Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Thousand Orcs (Hunter's Blades #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    draved

    another great tale of drizzt and his companions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Thousand Orcs, The Hunter's Blades Trilogy, Book 1

    Finally!!! The heros are reunited and on to they're next adventure as a whole. A small group of drow elves living above ground are uniting the orcs, golblins and frost giants against the dwarves and surrounding small towns. Bruenor makes a visit to the rival and competing dwarf town of Mirabar, which causes a civil war with the dwarves living there. On they're way home to Mithral Hall for the coronation of King Bruenor Battlehammer, the heros decide on one last adventure, and are off to protect the surrounding towns and find one completely destroyed. Cattie-Brie comes to question her relationship with Drizzt. Regis finds that he is isolated and not part of the group of heros. Bruenor can't face being stuck in Mithral Hall and no more adventures. Drizzt finds himself all alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Another excellent Drizzt saga

    Typical RAS character creation and really brings their emotions out during the story. This one jumped around a little too much for my taste, but over all an excellent novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Great Book!!!

    Great book. Drizzt needs to be included more though, and we need some more of that skirmishing and swashbucklin` there was in Siege of Darkness that Drizzt is like a major role, not some dwarven politicians who sit around talking all day... BORING!!! Overall, I loved the whole trilogy sorely because I am a die hard Drizzt fan! The book would be perfect if Drizzt is included more and if Zak gets rezzed by Cadderly and is sent along with the Bouldersholder Brothers. (That would be sweet)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Good choice for commuters

    This story is the best part of the trilogy. It is a bit boring at times. Also there are many similarities to lord of the rings but overall it is good work. As all of us know Forgotten Realms novels are not ambitious and certainly not ingenious. They are supposed to be easy to read. And this book is very easy to read by all standards. Of course the whole trilogy is pretty lousy so I wouldn't recommend it unless you only want to kill some time while on the train to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    A Fun Read

    I could have done without the politics of the dwarves of Mirabar in this one. Normally when Salvatore writes a boring side story he connects it to the main story not so with the Mirabar story. I was glad to see Ivan and Pikel Bouldershoulder (though I am definatly not a fan of the absolutly boring cleric quintet)they made a nice little addition to the Drizzt novels with there comic relief. The end scene in Shallows was a little predictictable and I would have liked it if Drizzt had kicked a little more Giant butt and the cover shows him slaughtering orcs and that looks more like a scene from the next book. Over all a very good bookand a fun read. Drizzt now stands alone where will his road lead?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    A Great Work

    Terrific writing, I am only 13 but have read all of his works,(Except the DemonWars). My only complaint is that it seems as if R.A. is trying to hard on the violence. His earlier works had a much better story-line. The amount of violence make it so you can't put the book down. One thing I am very happy about is that our friends Pikel and Ivan Bouldershoulder from the C.Q. join us. And yes there is a character named Dagnabbit....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    I love blades!!!

    I just finished reading Carol Weston's 'Warriors of a Distant Planet,' and needed another fix of swords and fighting until her second novel,'Fury of the Warriors,' is relesed. I found 'Orcs' to fit that bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Hmmm...

    Well i LOVE Salvatore's work, and this book definitely continued the flow of his Drizzt series. But i definitely have some beef with this book. Mostly because of the lame idea where(SPOILER!)Bruener wants to reclaim another mithral hall of sorts and the fact Drizzt hardly did any fighting and thats what makes Salvatore such a great author he imagination and imagery of fighting scenes... Im in anticapation that Drizzt will kick some serious butt in the next two novels in the Hunter's Blade trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    He's at it again......

    Salvatore has now again launched the readers back to Mithral hall and its legendary history. Glimpsing into the politics of the Dwarfs is a fasinating experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Drizzt Do'Urden...a hero's hero

    Yet another great installment in a series that has ultimately been about the life of one drow elf. In every other Drizzt book, the reader can be fairly sure our hero and his friends will win out. However, in this one, I doubted even Drizzt's prowess when pitted against the antagonists involved. Eagerly am I awaiting the next installments in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Good book

    Indeed this was another good book by Salvatore. I've been a fan of him writings for a while now. This may not be as in depth as some of the others, but it does have a good plot and room to move deeper in the next book. That and you have a doo-dad in it. I like the cover art too. All the previous pictures make Drizzt look very old when he is really so young (for an elf).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Good, but not his best.

    I liked the book, don't get me wrong, but the storyline just didn't seem to compare to the intricate plots of his previous books. The story was rather straight lined and I could almost predict was was going to happen several times. The cameo of the Bouldershoulder brothers was a wonderful plot device. Pikel is hilarious! Overall a good story, and I can's wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Recommended.

    This one starts off slowly but really picks up towards the end. I wish it had focused a little more on Drizzt. (not that it doesn't have him in it) Looks like this is going to lead into a very exciting second book. I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Drizzt strikes again!

    This is another great Drizzt Do'Urden book. It is filled with many fights and also focuses on the companions' deep thoughts about life. However, I end up giving this book a rating of 4, though, because anything that gets a 5 has to be as good as Salvatore's "Servant of the Shard" and "The Thousand Orcs" is not quite at that level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2