Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: Streams of Silver (Legend of Drizzt #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    better!!

    although we are still saddled with salvatores stereotypical characters, the overall story was excellent, and the journey into the TROLLMOORS was action at its finest. skip the Crystal Shard and read this one for a page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    LuckyShot

    Saw silver leave and he raced after her. E sniffed the blood and continued to track

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Great read!

    AWESOME SERIES!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    This seems familiar...

    Am I the only person who thought of Kazhad-Dum during the final encounter with Shimmergloom?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Hey bobette Hey its bobette

    Luv ya joe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Fun book

    Really enjoyed this. If you're looking for more of Drizzt and a fun read then grab this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    And the series just gets better and better!

    "... Salvatore has managed to create dynamic characters that I fell completely in love with almost immediately upon meeting them (and even those who I did not fall immediately in love with, I immediately hated. A strong feeling, either way). With the exception of one (Wulfgar the barbarian calls to mind others of his type, such as Conan), they are fairly unique, and each of them only gets more well developed as the story goes on. This is especially true in the case of the dark elf Drizzt, who turns out to be what most would consider the main character. From the start, you are witness to internal reflection on a level that most novels do not allow, but in a way that does not diminish the action of the story. ..."

    For full review, please visit me (Les Livres) on Blogger!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    Yeah, serious title I would have to say. The graphic novels of the forgotten realms are fun. I am not gifted enough descriptively to relay to you accurately what happens in the pages within the graphic novel so I going to defer to the back cover to do that for me; otherwise I may not convey the proper sequence of events. Here it is: "Fantasy's most popular character returns in the fifth chapter of R.A. Salvatore's Legend of Drizzt series! After many lonely, nomadic years, Drizzt Do'urden finally settled in the remote artic outpost of Icewind Dale. There, the dark elf found what he'd sought for so long: deep-rooted friendship worth dying for. After defending the Dale's community of outcasts from a mad wizard and his monstrous allies, a peace has settled over the land. In this time of calm, Drizzt fulfills an oath to one of his friends- to join him in his quest to find the legendary land of Mithral Hall.
    But they are not alone on this quest. The fearsome assassin Artemis Entereri stalks them from the shadows, and even greater power seeks Drizzt himself. It seems the quest to discover Mithral Hall's mythic streams of silver will come only with unbearable sacrifice.."
    I think that that sums it up rather well. I could have said it in fewer words, but you would not have understood the gravity of the situation. Basically, and I say this with no malice but only tongue in cheek, there are two midgets , a tall black elf, and somebody that looks like Thor, stomping through the woods looking for a place one of the midgets called home back in the day, while some really ugly bad guys try to kill them. It is fun to read, the action is good and the art is very nice. I don't hesitate to pick one of these up anytime I can. They are fun to read at the beach, poolside, or anytime you read any news at all involving the President or one of his cabinet members ( just checking to see if you are really following along here).
    A little escapism is good now and then, and a guilty pleasure isn't such a bad thing. I have to admit to taking a chill pill by reading one of these is fun and relaxing, give it a try. It always lowers my blood pressure and makes me chuckle.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook, Shelfari, and Crimespace. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page; also look for our posts on Amazon, Borders, Barnes and Nobles, Target, eBay, Books A Million, Smashwords and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Number Five

    You'd think that by the time you got the fifth book in a series you'd find yourself maybe just a little bored with the story. But NOPE!! R.A. Salvatore really knows how to keep you coming back! This book, more than the previous four, has a LOT of comedy in it coming from Bruenor Battlehammer. I laughed many times and had an amazingly good time reading this book and following the intense adventure Drizzt and company go on and the trials that they face. I couldn't put the book down and even when I finished it I had to run out to get book six because I can't wait to see what happens next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Streams of Silver, The Icewind Dale Trilogy, Book 2

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finding that Silver Lining

    When all seems lost for someone in trouble, they always can go back to a place of safety and familiarity-home. Although it may seem like a prison sometimes or you simply just take it for granted, home is more to you than you think. But it may just be that the journey to even finding where your true home lies is what really matters to you. It can shape your life and change your future forever. Home is where you grew up, where you feel protected, and where you are always welcome. It is also the same place that some people wish to leave and others can only hope to go back again. In this case of an aging dwarf named Bruenor, he has never even seen the home of his ancestors, and he cannot wait to see it with his own eyes. The next installment of the Icewind Dale Trilogy and Legend of Drizzt series, Streams of Silver, entails the story of four adventurers banding together once again to help out their friend in his time of need. Where snow and the tundra may have surrounded the group in the previous tale, they are on a long march through the many different landscapes on their way to the most beautiful stronghold ever created-Mithral Hall, where it is said that silver flows its tunnels in shiny little rivers. Bruenor and his pals knew they had a long way to go before they even started, but they decided to join him on his quest to see this place as well. Maybe for you home was easy to come by, but the tale of these four men's struggles teaches a lot about the perseverance of being in the place you love more than anything else.
    .
    Snow was never really meant to be the home for a drow, let alone being out on the surface world. Drizzt knew this when he came to the Icewind Dale, but ignored this when he was welcomed by the leader of the dwarves in the area, Bruenor Battlehammer. Drizzt later found out that the dwarves weren't supposed to be there either and that Bruenor longed to be back home where his people really hail from. Many believed that the home for the dwarves of old was just imagination, but it was stuck in Bruenor's head that it was more real than anything else he has ever felt. Bruenor's unrelenting love for this place that his eyes have never been set on seems to give those around him the courage to want to go find this place as well, and even makes me hope that he can find it as well. It takes more than just believing in a place to find it, so it is up to three friends-the dwarf, the drow, and the young barbarian Wulfgar-to muster all their strength and supplies to go on the hunt. These three would not be alone for long though, for their small halfling associate Regis needed to run away from some very serious trouble and decided that staying with his old pals is the best thing he could do. Little did this tiny man know that he put all the others in danger as well.
    .
    Just like in The Crystal Shard when it seemed the whole world was lost when Akar Kessel took over nearly all the Icewind Dale, the same characters in this book were able to overcome at nearly the last second-except they did this about every ten minutes! I have never really seen as much action in such a book set in search of a place since the Lord of the Rings. This book does amazing things your imagination, and continues the story of the great Drizzt. If you are a fan of the series, Drizzt, or just a great read, this will definitely be worth your time. Finding an amazing book like this is like finding that cloud with the silver lining around its edges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome

    i read the book it was good till the end when one of the characters dies which is sad cuz hes one of the characters that is most interesting besides drizzt, beside the character diying the book was great i recomend people to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    the best is yet to come

    since reading his first story about drizzt i have fallen in love for the drow and ive grown very excited to know that this book is coming out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    what a good book

    this is a good book. he wrote it great. i like how he brought the whole group back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    a very good book

    when i read the crystal shard i hoped this would be as good. being only 11 i might have a different thought about the book. this is a good action packed book especialy with the addition of artemis. most people adore the main light hearted characters but entrei being drizzt's rival adds an important roll in the book. if you don't enjoy the begining ... keep reading. it gets very action packed twords the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    An incredible followup of The Crystal Shard.

    Streams of Sliver started off incredibly and keeps you enthralled the whole of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Very Good

    this is the book that got me into the Forgotten Realms Series, Once i Started Reading it i couldnt put it down, I read the whole thing in 3 days becaus it was so good, but that doesnt mee this book is short, just really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    yes, this is a VERY GOOD book, if i do say so my self, and i do.

    dont even take my word for it... mostly because i cant spell any words. but if you like books like.... The Hobbit, if you ever read the Hobbit.... if you haven't then you dont know what im talking about. but this book is like the hobbit in alots ways. its one of my all time favors, the whole icewind dale thing. BUY ONE NOW!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Where Silver Rivers Run....

    Streams of Silver was one of the best books that I've ever had the chance to read. Drizzt was marvelous!!!! It showed how frail life actually was for the companions of the hall. It brilliantly depicted the young and growing Wulgar in his first struggles with the world outside of Ten-towns. It also gave the ol'dwarf Bruenor a chance to shine in his own home once again(after 2000 years)! If you miss this book, then you're really gonna miss it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    By far a one of the best written by Mr. Salvatore

    This inticing book will keep readers up all night. It holds a unique almost-Tolkienish quality of writing that can only be found in books like 'Lord of the Rings' by J.R.R. Tolkien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10