Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: Passage to Dawn (Legend of Drizzt #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

R. A. Salvatore continues to bring life to his characters. When he develops relationships between hi characters, such as the one between Drizzt and Bruenors adopted daughter, Cattie Brie, he does not rush into things. This particular relationship has existed since the I...
R. A. Salvatore continues to bring life to his characters. When he develops relationships between hi characters, such as the one between Drizzt and Bruenors adopted daughter, Cattie Brie, he does not rush into things. This particular relationship has existed since the Icewind Dale Trilogy, and is just beggining to become obvious now. I would like to recognize R. A. Salvatores 'patience' because it has really brought a great credibility to the characters in his books.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

And, Behold, Wulfgar Rises Again!

In truth, I am not much of a Salvatore fan. The Dark Elf Trilogy was good, but only because it was NOT fantasy in the classic sense, but more of a social-commentary in fantasy form. The later series in the Drizzt Do'Urden story lack much of the innocence that made the...
In truth, I am not much of a Salvatore fan. The Dark Elf Trilogy was good, but only because it was NOT fantasy in the classic sense, but more of a social-commentary in fantasy form. The later series in the Drizzt Do'Urden story lack much of the innocence that made the Dark Elf Trilogy almost seem to be from the perspective of a child. Salvatore's often simplistic views of things were actually acceptable in this light. In this novel, Passage to Dawn, I was rather disgusted that Wulfgar returned from the dead. I'm not giving anything away; it's as predictable as it is weakly sentimental. This is all the more lamentable for the fact that Salvatore may have the potential to be a good writer.

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Drizzt and friends rock

    This my return to fantasy novels after 8 years. After reading this I am glad to be back! Salvatore still has it in him to bring these charachters to life. New ones as well.Can't wait to catch up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Awesome

    R. A. Salvatore continues to bring life to his characters. When he develops relationships between hi characters, such as the one between Drizzt and Bruenors adopted daughter, Cattie Brie, he does not rush into things. This particular relationship has existed since the Icewind Dale Trilogy, and is just beggining to become obvious now. I would like to recognize R. A. Salvatores 'patience' because it has really brought a great credibility to the characters in his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Another winner!!!!!

    Once again RA Salvatore has written a great Drizzt Do'Urden story, plenty of battles and magic. It was excellent how he returned Wulfgar from the dead and has begun to heal Brunor's eye. It's a land of magic anything can happen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    And, Behold, Wulfgar Rises Again!

    In truth, I am not much of a Salvatore fan. The Dark Elf Trilogy was good, but only because it was NOT fantasy in the classic sense, but more of a social-commentary in fantasy form. The later series in the Drizzt Do'Urden story lack much of the innocence that made the Dark Elf Trilogy almost seem to be from the perspective of a child. Salvatore's often simplistic views of things were actually acceptable in this light. In this novel, Passage to Dawn, I was rather disgusted that Wulfgar returned from the dead. I'm not giving anything away; it's as predictable as it is weakly sentimental. This is all the more lamentable for the fact that Salvatore may have the potential to be a good writer.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    ......meh

    Definitely not my favorite of Drizzt's adventures. Nautical fights aren't really my thing, and even though I knew a twist was coming, I find myself heavily disappointed with the turn out. Oh well, on to the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    a little slow but great!

    a little slow but great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Panther

    Pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Uuucvvuuhyyuiuu

    Y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Exciting, fast paced

    Let me elaborate a little on the title- 'fast-paced' meaning full of action and fight scenes. There's nothing wrong with that, it's RA's style of writing. Although it seemed to me that the author had been sitting at his computer typing, and suddenly wondered how exactly he'd develop a certain character, or move the plot forward, when he thinks to himself most often: "I'll just throw in a long drawn out bar fight of some kind until I get it all sorted out. Kill a few cannonfodder characters. Talk about Wulfgar's muscles." Don't get me wrong. RA is one of my favorite authors. But if you can't look past the hyper detailed battles, then he isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Terrible

    This book was horrible. I think it is healthy when main characters die in books that have long series. You can not expect to win all fights without casualties. To keep bringing people back from the dead just takes away the excitement of battles. I have read the first 10 books and will stop here disapointed in the series. I will not recomend these books to others just to be let down as i was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Cali go to

    Love res eight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Not Salvatore's best, but still a good read

    As said above, not the best book in the Drizzt series, but was still well written, and as always, it left we wanting more and ready to move ahead to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun action filled fantasy

    This is the tenth book in the Drizzt series. RA Salvatore does not disappoint with fight scenes on board ship and in Icewind Dale. This book is chronologically written but, can stand on its own. A reader of RPG fantasy and fantasy in general will enjoy this book

    For those who follow the Drizzt series there is the introduction of Cadderly Bonaduce of the Cleric Quintet fame. A person known to Drizzt is being held prisoner by the balor, Errtu, from The Crystal Shard. Cadderly and the Companions set our to rescue the prisoner.

    Will I read more by RA Salvatore? Yes. This is not my favorite Drizzt book. It brings back some recycled villains. I was thinking , "Oh you're still around." The rivals that are of interest are only mentioned in passing. However, there have been good enough works in th past and Drizzt is a compelling character.

    This would be ideal for a book club discussion devoted to light fantasy. The reading age would be teens. There is explicit violence. Parents may want to vet this first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A let down

    I really wanted this book to be as amazing as other books of the series, but I was quickly let down. This book stands as the worst that I have read of the series thus far. I enjoyed coming back to the characters I love (I read book 9 roughly 2 years ago), but it just didn't feel exactly the same. I couldn't emerge myself into like I could the others. I didn't get the need and longing to read from this book. I hope the next few books are not as much of a let down as this one has been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Passage to Dawn, Legacy of the Drow, Book 4

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    the worst Drizzt novel

    this was a cheesy attempt to cross over Salvatore's other characters from the Cleric Quintet. Problem is, all those characters are boring. There was really NO NEED for them to be included into this storyline. but whatever

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    Passion plus adventure equals awesome

    I have been reading forgoten realms books for a year now and all salvatore books stand out.This one ranks very high with me.I love the way his characters have more then two diemensions.Each book keeps getting better and better.Anyone who is a sci-fi fan will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    tearjerking

    Despite what other reviews say, I think this was an especially great part of Salvatore's masterwork saga. It may not have been as high-tempo as some of the earlier books, but I think that change of pace was part of what made this book stand out from the rest. Also there were some very touching moments and I must admit that the ending drew out a tear or two from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    R.A.Salvatore does it again

    'Passage to Dawn' is one of Salvatore's best works yet. It combines the memorible and loveable charactors with the thrilling battles and magic displays we've come to expect. By far his best work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Great book

    I really like this book. There were parts that I could do without but overall it is a great book. I love the battle sequences that are in this book. R.A. Salvatore has do it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7