Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten Legion

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    History can be vivid, and as real as our world today!

    Mr. Kane came to Rome and left it a conquering hero! What a fantastic read. This may be his first book, but; I certainly hope that it is not his last. For anyone who loves history, this is indeed a great read. Ben Kane has delved into the seamier side of Roman society in the later part of the first century and mixed in some historical fact along with a compelling story line to give the reader a fantastic tale. I just could not put it down! I finished it in one evening. Mr. Kane, Please don't wait too long to give us another one, O.K.?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well-researched Saga of Ancient Rome

    Ben Kane's first installment of a new series set in the Roman Republic will please fans of both history and high-powered action. The main characters are slaves - members of the vast underculture that kept the powerful ancient Republic moving smoothly. The four characters' lives intertwine in an epic tale of war and civil upheaval. Be prepared for plenty of combat scenes in both the gladiators' arena and the battlefield. The brutality of the powerful against the powerless is rigorously detailed. An excellent glossary is provided at the end of the book for assistance with the many Latin terms. More adventures await in the second book of this exciting series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinated by Ancient Rome? Escape with The Forgotten Legion!

    I am fascinated by stories of Ancient Rome and am excited to be part of the book blog tour for Ben Kane's debut novel, The Forgotten Legion!

    The Forgotten Legion differs from most novels of Ancient Rome in that Ben Kane chose conquered people for the lead characters. Through the stories of the Etrucscan Tarquinius and the Gaul Brennus, we share the experience of conquest by Rome. Somehow, Rome's system of conquest allows the strong and skilled to serve Rome. So, Tarquinius and Brennus who had stood out in their own communities, find that their strength and skills still bring them some recognition and respect in their new lives.

    Through the experience of the young twin slaves, Romulus and Fabiola, we see what life can be like for the Roman house slaves born and raised in Rome. When their master decides to tear their family apart, he sells Romulus to a gladiator school and Fabiola to a brothel. Forced to survive by their wits, the love that they have for each other and their desire for revenge sustains them.

    The Forgotten Legion is riveting. Ben Kane weaves together these different stories - we find romance, action, unexpected twists and opportunities for revenge. The important figures and moments in Rome's history affect our heroes' lives and make for a fascinating and satisfying read! I am looking forward to the next in the series, The Silver Eagle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Survival

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Well worth the read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well researched and written, I am looking forward to the next two in the series very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    This was a fantastic read. I can say with complete surety that t

    This was a fantastic read. I can say with complete surety that this trilogy is what sparked my interest in  Classical Antiquity. The unadulterated scenes of every day life in the final years of the Republic as well as the engaging plot line made it near impossible to put  the book down. And the depictions of ancient warfare were both vivid and gory, just the way I like it. I wish I were a literary critic because I'm not very good at expressing my feelings towards a particular book. But I honestly loved this book and the entire series for that matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I have read other books by this author and he never disappoints. If you love ancient history read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Forgotten Legion

    This is an interesting story that involves a multitude of colorful characters that become likable but at the same time- I just am not feeling for them. I'm caring about them as I should and everyone seems close to being 2 dimensional.
    Perhaps it is because the story focuses on practically 4 different character's view points.

    A thing that I appreciated was that Ben Kane definitely did his research for this book and it really shows- authenticty is awesome!
    But at the same time the one thing that bothered me and made this book just okay for me was his style of writing. Most people seem to enjoy it but for the most part, a large amount of the story is basically definitions and descriptions of things the author assumes we do not know. Even if that is the case, I found this distracting and pulling away from the story at times and it made the feel of the whole story seem like something that should be like narration on the History Channel. But Kane still manages to keep the reader captivated with the events and action that happens within the story, even if the dialogue at times can be a tad cheesy.

    As for the story- it was intriguing and I enjoyed the variety of what happens. Especially knowing the of life within a high class brothel through the eyes of Fabiola- that is a path that isn't normally taken through Ancient Rome fiction and it was fascinating. You basically get a taste of different oppressed worlds and it is interesting- you have a slave sold into prostitution, a Gaul who becomes a slave after his entire clan was killed, an Etruscan- a race of people dying out, whose ancestors were taken over by the Romans and a young slave who is sold to be a gladiator and die.

    Overall, I enjoyed the book and am planning to read the sequel to find out what happens to our heroes :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    well done work of historical ficton

    well done work of historical ficton when i read this book i can hear the roman leigons marching lions in the arena roaring and the republic of rome come back to live my thanks to kane for writing this masterpeace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Great book. Fast paced and an easy read. I look forward to reading additinoal books by Mr. Kane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Good read

    This was a surprisingly good book. I enjoyed it very much and look forward to upcoming Kane novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Wonderful

    IF you like drama, historical context and great story telling than this book is for you. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down . At the end I of the book I kept wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2