    This book is SO GOOD. Kate Morton's "The Forgotten Garden" starts with a four-year-old girl arriving alone in Australia on a ship from England. When no one claims any knowledge of her, the dockmaster takes her home. Four generations & 500 pages later the mystery is finally unraveled. I could NOT put this one down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Good Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. The story is told thru the eyes of three different people in three different times from the early 1900's to the present. Each time you went to a different time/person, you would get a different perspective of the same story. Very well written. This book reminded me a bit of The Thirteenth Tale which I also highly recommend.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't judge a book by it's cover.....

    I literally tossed this book aside and almost forgot I had it. One day, when I had nothing to read and didn't feel like shopping for another book, I looked through my books and found this and gave it a try. Great call! I was completely engrossed in this book and couldn't get enough. The plot is original, you don't expect to find that the author includes fairy tales and paints such a vivid picture in your mind of the garden and the hidden cottage. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Somebody should make a movie out of this!

    This is a definite keeper for my permanent library.
    Don't want to spoil anything..just read it.
    One minor note... I was a wee-bit confused in the beginning.It was my fault though, I wasn't focusing.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't put it down!

    I'm 3/4 of the way through with this book and I'm enjoying every page. It's a charming story and I love that it goes back and forth between three generations. Wonderful read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Positively Enchanting Read

    The victorean ara is one of my all time favorite things to read about and this book does not dissappoint. Though to some going back and forth in time can be a bit confusing, the author does an outstanding job of keeping everything together and easy to follow. I was further over joyed that by the end of the book, no mysteries went unsolved and no questions went unanswered. Characters were rich and real, believable and loveable for their faults as well. I would highly recommend this book. I read it in four days because I enjoyed so much the world it created. Escapism is awesome and anything that makes you appreciate your own family a little more is worth the read. Wonderfully written, I thank the author for a spell binding read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Not a forgotten garden

    This book was amazing, and I want to read more Kate Morton writings. It was one of those you can't put down, and don't want it to end. Highly recommend it to everyone, you won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    When reading this book, it was like I was there; with the characters. I hated putting this book down and yet I didn't want to finish it too fast. Definitely a captivating story that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next, a book that I will surely read again in the near future!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Wonderful read!

    What a fabulous story! The more I read, the faster I had to read so that I could find out what happened next. This was one I could hardly put down, and will recommend to all my reader friends. This is part of my permanent, lending library!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    One of the most awesome books I've read!

    If you love a book with romance, a good mystery, nature and literature, you'll adore The Forgotten Garden. This was an absolutely spectacular read. Extremely well written, compelling and original story...but reminiscent of the children's book The Secret Garden. The book has a fantastic plot and characterization. This book spans the entire twentieth century and then some of the new century. This is a brilliant book and the author was extremely ambitious to cover an entire century and two countries (okay New York is in there as well). This is what good writing should look like-- not like most of the drivel turned out today with zero craftsmanship.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great read from beginning to end!

    This is a great book set in the lives of three different women. A little girl left abandoned on a boat sent to Australia, her granddaughter and the "Authoress". Nell is found on a dock in Australia all alone with no one to claim her and no memory. She's taken in by a loving family who eventually tell her how she was found. All she has is a little suitcase with a book from the "Authoress". Deciding the "Authoress" is the key to her past she sets off on a journey to England to find out her past. Unable to find all the pieces to her past, she leaves what she has behind to her granddaughter who sets off to England to try and finally find out the truth. As the book goes it takes trips back in forth in time to tell you where the little girl came from, how she came to be on the boat and who the Authoress is. It also follows Nells journey to discover her past and her granddauhters journey to self discovery and healing through finding Nell's life story. Rivoting and very well written. The details are delicious and it will keep you guessing till the end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1778 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89