Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Legacy (Legend of Drizzt #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great

arguably salvatore's best novel, bar none!

posted by 1-4-da-shelf on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book is the to similar to Exile.

This book, the sequel to The Halfling's Gem is written about the efforts of Artemis Enteri and the dark elves of Menzobarrenson to recapture Drizzt and sacrifice him in order to regain the favor of Lloth, their dark god. This book was decent, but I got the feeling I ha...
This book, the sequel to The Halfling's Gem is written about the efforts of Artemis Enteri and the dark elves of Menzobarrenson to recapture Drizzt and sacrifice him in order to regain the favor of Lloth, their dark god. This book was decent, but I got the feeling I had read it before. Like many sequels, this book is simply a rehash of old material in order to generate sales from innocent consumers who read the first one, but want more of the story. What book in the series is it like, you ask? Exile. In Exile the story was almost exactly the same: Drizzt is underground being chased by dark elves attempting to gain Lloth's favor, he is slowed down by having to protect a weaker companion, and his close friend dies. Also, he fights one of the few opponents who could possibly defeat him. Exile contained many of the key elements of a good book: the characters were not perfect and always acted in character, the setting was fantastic, and the ending was by no means obvious. This is all in The Legacy. The Legacy certainly could have been better written, but it's still a decent book: it's just that anyone who has read Exile will feel like they are reading it all over again. So don't read them both, just read one or the other.

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    great

    arguably salvatore's best novel, bar none!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    a reviewer

    This book is great. If you like anything with action check this out. I have read about 10 books by Salvatore and all are great, this is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 1999

    This book is the to similar to Exile.

    This book, the sequel to The Halfling's Gem is written about the efforts of Artemis Enteri and the dark elves of Menzobarrenson to recapture Drizzt and sacrifice him in order to regain the favor of Lloth, their dark god. This book was decent, but I got the feeling I had read it before. Like many sequels, this book is simply a rehash of old material in order to generate sales from innocent consumers who read the first one, but want more of the story. What book in the series is it like, you ask? Exile. In Exile the story was almost exactly the same: Drizzt is underground being chased by dark elves attempting to gain Lloth's favor, he is slowed down by having to protect a weaker companion, and his close friend dies. Also, he fights one of the few opponents who could possibly defeat him. Exile contained many of the key elements of a good book: the characters were not perfect and always acted in character, the setting was fantastic, and the ending was by no means obvious. This is all in The Legacy. The Legacy certainly could have been better written, but it's still a decent book: it's just that anyone who has read Exile will feel like they are reading it all over again. So don't read them both, just read one or the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    *HEAVY BREATHING*

    *HEAVY BREATHING*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Excelent

    A gold book by my favorit author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Legacy

    Another great book from R.A. Salvatore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Drizzt

    Drizzt and Lolth! What could be better?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Though book six (the Halfling's Gem) of the Legend of Drizzt series didn't really leave you much of a teaser to keep reading, the Legacy is real quick at grabbing your attnetion and keeping you from putting the book down! I was real pleased with the surprises and the nail biting intensity of some of the chapters. I was real satisfied with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Legacy, Legacy of the Drow, Book 1

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another slam dunk for Salvatore

    This book is #7 in the Drizzt series and kicks off the legacy of the drow installment. I keep waiting for this series to grow old and tired but R.A Salvatore continues to amaze me with his world expansion character development and pure adrenaline pumping adventure. I recommend this book to anyone that has read the previous 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Great book

    this is my third favorite book ever. READ IT. I have fallen in love with all of the R.A. salvatore books and of couse the characters he creates. before I read R.A. Salvatore I thought I read alot and I thought they were good books. I was wrong. Now all I do is read and no logger like to read I have a passion for it. This book should have more then 5 stars and if I could I would give it 10. If you read this book and are not happy with it then you should never read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    fantasic!

    loved the characters. Each of Drizzt's friends have there own kick butt ways of killing the enemy. Drizzt's is really unstoppable drow with is two scimitars he can execute almost anything. Drizzt's friends, Catt-brie, Bruenor, Guenhwyvar(an black panther), Wulfgar, and Regis are very interesting characters. The enemies are clearly descripted of how nasty they are and evil. My favorite enemies that drizzt's and his friends had to fight were the drows. From my point of view i see that the drows are imposing enemies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Cover art confusion

    I'm still not sure why, but there are two different cover art versions of this book. There's one where Drizzt looks too human and is fighting wolves. This one is generally disliked due to its inaccurate portrayal of the main character. But I've seen another one, this one picturing Drizzt the way he should be (young) fighting a drider with Guenhwyvar. I would definitely recommend this one. Both books have the same story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Great book

    I love this book, but I have a real problem with the art on the cover. It is not consistent with the art of the other books in the series. Drizzt looks like an old wrinkly human rather than his great drowiness. And what is it with that ugly skull cap, it makes him look idiot! GOSH!!! The art just is not what I have come to know as a great depiction of Everyone's favorite Drow. This same mistake was made in the original covers and the cover of the game book of Menzzoberranzan, I had hoped this artistic error would not be repeated in the new hard cover series. I am disappointed. Sorry about the bad book review Mr.Salvatore, but you are still the best writer, keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2001

    Good, but getting repetitive

    Oh well. Yet another book about Drizzt & Co. Quite nice and everything, sure. A must read after all the earlier ones, so you will know what happens to the characters. Well written, blah blah blah; enough good stuff to warrant 4 stars. It is just that the good stuff is rather the same as earlier; and so is the less good stuff, only that was better when first used. Since everyone knows what's good about Salvatore's books (or can just check some other review to find out), I might as well mention som less flattering points. This all is getting repetitive, and it does not feel like there would have been much reason to write anything more about these characters, at least beyond making money. The same old villains come back (those bloody darkelves just can't leave Drizzt alone, and that stupid - although he is generally speaking an interesting character - assassin just doesn't know when he's lost). It is like some TV-series that has gone on for too long. But, hey, it's still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Great Book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    a reviewer

    In this book Wulfgar and Catti-brie are going to be married, when Bruenor discovers goblins in the lower passages of Mithril Hall, and they all go to dispatch them. Guess who interupts their progress...yup, Drow. Will their lives will change forever down in the caverns? Read to find out, you will really like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10