Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Crystal Shard (Legend of Drizzt #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Wonderful Story Great Characters

    This is the first Salvatore book I read. I picked it up because it had cool cover art and the premise looked interesting.I fell in love with the characters and the writing as I read it. Since getting this book when it was first released I have read every Drizzt book, except the last which is next in my long reading list as well as most of his other books. Plus a few of his short stories. The battle and fight scenes are so descriptive and so intense you can smell the fear and hear the ring of steel. The characters have great depth and breadth to them that you can't help but care deeply about them. If you have never read any of his books read this one and you will be hooked as well. One final note, the author is also very personalable. I met him during one of his book tours and he was extrememly friendly with everyone; personally signing several books for most people. He did it all with a smile and great wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    Decent Story; Have read better

    This is a decent fantasy book. The story is just 'OK' and the quality of writing is not up to par with Robert Jordan, Tolkien, or even Terry Brooks. If you are looking for something to pass a few days, this is ok, but there are other much better things to be reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    The beginning...

    This is was my first Salvatore Novel that i read... It changed my life. I couldn't believe an author could write so insanely detailed battle scenes and still make them fresh and creative. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Now 19 novels later im still loving Salvatore's work and although he has his ups and downs he manages to keep me enthralled and fully attached to a wonderful series. And me being the first to review this new hardcover deluxe edition of the Crystal Shard, i feel honered and privileged to say that this book will not disappoint the Legend of Drizzt series. I Just can't wait for it to be release along with the other two titles in the icewind dale trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    A Novel that Changed My Life. My Favorite Book Writen in the English Language

    I read The Crystal Shard when I was in 5th grade. Even though I did not understand fully what was going on, I could tell this was a special book. I've picked it up many times since and recently as a college graduate. I have read many novels but can honestly put this as my number one favorite of all time. The story is rich and beautiful, taking place in the coldest of tundra. The characters are compelling and fantastic. Although a lot is owed to The Lord of the Rings, I feel Salvatore did a great job creating new characters that expanded on LOTR fantasy. MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    GLORIOUS!!!

    I LOVED it! i bought the trilogy and am now reading the second book. it was just great. it was witty and intertaining and the battle scenes were very detailed. it made you really understand what was going on and simply zone out everything around you(which got me in trouble several times while reading it) You'll love it and if you don't, i think your crazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Read this book!

    I read this book in a day and a half. R.A. Salvatore's books are some of the best I've ever read. The Crystal Shard is a great book, and one that any fantasy lover should read. Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    Best Book in the Written World

    Great plot, lots of twists... a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Wow

    Slow first chapters...but then...I read threw it faster than I ever thought possible. Then I went out and picked up the next book...and the next book... and then the prequil triligy and then picked up the next book....and so on. if anyone book has got me into reading novels its this one. wow. R. A. Salvator is now my favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    AWSOME

    This was such a great book! just couldn't put it down for even a second i wasn't busy! if youre looking for a great book with action, adventure, and a great with well built charaacters, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Heather, just a reader

    I absolutly loved this book. I only picked it up at a bookstore while I was on vacation. So I didn't expect much out of it, just something to pass the time. But in a day and a half I was done, and back at the store for the next book. The characters are wonderful, and Drizzt stole my heart. Needless to say, I am hooked now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Breathtaking...

    This book is amazing! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Very imaginative

    R. A. Salvatore¿s ¿The Crystal Shard¿ is one of the books in The Icewind Dale Trilogy. The Crystal Shard tells about the renegade drow (dark elf) named Drizzt Do¿Urden and his friends Bruenor (the dwarf), Regis (the halfling) and Wulfgar (the barbarian) and their struggle to hold back the evil forces driven by the powerful wizard Akar Kessel and the almighty Crenshinibon from destroying Ten-Towns. The book begins with an invasion of barbarians to Ten-Towns. There Bruenor cuts down Wulfgar and he takes him under his wing for five years. All the while, Akar Kessel, a weak mortal, is possessed by the crystal shard¿s power. Then Alkar Kessle plans his war against Ten-towns. It is up to Drizzt and his friends to rescue the fate of their home. This book is through the eyes of a drow elf. Salvatore makes sure that he gives every race a fair description. He invents many monsters that capture the imagination. His brilliant imagination shown in this book captures many people¿s attention. The descriptions that he uses in this book make it come to life. He explains the setting and the characters well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Great Fantasy Book!

    The first book in Icewind Dale series features unique storyline about the barbaric raids and the crystal shard. R.A. Salvatore writes seriously, focusing on accurate details, character descriptions, and best of all storyline. I reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys epic adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    As much action as our gaming sesions

    Everything that was wild that could of happened did. A great peice of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    A Great Read

    One day my friend brought a book to my house called " The Crystal Shard". He hadnt read it yet and low and behold he left the book at my house. The next day i go to his house to return the book. Upon arriving he isn't home so I sit on his porch to think what to do. For no apparent reason I opened the book and began the read and read I did. I finished the first 50 pages on his porch. The Crystal Shard is an excellent book introducing you to a few amazing characters. The Crystal Shard is followed by many more great books. This book must be present in any Fantasy reader's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Compelling Characters and Excellent Action

    This book is but the first in one of the greatest fantasy trilogies ever. It also lays the foundation for the other series and prequils of the same well-developed characters that follow. If you became interested in fantasy fiction because of the the Lord of the Rings or even Harry Potter, this book is an excellent next step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    It'll kill a couple hours, but try to find something better.

    I'm sorry I bought it. It was less than I expected, even from Salvatore, of whom I am not a fan. It failed to match his Dark Elf Trilogy in quality. True, it was better than some of the cheap, half-nonsense fantasy out there, but there are so many better things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2002

    My Prayers have been answered!

    One of the best books I've ever read!The detail to each bloody battle,the right characteristics that make me love the characters,and the best epic battle for freedom and peace!!This book shows you to each characters feelings,like how Drizzt feels about life on the surface and the secret fatherly concern of Bruenor.This piece of work has a little bit of everything:Dragons, wizards, elves,drows,halflings,dwarves,and men.With the topping of excellent writing,so I recommened this book!! I am now another fan of countless other fans of Drizzt Do'Urden.If you are in need of an outstanding book, get yourself to a bookstore and get this book!!! :):]:}:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    The Best Of Writing!

    I have read several books in the forgotten realms sreies including 'The crystal Shard'. I would recomend reading all you can get your hands on. They have great stories in each one of them. When you read the nexy in the series it relates flawlessly with the previous one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    crack between the cover

    this was the first fantasy book i have ever read and now i am hooked. between bob salvatore's imagery and his bonding charecters. i am now a faithful fan of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15