Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: Sea of Swords (Legend of Drizzt #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love

Best dungen&bragons book i have read..... :)

posted by 14276555 on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blimy, it be Captain Do'Urden......

....of the good ship bloodstain! Hold down the main mast, lads, a storm o' mediocre writing be headed this way! Batten down the hatches as we steer clear o' subplots! There be a dark ship approaching off the port bow.......BY THE HANDS OF TEMPUS!! It be the literary p...
....of the good ship bloodstain! Hold down the main mast, lads, a storm o' mediocre writing be headed this way! Batten down the hatches as we steer clear o' subplots! There be a dark ship approaching off the port bow.......BY THE HANDS OF TEMPUS!! It be the literary pirates come to steal our character development, lads! Stand fast, me hardies, at least the numerous fightin' be worth checkin' out! Spend ye treasure on this trinket at ye own risk, mates.

posted by 1-4-da-shelf on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Love

    Best dungen&bragons book i have read..... :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Blimy, it be Captain Do'Urden......

    ....of the good ship bloodstain! Hold down the main mast, lads, a storm o' mediocre writing be headed this way! Batten down the hatches as we steer clear o' subplots! There be a dark ship approaching off the port bow.......BY THE HANDS OF TEMPUS!! It be the literary pirates come to steal our character development, lads! Stand fast, me hardies, at least the numerous fightin' be worth checkin' out! Spend ye treasure on this trinket at ye own risk, mates.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Incredible

    For many books I've been waiting to hear from Drizzt again and now he's back. I loved the book. One of the best written. I can't wait for the next...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Best of the Drizzt Books. So good, must read if you enjoy the se

    Best of the Drizzt Books. So good, must read if you enjoy the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    It was good

    I loved it becasuse it was a grest bppk tp read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A great reunion for the "Companions of the Hall" as well as opening for possible things to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Last of this Series

    As were all the ones that preceded it a good tale, lots of action, a enough surprises to keep you on your toes.

    I am glad to see that the story continues with another series by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Excellent book

    An excellent story line. Exciting. I want more of Drizzt books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sea of Swords, Paths of Darkness, Book 4

    This story seems very generic to me. I was so very excited to have Drizzt back and his adventures, and this novel did not live up to my expectations. It is good to know that the five champions are reuniting themselves, and it does offer definate closure. The best surprise was finding out why the elf had such a desperate hatred toward Drizzt. To me, it is an "Early Winter", not "Sea of Swords".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sea of Swords: Callan McGary-Review

    This book tells the story of Drizzt Do'Urden and his companions searching for their lost friend Wulfgar. In a previous book in this series Wulfgar leaves his friends on his own accord with him going through his own personal problems. Now with Wulfgar's signature weapon, a war hammer called Aegis-Fang crafted by his step father, showed up in the hands of an outlaw. Drizzt and his company assume the worst has befallen Wulfgar and they must locate him. They first begin their search for their friend in the city Lucusan, but as they arrive in the city they learn that Wulfgar had left a few weeks earlier to search for his stolen war hammer that is now in the hands of the pirate Sheila Kree. Finally their paths do meet through the help of a wizard. Now with the company united, Wulfgar still is going after the pirate to get back his stolen War hammer. To find out the end of this final epic battle of Drizzt and Wulfgar against this vicious pirate you are going to have to read the book. You will enjoy the story through its message of friendship, to lend a helping hand and stand for what you believe is right and just.
    I fully enjoyed this book because you really get to know the characters in the ways of how they think and act. With this book you are given insight to all of the main characters thoughts. Drizzt is an extremely careful character that always plans out his actions to ensure success. Wulfgar goes straight into action giving little to no though about what he does, but learns that is not how you should go about doing things. Towards the end of the book he evolves to become careful of his actions so he is not reckless to himself or others. You are constantly guessing what is going to come next, there are so many fights in the story you're not sure what is going to happen. Every chapter of this book I enjoyed and there was not a single dislike I had about this book. I am sure many readers of this book will agree with me. So it is clear to see why this book is a New York Times best seller. In conclusion my rating for this book will be no less than five stars.
    Other works of R.A.Salvatore that I would recommend is The Dark Elf Trilogy. These three books; Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn tell that tale of Drizzt Do'Urden in the early stages of his life. How he rebels from the ways of his family and race in order to become the caring respectful character you read in all of the other Drizzt books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent end to the Paths of Darkness series

    As well as an excellent, circle completing end to the Legend of Drizzt. I am personally a fan, it seems, of the self-preserving neutral characters like Regis and Morik. In this book both have intriguing roles. Regis becomes hell-bent on proving to be an asset to the companions as opposed to a thorn in their side. Morik you will need to read the book to understand how he takes a step in a new direction. The companions indeed re-unite as the cover gives away, but with many characters you wouldn't have expected which gives a complete conclusion to the series. This is an excellent book that has many twists and turns. It also gives perspective on many of my beloved characters. A must-read for fans of Drizzt, the SellSwords, or R.A. Salvatore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Back To the Beginning

    After the extremly boring Cleric Quintet, the just not all there Silent Blade,the Drizzt free Servant of the shard, and the Spine of The World, it was very refreshing to see Salvatore go back to his original writing style. I find this novel a mixture of the Icewind dale Trilogy and the Dark elf Trilogy. Heres to hope Salvatore stays on the right track and sticks to the writing style that his fans fell in love with in the first place. Great novel Great Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    ...Well Salvatore DID do it again

    Salvatore is a poor author. He seems obsessed with violence, and I was hard pressed to go 50 pages and not find another person dying. However, this candy-for-the-mind book, has somehow surpassed his previous excuses for literature. He throws us into a well known world, with 3 or 4 seemingly independent stories going on at once. Instead doing an indepth description of each situation, and allowing us to get some insight into his characters, he rushes us through the world (although not through the combat) straight to the meeting up of our 'beloved' characters. There is never a feeling of suspence, as Drizzt easily tackles seemingly unbeleivable odds. The other supporting characters seem a bit tacked on. Salvatore amazingly ignores any attempt at making a side story and focuses on his main plot. If you want something colorful and full of bloodshed, pick this book up. If you are looking for a book with character build up, story, suspence, and all the things that make a book good, I suggest steering away from this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    A rather average piece of fantasy fiction.

    I haven't read a Drizzt book in a number of years. I only read this one because my friend Eric gave it to me after he had read it. If you have been following this series, Sea of Swords brings the Heroes of the Hall back together, as Wulfgar sets out to find his lost warhammer Aegis-fang. Drizzt, Cattie-brie, Bruenor, and Regis, meanwhile, are looking for Wulfgar. They are brought together by a common enemy, and Drizzt faces possibly his most dangerous foe yet. I have fond memories of many of Mr. Salvatore's past books, and this book doesn't quite match up with those memories. The pacing seemed too quick, with too many things going on and not enough character development in between to successfully build to the climax. In fact, I was underwhelmed by the ending. There was a great opportunity to establish some interesting, recurring characters, but that opportunity is never grasped. If you are a fan of this series of books then of course you have to get this one, too. If you're just looking for a book to read and you don't care about the meta-story that covers the entire series, then I'd look somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Sea of Swords Review by Tim

    This book was absolutely fascinating, the suspense of it all captured my attention form the first pages, and kept me reading until i finished it, 4 hours later. The invasion of the sheila kree's camp was very inspiring, as drizzt spying invoked a new sense of respect for the unmatched drow, the fighting scenes were as always, fascinating, and the teamwork shown by the group is always impeccable. I'm looking forward to seeing more development of bravery or foolishness in regis. Can't wait to read thousand orcs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Great action/adventure book

    This was a great book for those of you who enjoy reding about the dark drow elf Drizzt Do'Urden. He is in almost the entire book and its the begining of a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Okay so it wasn't the greatest

    wow i was suprised at all the bad ratings this book got. Okay so it wasn't the greatest but hey give the guy a break he had alot of loose ends to tie up and he had to bring the companions together agian. and i think he did it in the most graceful way possible. write on R.A.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    R.A Salvatore Does it again!!!!

    Salvatore continues his fascinating tale which is Drizzt Do'Urdens life. This is the final book in the paths of darkness trilogy. In this book many of the stresses that have been building throughout the trilogy. A new twist is added however for Drizzt has a very confused elf that thinks his life a lie and wishes him dead. Wulfgar finally realizes he must get aegis fang back and take the head of Shelia Kree. He is done hiding and now wishes to return to his former glory. Cat Bruenor and Regis are always there to help as usual. The conflicts are finally resolved and the band is back together again. I think that this was the best book in the series because finally the loose ends were untied. The Crystal Shard was enjoyable but a little off topic. I was much relived that I could put down the book and not be thinking "how is Wulfgar ever going to pick himself back up again". Mr. Salvatore has never disappointed me before and I don¿t think he ever will. He is a marvelous writer. If you even remotely enjoy dungeons and dragons this is a must read. (WARNING BIG PLOT SPOILER) The scene that stuck out most in my head is the final battle. He stabs his intended assassin through her rib cage and she falls. Unfortunately the blow was struck to him as well through the magic of a fire shield spell. Cattie shows up with a healing potion and Drizzt offers to sacrifice himself and says to save the elf instead. Bruenor steals the potion and shoves it down Drizzt's throat. Bruenors hard headedness and strong friendship saved Drizzt's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    My first experience with the infamous Drizzt Do'Urden

    Actually, the first book I read from R.A. Salvatore was the 'Servant of the Shard'. It was a good book and it intrigued me. I unfortunately did not know WHO Drizzt Do'Urden was when they dropped in his name every fifty or so pages. So I had to pick up 'Sea of Swords' to see who Drizzt was. I admit I was hooked and soon after I found myself purchasing previous sagas on the famed drow. This book may have gotten poor ratings, but I enjoyed it. And ending a saga such as this one gives you all the more reason to pick up the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Quick Read

    The novel went by very quick. It is definately above average. Story refers to actions from previous novels more than usual, which is rare for a Salvatore novel, such as this. definately worthy of a read...if just to follow your favorite characters storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8