Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Thousand Orcs (Hunter's Blades #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    First Book Read by Salvatore

    Before I read this book, I was getting into reading and all the books I was reading were from the DragonLance series. I went to a book store on day and I looked at 'The Thousand Orcs.' I thought, 'Wow. This looks like a cool book.' Instead, I ended up getting 'The War of Souls Ttilogy.' (DragonLance Books) A month later, I bought the book and I really liked it. I loved the action and the unique characters R.A. Salvatore created. I like the idea of making a GOOD Dark Elf. Thought I really didn't understand how he talked about the past in his books. That's ok though. The villans he created were so well described that it was unbelieveable. R.A. Salvatore is a great author. I'm so glad that I discovered him and I'll be buying more of his books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Awesome book

    I read tons of fantasy , so , naturally I am a critic, but this on lands in the top fifteen books I've ever read. Salvatore does a good job of creating intense imagery and describing the characters for readers not familiar to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Another fantastic R A Salvatore book!

    I have read all of the R A Salvatore books in the Forgotten Realms series featuring Drizzt Do'Urden. I have read them in order and each time I finish a book, I always make sure that I have the next book in the saga ready and waiting in my Nook so I can pick right up where the other story left off. "The Thousand Orcs" is another masterpiece of edge-of-your-seat storytelling that is for me another world that I can go to and forget about my problems in this world. It is a great way for me to relax and I love the fact that there are so many books in the series that I have read many, many of them, but there are still lots and lots for me to read. This book will definitely not disappoint you if you are a fan of Drizzt Do'Urden and the Companions of the Hall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    One of my favorite characters in literature.

    One of my favorite characters in literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    KRISSR Kris Rohn u suck. GO SALVATORE!

    Loser

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    I didn't like fantasy until I met Drizzt.

    This book was the first that I had read in the series. My little sis got the book because the cover looked cool, and I refused to read it after scolding her for as much. Glad I eventually read it though!!! The new Lockwood artwork is great, but R. A. Salvatore's tallent is unparalleled. This was the first book in a long time that I had a hard time putting down. The world is so rich and the characters so enjoyable that I had no choice but to start the series at book one! (Icewind Dale Trilogy first, followed by the Dark Elf Trilogy).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The first is usually the best but....

    You know how usually the first edition (the original) is the best? Well, R.A. Salvatore just gets better and better in this trilogy! I have the first two books in hardcover and it is so awesome as until now I've NEVER had to slam a book shut because of a climax in a story!! Drizzt, a character I've only heard of, but now I know HIM!! He is by far one of the BEST dark heroes, his happiness, sadness, pain, secrets, love and unknowing path is just so compelling you want to wish for death for him, but shout for joy when he battles. R.A. paints a visual that is just awe-inspiring at every turn you actually FEEL that YOU are there! The cover of this book is WHAT you WILL be experiencing in this book. I am usually mislead by covers (orcs, dragons, dwarves, etc), but this is 100% ACTION! DRAMA. Story-weaving good enough for a rainy night, sleep-over or campfire tale. I recommend this book, not the triology, because once read this book, the trilogy you will buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    My thoughts on the book thousand orcs

    This book is a really good book there's a lot of action to keep your attention once agian R.A.Salvatore shows his genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    too good

    Tje series of the forgotten realms will have you on the edge if your seat. If you like fantastic books about battles,honor,courage,and heroism then these series of boosk are for you.They just keep getting better and better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Outstanding Book!

    I recommend this book to people who like science fiction. It is action packed, and it is filled with orcs, elves, dwarves and other exciting mythical creatures. Once you start reading this book, you won't want to put it down, and I don't like to read! When you first read this book, you will probably relate it to the book 'Lord of the Rings', but I think it is even more exciting. I can't wait to read the next book by R.A.Salvatore, 'The Lone Drow'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    This is where Drizzt (R.A. Salvatore) entered my world!!

    This was the first book I have read of R.A. Salvatore and ever since then I have purchased the paperback and hardcover of this particular series. such a fan (of Drizzt) even tattooing a slightly altered version of the swords on my back. (still in production) Awesome and a great read. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Salvatore just keeps getting better

    After reading all of his Drizzt series once and then going back through them, I find that Salvatore's books are just getting better and better and 'The Thousand Orcs' is certainly no exception. I even find myself loving the new characters that he adds. If you loved The Dark Elf Trilogy and Icewind Dale, this is one more book and series that you can't pass up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Best book

    This book is the greatest book i've ever read of R.A. Salvatore's books in the 3 years of reading. If you like dark places and Chaotic people, this is a book you will enjoy plus The Dark Elf Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Better than expected

    Well, I must say that after countless Dragonlance books and the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I didn't believe critics and friends when they said that this series was full of action. I just get so tired of a book being called, action packed and it saying, 'THEY FOUGHT FOR A WHILE' and that being a battle. Salvatore takes you into the battle so you can see exactly what he wants you to see. He leaves room for imagination, but you actually feel the battle crawl along as if you are defending Shallows, and you wonder if the endless flood of orcs will cease their relentless drive. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    Terrifically Descriptive Battles!

    I believe this book, starring my favorite characters, Drizzt Do'Urden and his friends, to be R.A. Salvatore's best book yet. I can't wait to finish reading the rest of The Hunter's Blades Trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    The Thousand Orcs

    This is my favorite Forgotten Realms book as well as the rest of the trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    Wow

    This book made me go back to when Drizzt was born in Menzoberranzan (The legacy of the drow). I love the intrigue and the passion of blood. I compare Salvatore's books with sex...you can't just get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    This book is so AWSOME

    this book is awsome(oops alredy said that)just like with all of his other books Salvatore did a wonderful job I cant wait to read the next one. I even took it from my dad so that i could read it first(it takes him a month to read one book,Sorry dad)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Great from beginning to end

    I love reading fantasy books such as the thousand orcs. I got started with some of Tolkien, which are truely the best fantasy of all time, but Salvatore definately ranks up there. This was the first book of his I read. I would deffinately recomend it. This book had many memorible charactures, and intence battles. Its one of thoes books you dont want to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Awsome Book

    This is an awsome book about R.A. Salvatore's signiture dark elf ranger,Drizzt Do'Hurden, and his friends.They're in the path of destruction when a band of blood-thirsty orcs comes from The Spine of the World.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7