Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: Servant of the Shard (Sellswords #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite characters in my favorite R.A. book so far

    Artemis Entreri and Jarlaxle became beloved villains to me quickly during the legend of Drizzt series. As I continued through it, I began to anticipate reading this book, and got very excited. For a book to still be amazing with that much hype, which I put on it, is rare. This story was all that I had hoped for and more. If you like either of the main characters, or even just enjoy R.A.'s writing, this book will be great for your collection. I can easily and honestly put this as a top ten book that I highly recommend no matter your feeling on Artemis and Jarlaxle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Artemis, Jarlaxle, Crenshinibon, rogue rogues...

    Artemis, Jarlaxle, Crenshinibon, rogue rogues and a city of cutthroats. This is what you get here. Mystery, treachery greed and chaos lead the way. No one seems to be the "good guy" in this series. Yes, that is Cadderly on the cover, he plays a major part in a portion of the book. Every one is an ally and an enemy equally. My favorite Salvatore book, save for possibly The Silent Blade. Recommend all Salvatore Drizzt or Jarlaxle books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Servant of the Shard, Paths of Darkness, Book 3

    Artemis Entreri and Jarlaxle are at odds. Jarlaxle is in possession of Crenshinibon and quickly begins to make some very serious mistakes. Jarlaxle is partnered with the drow Kimmuriel and Rai-guy. There is a four way battle at all times. Once Entreri is able to take possesion of Charon's Claw, things take on a completely different turn. Is Entreri able to destroy the Crystal Shard. Will Jarlaxle betray Artemis Entreri in order to take Crenshinibon back? Will Kimmuriel and Rai-guy finally take control on the surface in Calimport, and over throw the Matron Mothers, to rule Menzoberranzan? Will the Crystal Shard be destroyed for good?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Second Main

    'Green' Country

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Amaizng

    Wat is the next book in this sieries? Did it come out yet? Answer quickly plz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Y

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Fantastic !

    Kept me hanging on. Read the book in 3 days.
    Couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    good book ug

    this is an awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    The begining of the DYNAMIC DUO OF DOOM!!!

    Artemis and Jarlaxle, duo masterminds from two different worlds. Similar to the spectrum difference of War and Peace-Love and Hate-North and South-East and West-Day and Night, get it? If not read the book. Even if Drzzt isn't in this one it still fills that all important gap to when he is in the next one. Keep it coming with the Dynamic Duo of Doom. Yeah, a cheesy name for them but some how it seems to fit their persona's. R.A. with these two your job just got more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    No Drizzt? No Problem!

    When I was in the middle of reading 'The Kingless Land' by Ed Greenwood, I had to get another book. I don't want to bad mouth his book. I'm sure he's a good author. I liked how R.A. made a book mainly about Artemis and Jarlaxle. I liked the whole concept about having those two characters being companions together. Artemis Entreri is probably THE most interesting fantasy character I've ever read about. He's unpredictable. You never know what he's going to do. R.A. makes the fight scene at the end of the book really well described. This is a good book made by R.A. and it takes a break of Drizzt, Regis, Wulfgar, Bruenor, and Catti-brie. Good fantasy novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    This is probably my favorite book of his

    Okay, so the Drizzt books were good, great, probably epic, but this book takes it another step. There are no good guys. None. We are led to sympathyze with Artemis, but he is just as evil as everyone else. Maybe. Through Salvatores excellent characterization we discover (at least partially) the true nature and motivation behind Jarlaxle as well, and he shares the traits of Entreri. Anywho, both of the characters kick butt, everyone's butt, and are generally awesome. Just buy it. It is good, better if you like stealth and magic. It's like his other books but with a slightly darker edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    more a 4 1/2 stars fantasy

    In Calimport, Artemis Entreri heads the powerful House Basadoni, but is concerned that his secret sponsor Jarlaxle the drow is increasingly descending under the control of Crenshinibon, the Crystal Shard. If Jarlaxle falls, he will be replaced by one of his second in command either Kimmuriel or Rai-guy both of whom hate Entreri and will remove him from leadership. --- Though visibly worried that others notice that the ice cold killer seems almost frightened, Entreri refuses to sit idly by and watch his plans vanish and perhaps even his life. He concludes that he must insure that his surreptitious mentor remains in charge of the drow. To do that, he must evade the number two drows and Jarlaxle while finding a way to neutralize the Crenshinibon¿s control over his superior. However, to attempt this means risking the chance he too could become a SERVANT OF THE SHARD, a fate worse than death, but perhaps better then listening to Cadderly and Danica preach. --- The key players in the power struggle make for a strong Forgotten Realms fantasy as each competes for power. Thus Enreri, a few of his closest associates and the three head Drows come across as fully developed characters that turn SERVANT OF THE SHARD into a winning tale. Interestingly the fast-paced novel slows down a bit when the morally correct Cadderly and his wife spout their pious ramblings that enable them to claim God¿s will while torturing their enemy. Readers will appreciate this fine reprint of Book 1 of the Sellswords series in which the ¿bad¿ dudes win out as complete characters over the shallow ¿good¿ guys similar to the first Star Wars movie with Darth or Solo vs. Luke). --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    My Favourite Book so far...

    since I picked up 'Servant of the Shard' first before any other RA Salvatore books, I recommend this book the best yet. In here, we learn more about Artemis Entreri than the merciless assassin we thought he was. Jarlaxle fared well in this book as well, though I don't think as much as Entreri. In here, Entreri forms an intimate bond with Dwahvel of Copper Ante, following up after he killed her cousin Dondon in 'Silent Blade'. Dwahvel hold a firm place in this book as Entreri's informant and personal friend. I just so love to skip all the Sharlotta-Kimmuriel-Rai-guy parts just to get to those Entreri-Dwahvel talks! Kimmuriel and Rai-guy are back and kicking once more. With cool psionicist spells (blowing up Morik's orb with merely a thought) and wizard casting (fireballs and magic missiles, anyone?), the two drow surely are the real deal in this book than 'Silent Blade'. Jarlaxle has a surprising twist at the end as..well, I'm not spoiling the surprise. And other than being cunning and flamboyant, Jarlaxle Baenre also proves to be the comic relief in the story (Gent Eman Briar's inn) and, surprisingly, a good companion to Entreri. I have little to say of Sharlotta except that she's real cunning and a big time two-timer. Cadderly and Danica (along with Pikel and ivan) proves to be the protogonists in this story, and, sadly, overshadwoed more than once by Entreri and Jarlaxle. But good characters, and sometimes donate to the evergrowing pile of comic reliefs.] Ber'inyon also prove to be quite efficient in the tale, as Kimmuriel and Rai-guy's sword-wielding ally. Sad that Entreri defeated him, Also, Yhashririk (or how you spell that) the mind-flayer as Kimmuriel's ally as well. Finally, Artemis Entreri. He becomes more deadly and mysterious in here, but also (surprises, surprises) forgiving and merciful (when he spared Morik's life instead of following orders and killing him?) We learn more of him in here, and as usual, questions about his past pops up : how does he learn how to read and write ? (his letter to Dwahvel) Why does he hate priests? Why does he distrusts Danica so much? Are there specific reasons linking to his past for his mind-flayer phobia? Also, he acquires a powerful sword called Charon's Claw, which can trail darkness and ashes, and also disguise its wielder in the dark as some sort of sceptre in infravision (when Domo saw him as a ghost in his ratman form?). Good book, I say. SEL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Jarlaxle kicks @$$

    This is by far my favorite of Salvatore's books, I hope Salvatore will do another Jarlaxle/Entreri novel again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Amazing!

    wow, and i always thought it couldnt be any better than reading of the companions of the hall. How wrong i was. When Jarlaxle and Artemis team up the book becomes very suprising... Jarlaxle is almost in my opinion better than Drizzt... I highly recommend reading this book and pretty much any of the DRizzt's books, but this is definatley a winner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Was not a fan of Fantasy, but now am.

    From someone who's never read much Fantasy, or any at all, I can honestly recommend this book to anyone interested in a good read, or in the genre itself. I stumbled across this book one day online, and felt the need to read it. I just finished it on 1/12/03 and the story Salvatore told was quite captivating. He, unlike many authors, can actually keep your attention from start to finish. His characters, Entreri, Jarlaxle, and so on all were rich with details about them. If you've never read any book by this author, you should, without a doubt, pick up a copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Artemis and Jaraxle make a great team!

    This book is mainly focusing on Artemis Enteri and Jaraxle. There are some great battle scenes, villianry, heroism, suprises, especially at the end! If you loved reading about Artemis and Jaraxle in the authors previous books and thirsted for more, this is a must read then. Cadderly and his bunch also make a apperance in this book... Artemis and Danica's reaction to each other is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    For those who love D&D!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it showed much more insight into Jarlaxle as well as Entreri. Jarlaxle is a character you could easily fall in love with because he is such a 'gentleman rogue'. Entreri also shows a surprising depth within him. Well written and I felt impossible to put down. I look forward to learning more about both characters in future books. (Hint for Mr. Salvatore...)I am also hoping that Mr. Salvatore will do a book on Zaknafien whom I did fall in love with while reading 'Homeland'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    the life of an assassin

    First off, as a huge RA Salvatore fan (like countless others), my rating may or may not be biased. Anyway, for any fans of his work, especially fans of Drizzt and the other Companions of the Hall, reading a book solely about Artemis Entreri should be a very interesting experience. Even if you hated Entreri's guts--as I did in the Icewind Dale Trilogy--before, you will find new respect for him in Servant of the Shard. Granted, this is because Salvatore has evolved Entreri over the course of his novels, and because Entreri has learned much, but that very process of evolution is what makes Entreri as cool as Drizzt and Cadderly. Hopefully, you'll revel in his successes and empathize with his hardships as much as I did. He is now my favorite Realms character, tied with Drizzt for that position, and I hope that Mr. Salvatore ever gets the time to write even a little more about Entreri.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Wonderful

    Ive always loved the Drizzt series, and this book is no ecxeption. It takes the spotlight off of Drizzt and co. for a while and focuses on Jarlaxle and Entrerei, with Cadderly mixed in there as well. The last line is a perfect cliffhanger, revealing just enough about Jarlaxle to satisy you while wanting to know more. Highly reccomended for Salvatore fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4