Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten Man (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Craiis is consistently good.

I've read a bunch of his stuff, and he just consistently puts out a superb product. His sense of flow for dialogue, plot, and character development are just head and shoulders above. If you're lookin for good drama/detective genre reading, this won't disappoint you.

posted by 7390762 on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Forgotten Man Should Be Forgotten

I have recently discovered Elvis and read every single book in about 5 weeks. Would give each one a 4.5 or 5 star rating. Not so with The Forgotten Man. The plot is rather convoluted to give us flashbacks and tell us about the childhood, etc., of Elvis growing up. Fr...
I have recently discovered Elvis and read every single book in about 5 weeks. Would give each one a 4.5 or 5 star rating. Not so with The Forgotten Man. The plot is rather convoluted to give us flashbacks and tell us about the childhood, etc., of Elvis growing up. Frankly, I think Elvis is perfect and I don't need to hear about the past. If it ain't broke,don't fix it. This book was not as good in my opinion and also seemed to lack the typical wisecracking gumshoe and bad boy Pike we have grown to love in previous novels. As much as I hate to say so, I would suggest you skip this one. It is not up to a par with the previous books.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Forgotten Man Should Be Forgotten

    I have recently discovered Elvis and read every single book in about 5 weeks. Would give each one a 4.5 or 5 star rating. Not so with The Forgotten Man. The plot is rather convoluted to give us flashbacks and tell us about the childhood, etc., of Elvis growing up. Frankly, I think Elvis is perfect and I don't need to hear about the past. If it ain't broke,don't fix it. This book was not as good in my opinion and also seemed to lack the typical wisecracking gumshoe and bad boy Pike we have grown to love in previous novels. As much as I hate to say so, I would suggest you skip this one. It is not up to a par with the previous books.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Craiis is consistently good.

    I've read a bunch of his stuff, and he just consistently puts out a superb product. His sense of flow for dialogue, plot, and character development are just head and shoulders above. If you're lookin for good drama/detective genre reading, this won't disappoint you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good Read

    Great plot, different & kept me guessing as to what was going on. Love Starky, she's a great character. Lucy is sickening - I was sorry to see her come back, I was thrilled when she moved away. Hope she's gone for good in next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    A Must Read!

    Robert Crais has done it again. Delivering us a novel you can not put down. Elvis Cole is an amazing character in this book. I would recommend this book to everyone who loves a good mystery crime story. Keep em coming Robert, can't wait to see what you come up with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Excellent

    Always an excellent story. Love Joe Pike and don't like selfish Lucy. Cole should get together with Carol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Another Great One from Crais

    I've read this book before, but needed a copy to fill out my collection. Crais is the best thing going today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    highly recommended

    I love his work and this is just my kind of book. Mysteries are my favorite entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Apprentives den

    Yes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Another excellent read from Robert Crais. He truly brings his characters to life. If only Joe Pike were a real person!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved it! Besides doing the guy thing, which is mysterious to me

    Loved it! Besides doing the guy thing, which is mysterious to me but always lively, as a woman I can completely identify with what poor Lucy goes through trying to deal with The Guy Thing ....great series, and Crais somehow comes up with great stories time after time w/o falling into a predictable rut! Long live Cole and Pike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Definitley worth reading

    This story gives more details in the dramatic childhood of Elvis. This is well written story where Elvis is trying to find his father. Could he actually know who he is? This is worth reading. Part of a series that should be read. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to put down this story.

    This is my second Robert Crais novel, and if I'm right I have somewhere between 9 or 10 books to go. With that said then I have some excellent books to look forward to. I thought that "The Forgotten Man" was well written, and the story flowed evenly from one chapter to the next. By midway in the story I found it hard to put the book down, but I did and picked it up the very next day. There was plenty of action surrounding the turbulent life of the private detective, Elvis Cole. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Intriging

    Great Book And a Good read if you like mysterys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    A Great Series

    Since I read this book, I have ordered and read Series 1-6 of Elvis Cole and loved every minute. I am now ordering the remainder of the series. Crais' writing is fun to read. Elvis' lines and on-going commentary is funny and holds your interest from front to back. He is now on my author watch list. I will buy everything he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    Unforgotten

    Elvis turns over every possible stone in this story to find a link to his mysterious father. This book definitely was a page turner I couldn't put down! The end is shocking here, but believable even sad as I became involved with the characters and why a woman would do away with a person she came in contact with, because she jumped to conclusions the way I did during her investigation of her family's murderer.There is a person who just really shocks me here, but I wouldn't want to give that away for someone who may not have read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Keep 'Em Coming

    As with all the Elvis Cole books, this was another great read. Crais has created characters that are a joy to read about. Can't wait for the next installment in this great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    A reviewer

    I just finished all the Elvis Cole books & really enjoyed them. I would like to see Elvis & Lucy get married. I believe the stories would be just as interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    'Looking Back'

    If you were to write out the story line, this may appear to be just another Elvis Cole murder mystery. It is, however, much more than that. It's almost like 'Worlds Greatest Detective meets Fields of Dreams',as Elvis searches for the murderer of someone that, as a dying declaration, says that he is the father that Cole never met. It's also vintage Crais, as he goes deeper into the psyche of his lead character, with all his flaws and weaknesses, and still maintains the excitement of a fine murder mystery. This may be Crais at his very best, as Elvis Cole searches for the killer, while looking deep into himself for redemption, and questions that he may not actually want the answer to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    He's Back!!!

    Robert Crais compiled 116 rejection letters before he sold his first short story. No doubt there are 116 editors that have been kicking their own butts because Crais has become one of todays most popular mystery writers. THE FORGOTTEN MAN is the tenth in his Elvis Cole series that began with THE MONKEY¿S RAINCOAT in 1987. He has also written two stand alone novels and worked on TV shows including Baretta, Cagney and Lacey and Hill Street Blues. Currently Robert Crais is working with Bruce Willis to bring one of those stand alones, HOSTAGE, to the big screen; a major undertaking but one that is sure to catapult the writer into even greater notoriety. THE FORGOTTEN MAN takes Elvis Cole on another adventure that reveals more of his history and provides readers with insight into their favorite detective¿s psyche. Like millions of young people, Elvis Cole never knew his father and his mother was often absent, even when she was with him. The empty spot that this universal phenomenon leaves in the heart of a little boy is only beginning to be acknowledged by teachers, psychologists and ministers. That empty spot will cause a seemingly normal man to go beyond the boundaries of good sense in order to fill it with the knowledge of who his father really is, who he was. In addition to his relentless search for the killer of a man who claimed to be his father, Elvis Cole is still pining for Lucy Chenier. She is his lost sweetheart, who found that loving a detective included a little more danger than she was willing to risk. That danger means absolutely nothing to Detective Carol Starkey, formerly of the LA Bomb Squad, who has become increasingly infatuated with Elvis and longs to take their relationship to the next level. Cole¿s best friend and enigmatic partner, Joe Pike, is also present in a minor but essential role. THE FORGOTTEN MAN continues with the solemn mood and manner that began in L.A. REQUIEM. Elvis Cole, World¿s Greatest Detective (it says so on his business card) is no longer the same wisecracking innocent that solved crimes with abandon in his previous seven adventures. A change took place in L.A.R that impelled a more serious, more introspective Cole to emerge. For fans it has been like watching a favorite nephew grow up; you enjoy and appreciate the adult he has become but sometimes miss the carefree, crazy youth he was. Although tight writing and crisp dialog still move the story there is more emphasis on character development and growing self-awareness. While it has been interesting and enlightening to go down several roads less traveled with Elvis and Joe, I, for one, am ready for another old-fashioned road trip!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    FIRST-RATE STORY AND VOICE PERFORMANCE

    If you like crime writing, you've surely read some titles by Robert Crais. If you're lucky, you've read a few of his stories featuring Elvis Cole, a likable, laconic private detective. Cole is tough but totally accessible as readers sympathize with the man who does not know his father and knows too well that his mother was mentally deficient. Cole's is also a man who knows all too well that when the phone rings before sunrise it can only mean trouble. He's right. An LAPD officer calls to ask him to come down and identify a body. When Cole persists in asking why they're calling him, he's told that before the man died he said he was Cole's father. Apparently homeless the man had been found shot in an alley. Voice performer Jack Daniels captures Cole's strengths and vulnerability as Cole tries to unearth the past and discover the dead man's identity. Was he Cole's father? At times, searches reveal what we don't want to discover. That's precisely what happens to Cole. Someone who knew the dead man believes Cole is searching for him. This person does not want to be found, and will kill to make sure he isn't. Listeners will thoroughly enjoy following a path of clues with Cole, his buddy Joe Pike, and LAPD detective Carol Starkey. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4