Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 1766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1026)

4 Star

(434)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(74)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Well-written, likeable characters and enjoyable read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read, and yet gave me room to pause as I stopped to think. I like books that let me do that without pounding me into a pulp on the way. I suspect the book might appeal more to women then men and it would be a good choice of...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is an easy read, and yet gave me room to pause as I stopped to think. I like books that let me do that without pounding me into a pulp on the way. I suspect the book might appeal more to women then men and it would be a good choice of several of the reading circles I know.

I appreciated the many issues raised in a gentle and non-judgemental fashion. Those with unresolved issues involving child abandonment, fostering, adoption, and similar issues might find the book uncomfortable but most likely not overwhelming. I would have read this book with my daughters, exploring the different facets of love of a child, some that hold tightly, some that let go.

I also appreciated that skillful weaving of the generations, a reminder that we impact each other with our choices.

My only regret: that Eliza's book of fairy tales isn't a real book.

Things I like knowing before I buy a book: No profanity that I noticed. Respectful story-specific reference to sex. Emotional issues dealt with tastefully and healthily.

I wil read more by this author.

posted by Aradanryl on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

I hope someday I can forget this book

That it took me a week to read this books is very telling. This was a hard book to read and I'll try to be very clear as to why.

First, the authoress ;) is very good in her craft in the sense that the writing itself is well done. And if that was all it took for me ...
That it took me a week to read this books is very telling. This was a hard book to read and I'll try to be very clear as to why.

First, the authoress ;) is very good in her craft in the sense that the writing itself is well done. And if that was all it took for me to enjoy a book she would have received five stars from me.

However, it takes more than a well written tale for me to fully enjoy the book. First I have to like the characters and let me say, most of the characters were not likeable. From Nell who squandered a gift, to her parents, and the cast of characters we found in England. They were all despicable people, with a very few exceptions, and more than that there was a level of stupidity beginning with Nell that was almost impossible to bear.

I also felt the story was purposely and needlessly drawn out. Several chapters before the end you have the whole "mystery" figured out so that its anti-climatic when it is finally revealed. I personally don't appreciate such manipulations. I would rather get through the book than draw it out an unnecessary 100 pages.

I could have done without the fairy tales, but if I'm honest I was so frustrated after the first 100 pages that there was little this book could have done to redeem itself. To me this was a tale about stupid people who made stupid and selfish choices and made everyone around them suffer for their stupidity and selfishness. If I want that kind of tale I'll go read the minutes from Congress.

posted by CeCeSG on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1771 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 89
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Hard to Set Down

    This book has full of surprises and hard to set aside. The threads of the family are so inter-twined and thru the generations but the women in this story are strong, independent and relentless in their search. A great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling

    By far, this is one of the best books I have ever read. It is very unusual - different from all others. You will love it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Forgotten Garden

    I knew this book had been on the May 2009 Indie Notables List, and had also seen it displayed in Barnes and Noble, but I didn't know much about this book when I started reading it. My book club on GoodReads, Heartwarmers, decided to read it this month. So, I borrowed it from the library. Though it took me a little while to crack the cover, because I became busy and the length was a bit daunting, I am so glad I finally dove in!

    Kate Morton is a stellar wordsmith and I am so impressed with how she spins a tale. If there were a picture next to "storyteller" in the dictionary, it would be of Kate Morton's face. It's always so delicious to find yourself in a novel that is a bonafide story, where the fibers of plot and syntax connect in such a way that you find yourself in awe of how the author was able to weave it all together so richly. Historical fiction, mystery, light fantasy, and tragedy are all bled together to create a spellbinding story.

    Amazingly you don't even realize that you are in a mystery until you have already connected with the story, and then it is such a quality mystery that the outcome is not even able to be guessed at until the last fourth of the novel (and even then, it is still a watery guestimation).

    I haven't felt this way about a story since I finished The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society last year. There is a special sensation that certain books give you; like you have stumbled into something remarkable and though part of you wants to tell everyone so that they can witness it too, the other half of you wants to keep it your own precious secret. These books did that for me.

    So often throughout The Forgotten Garden I wondered how the author was able to articulate ideas that felt like my own. It takes not only work, but concentration, observance, and a generous amount of introspection to be able to translate those universal feelings onto the page (or in this case onto 549 pages) yet keep the ideas fresh. In the conclusion, Morton backstitches the threads of the piece in such a way that the reader steps back in admiration of the final product; I was taken until the very last punctuation mark. It will be my displeasure to return this to the library -- this is a title that deserves a place in my personal library, and I intend to secure a copy for future re-reading.

    (originally posted on www.coconutlibrary.typepad.com)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    The best book I have read in several years. I miss Rosamunde Pilcher of Shell Seekers fame, but this is every bit as good. Lots of suspense. I loved it and couldn't read it fast enough. Jill Hanson

    Read on!! A must have in your libary. A wonderful story. As good as Rosamunde Pilcher's Shell Seekers. Lots to discuss for book clubs and would be appealing to readers with various interests. A great mystery!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A FAIRY TALE FOR DISCERNING ADULTS!!!!

    THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN by Kate Morton is more than a terrific book. It is a mystery and love story. It is a story, within a story ,within a story about family history and relationships. Specifically, it is a fascinating combination of all that makes for the best kind of novels!! It reminds me of the writing style of Carlos Ruiz Zafon in THE SHADOW OF THE WIND. It is one of those stories that will keep you intrigued far after you have finished reading it.
    When a little girl is left on a boat waiting for someone to come for her, but she ends up alone and seemingly forgotten half a world away after a sea voyage, the who, what, where , why and when fills the reader with trepidation and wonder at the intertwining of all that can affect a person in one life time. Yet, everything seemed to flow perfectly in the final analysis. Though this book was over 500 pages long, I read it in one day with great anticipation and a real sense of satisfaction and jubilation when I realized all that had happened to the characters in this book.
    This is not your average love story! A powerful feeling comes over you when you read how incidents and influences direct our lives. The fairy tales with the book actually cover the realities of the story. This is a bedtime story for the discerning adult in each of us. Great fun and a great read!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I usually read but so glad I did!

    I've become quite a fan of Kate Morton! After reading her first one, I was curious about this one, even though the subject matter wasn't normally my choice. I was swept away and transported into an adult fairy tale, into exotic lands and times...daydreams, family saga and subtle romance....and loved the twist in the end! Amazing!.....Another amazing book I've come across that swept me away is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L.M. PIRRUNG....Would be a beautiful movie and great book club material!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Forgotten Garden I reccommend for all readers.

    The Forgotten Garden is a great read. I looked forward to sitting at the end of my day to read this book. I will pass this along to my "reader friends" as a must read. A great story with very strong characters. I enjoyed reading Kate Mortons books and I look forward to her next novel. I also reccommend her novel "The House at Riverton".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    A wonderful read

    This book is such an enjoyable read I didn't want it to end. It left me with a lasting sense of peace. I loved how she wrote about the generations and the fairy tales. I can't discribe the feeling but it was lasting. Kate Morton is a great storyteller and I hope she writes another soon. I also love the "House on Riverton Drive." It left me with the same feeling's. Please, Kate, write another soon,I'll be waiting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the Forgotten Garden

    This is one of the best novels I have ever read (and I've read a lot!). You'll fall in love with some of the characters and absolutely despise the others. Wonderful, amazing story. I don't often write reviews, but felt I had to for this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book

    This was a wonderful book with a storyline that took many turns and kept you guessing right to the end. The book tells many different stories through story telling within the book creating layers of mysteries to solve one at a time till you finally "get to the bottom of it." Very unique book. One I will be keeping to re-read again and again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved her second novel

    I did not want to put this book down and finished it in two days, only stopping once. I would give this 4.5 stars if I could. I thought it was really well written and immensely better than The House at Riverton. I loved traveling through time with the characters, although it was easy for me to lose track of at which period a character knew information essential to the story. I also loved the fairy tales and wish that the Eliza's book were real.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Amazing! A beautiful story about love, family and finding out who you are! I cried at the end I was so moved.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    Great storyteller

    One of those books you don't want to put down. You get to know each of the characters and find yourself wanting to know more. The descriptions put you in the scene, you could picture the surroundings and the people.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Overall a good book.

    I am happy that I read the book because it is good. However, you figure that a story that starts with a child being abandoned on a boat and a couple of chapters later that much grown child dies never learning why she was left there cannot end happily ever after. The chapters with the different generations perspective is thought provoking and sometimes frustrating. The plot is good and does keep you guessing. The end was a little touching but when it is all said and done most of the characters face some terrible hardship or never really get what they want and so you ultimately just feel sorry for them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    WONDERFUL.....

    What a wonderful journey. One of my favorites. I could not wait until this was available in the states so I could own a copy of it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Loved it.

    Excellent story, really keeps you reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An absolute must read!

    The book was simply enchanting. It was a story, within a story, within a story. Cassandra, Nell, and Eliza each had their own story, and the end of a chapter kept you wanting to read more. The time period in England, a seaside estate, and a touch of mystery all lent the brilliance of this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good read.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 30, 2011

    All By Myself

    I bought this book after reading nothing but good reviews, but I hated it so much! It was so slow, so boring! I truly do not understand how everyone loves it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    zzzzzzzzz

    How did this book get such good ratings??? I find it rather boring!! Wish I could get my $ back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1771 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 89