Customer Reviews for

Ghostwalker: The Fighters

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Best book in the Fighters series.

    Although portions of this novel may seem pretty standard, there are many more that are fresh and inventive. A great read if you are looking to be entertained for the entire story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Wow!!

    I have to admit I really truly expected more because it was following, Master of Chains, but who could follow up in the wake of that?! I still enjoyed it because well I am a sap for blood and a good romance between a ghost and some chick! There could have been better fighting scenes and the plot was pretty see through because half way through I realized what was up with the whole thing but I still liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Awesome Book

    Ghostwalker is one of the best books I have had the pleasure to read in a long time. From the very first page, I was hooked. Once begun this book is impossible to put down. Especially considering that it is just one book rather than a whole series, it is impressive just how much these memorable characters are developed. The fight scenes are truly wonderful, easily rivaling the fights of R. A. Salvatore. While this book stands out among the numerous Forgotten Realms novels, it also stands alone perfectly well. No other books must be read before this one for it to be understood and enjoyed. If I hadn't already known that this was Erik Scott de Bie's first published novel, I would not have been able to guess it. This is the work of a great writer, and I anxiously look forward to reading his future works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Staking his claim to the Realms

    Ghostwalker is Erik Scott de Bie¿s first foray into the Forgotten Realms with a full length novel, and the second book in the stand alone series titled The Fighters. His first official writing was a short story published earlier in 2005 in the anthology Realms of the Dragon II. My first inclination was to try to compare Mr. de Bie with some of the current fantasy authors on the shelves today however, I will not do so as I think that is unfair to him. One novel does not a writer make, and I think he should be allowed to make his own path in the genre. This is just what he did with this novel. To start, this book is darker than most Forgotten Realms books. In fact I may even say it has pushed the envelope of Wizards of the Coast¿s policy to keep books under the PG-13 rating. This novel is right at the cusp of that rating in my opinion. From the opening scene to the last scene of the book de Bie dares you to try and put the book down. The frantic pace of this novel is such that every page must be read, and read now. There is very little down time. Unlike some novels out there today where authors add fluff to make the book longer, de Bie makes sure that everyone of his words means something and has an end goal in mind. The plot is well thought out and well constructed. The main driving force behind this novel is a gritty tale of vengeance and what someone will go through to get tat revenge. There are also a few subplot sprinkled throughout the story, but if I was to talk about them here they would turn into spoilers ¿ so I will pass. I will say the subplots add to the novels overall appeal and adds to the intrigue of this book. Mr. de Bie also does a very good job at giving the reader just enough information to let them think they know what is going on, then snatching it away and replacing it with something different than first thought shocking the reader. I have read too many fantasy novels that have a very linear plot, this book certainly does not follow that path. I liken this plot between a good murder/mystery and a playoff hockey game. Action packed pace that makes you think along the way. Being a new author I was unsure just how much consideration Mr. de Bie would have for character development in this novel. I was not disappointed in the least. The character development in this novel is fantastic. From the start to the finish of this novel, de Bie never lets character development take a back seat. Several characters have such large developments that merely saying it never took a back seat does not seem to do it justice, yet if I explained there would be spoilers- so I am forced to leave it at that. Those of you that read a lot of my reviews know I try to end each review with either recommending the book or not. I am very pleased to have had a chance to read this book so I recommend it without hesitation. If you are new to the Forgotten Realms setting you can read this and not feel lost in the least. If you are a long-time reader of the Realms Mr. de Bie throws out some very good lines to keep you grounded and creates a chuckle every now and then. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone who want to read a fast paced tale of intrigue and revenge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    ONE OF THE BEST

    This book was a prefect blend of saddness and revenge nothing can beat a book like that.To take the form of a ghost that will come for your life. i felt the saddness in his voice and the deep anger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Ghostwalker was a great read

    The whole book from beginning to end was a great read. The characters where written great and the story was done great. I would read this book again, hands down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Waste of time

    The beggining of the book was somewhat promising. I hoped for more dynamic writing as this is after all action fantasy. Also the author tends to repeat some words often (e.g. the caracters names) wich is a pretty annoying bug. The hymn at the ending was pathetic. Overall this was a poor attempt, the only good thing in the book was the FR setting nothing more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1