Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Thousand Orcs (Hunter's Blades #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    First Book Read by Salvatore

    Before I read this book, I was getting into reading and all the books I was reading were from the DragonLance series. I went to a book store on day and I looked at 'The Thousand Orcs.' I thought, 'Wow. This looks like a cool book.' Instead, I ended up getting 'The War of Souls Ttilogy.' (DragonLance Books) A month later, I bought the book and I really liked it. I loved the action and the unique characters R.A. Salvatore created. I like the idea of making a GOOD Dark Elf. Thought I really didn't understand how he talked about the past in his books. That's ok though. The villans he created were so well described that it was unbelieveable. R.A. Salvatore is a great author. I'm so glad that I discovered him and I'll be buying more of his books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Awesome book

    I read tons of fantasy , so , naturally I am a critic, but this on lands in the top fifteen books I've ever read. Salvatore does a good job of creating intense imagery and describing the characters for readers not familiar to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    draved

    another great tale of drizzt and his companions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Another fantastic R A Salvatore book!

    I have read all of the R A Salvatore books in the Forgotten Realms series featuring Drizzt Do'Urden. I have read them in order and each time I finish a book, I always make sure that I have the next book in the saga ready and waiting in my Nook so I can pick right up where the other story left off. "The Thousand Orcs" is another masterpiece of edge-of-your-seat storytelling that is for me another world that I can go to and forget about my problems in this world. It is a great way for me to relax and I love the fact that there are so many books in the series that I have read many, many of them, but there are still lots and lots for me to read. This book will definitely not disappoint you if you are a fan of Drizzt Do'Urden and the Companions of the Hall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    One of my favorite characters in literature.

    One of my favorite characters in literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    KRISSR Kris Rohn u suck. GO SALVATORE!

    Loser

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    I didn't like fantasy until I met Drizzt.

    This book was the first that I had read in the series. My little sis got the book because the cover looked cool, and I refused to read it after scolding her for as much. Glad I eventually read it though!!! The new Lockwood artwork is great, but R. A. Salvatore's tallent is unparalleled. This was the first book in a long time that I had a hard time putting down. The world is so rich and the characters so enjoyable that I had no choice but to start the series at book one! (Icewind Dale Trilogy first, followed by the Dark Elf Trilogy).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Thousand Orcs, The Hunter's Blades Trilogy, Book 1

    Finally!!! The heros are reunited and on to they're next adventure as a whole. A small group of drow elves living above ground are uniting the orcs, golblins and frost giants against the dwarves and surrounding small towns. Bruenor makes a visit to the rival and competing dwarf town of Mirabar, which causes a civil war with the dwarves living there. On they're way home to Mithral Hall for the coronation of King Bruenor Battlehammer, the heros decide on one last adventure, and are off to protect the surrounding towns and find one completely destroyed. Cattie-Brie comes to question her relationship with Drizzt. Regis finds that he is isolated and not part of the group of heros. Bruenor can't face being stuck in Mithral Hall and no more adventures. Drizzt finds himself all alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Another excellent Drizzt saga

    Typical RAS character creation and really brings their emotions out during the story. This one jumped around a little too much for my taste, but over all an excellent novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The first is usually the best but....

    You know how usually the first edition (the original) is the best? Well, R.A. Salvatore just gets better and better in this trilogy! I have the first two books in hardcover and it is so awesome as until now I've NEVER had to slam a book shut because of a climax in a story!! Drizzt, a character I've only heard of, but now I know HIM!! He is by far one of the BEST dark heroes, his happiness, sadness, pain, secrets, love and unknowing path is just so compelling you want to wish for death for him, but shout for joy when he battles. R.A. paints a visual that is just awe-inspiring at every turn you actually FEEL that YOU are there! The cover of this book is WHAT you WILL be experiencing in this book. I am usually mislead by covers (orcs, dragons, dwarves, etc), but this is 100% ACTION! DRAMA. Story-weaving good enough for a rainy night, sleep-over or campfire tale. I recommend this book, not the triology, because once read this book, the trilogy you will buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    a good start

    I totally recommend this over the Servant of the Shard trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    My thoughts on the book thousand orcs

    This book is a really good book there's a lot of action to keep your attention once agian R.A.Salvatore shows his genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Great Book!!!

    Great book. Drizzt needs to be included more though, and we need some more of that skirmishing and swashbucklin` there was in Siege of Darkness that Drizzt is like a major role, not some dwarven politicians who sit around talking all day... BORING!!! Overall, I loved the whole trilogy sorely because I am a die hard Drizzt fan! The book would be perfect if Drizzt is included more and if Zak gets rezzed by Cadderly and is sent along with the Bouldersholder Brothers. (That would be sweet)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Good choice for commuters

    This story is the best part of the trilogy. It is a bit boring at times. Also there are many similarities to lord of the rings but overall it is good work. As all of us know Forgotten Realms novels are not ambitious and certainly not ingenious. They are supposed to be easy to read. And this book is very easy to read by all standards. Of course the whole trilogy is pretty lousy so I wouldn't recommend it unless you only want to kill some time while on the train to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    too good

    Tje series of the forgotten realms will have you on the edge if your seat. If you like fantastic books about battles,honor,courage,and heroism then these series of boosk are for you.They just keep getting better and better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    A Fun Read

    I could have done without the politics of the dwarves of Mirabar in this one. Normally when Salvatore writes a boring side story he connects it to the main story not so with the Mirabar story. I was glad to see Ivan and Pikel Bouldershoulder (though I am definatly not a fan of the absolutly boring cleric quintet)they made a nice little addition to the Drizzt novels with there comic relief. The end scene in Shallows was a little predictictable and I would have liked it if Drizzt had kicked a little more Giant butt and the cover shows him slaughtering orcs and that looks more like a scene from the next book. Over all a very good bookand a fun read. Drizzt now stands alone where will his road lead?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Outstanding Book!

    I recommend this book to people who like science fiction. It is action packed, and it is filled with orcs, elves, dwarves and other exciting mythical creatures. Once you start reading this book, you won't want to put it down, and I don't like to read! When you first read this book, you will probably relate it to the book 'Lord of the Rings', but I think it is even more exciting. I can't wait to read the next book by R.A.Salvatore, 'The Lone Drow'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    This is where Drizzt (R.A. Salvatore) entered my world!!

    This was the first book I have read of R.A. Salvatore and ever since then I have purchased the paperback and hardcover of this particular series. such a fan (of Drizzt) even tattooing a slightly altered version of the swords on my back. (still in production) Awesome and a great read. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Salvatore just keeps getting better

    After reading all of his Drizzt series once and then going back through them, I find that Salvatore's books are just getting better and better and 'The Thousand Orcs' is certainly no exception. I even find myself loving the new characters that he adds. If you loved The Dark Elf Trilogy and Icewind Dale, this is one more book and series that you can't pass up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    A Great Work

    Terrific writing, I am only 13 but have read all of his works,(Except the DemonWars). My only complaint is that it seems as if R.A. is trying to hard on the violence. His earlier works had a much better story-line. The amount of violence make it so you can't put the book down. One thing I am very happy about is that our friends Pikel and Ivan Bouldershoulder from the C.Q. join us. And yes there is a character named Dagnabbit....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9