Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: The Spine of the World (Legend of Drizzt #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Good series

    Great fantasy story I like that there are many books abou the same characters. Wish the books were a littl longer. I like the chapter were dritzz tells us his feelings giving the stories a real feeling and a better understanding of morality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Best book ever

    Unkown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great Writer

    Keep up the good work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Really good

    RAS always wriyes amazingly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Excelent

    Salvatore has surely out done himself this time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Spine of the World, Paths of Darkness, Book 2

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice

    I loved this book.
    R. A. Salvatore is great at character progression.
    From the beginning you are very angry with Wulfgar, and by the end, you aren't. It's great to see that his Errtu problems are resolved as well, and you leave off thinking that it can't get any better... it was nice to see Salvatore take off from the action and take on something deeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story-lines that catch you completely off-guard.

    I really was worried after I started this book. I thought I was going to have to labor through, but I held fast my opinion of the author. I gave it a fair chance, and with that it blew me away. Both story-lines sucked me in to the point that I could not put this one down. Wulfgar finally showed depth and development. Morik was a great side-kick, as well as friend to Wulfgar. Drizzt's interludes kept him fresh on the mind even if absent from the stories. Very different, yet very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    A Good Character Development

    Alright, some people will give the book bad ratings because they think it's boring but I don't think that's the case. I think the book is an important story to be told in relation to Wulfgar's development as a Character. He is Healing in this book and if you respect that then you will enjoy this book in the end. Just don't read this book first if you are new to the Drizzt series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    One of my favorites!

    This book can only be described with one word: GREAT This is tied with the Sea of Swords for my favorite in the Paths of Darkness Trilogy. I truly enjoyed reading this book and could not bring myself to put it down. It kept me flipping through the pages viciously wanting to read more about the torments that occured in Wulfgar's mind. Also, the character of Morik the rogue is very well done. For some odd reason, i found the crazy story about Meralda and Lord Feringal quite interesting. The story has a well balanced beginning as well as a charming ending. I fully recommend this book if you are into reading fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    Different...But Excellent.

    Sure this book was different from what I expected. But different isn't always bad. Yes, I am a little disappointed by the lack of a certain dark elf, but I understand the reasoning. The tale of Wulfgar's journey of self-discovery and subsequent redemption is much too large and profound to be contained as a mere side story to another one of RA Salvatore's books. If he had attempted to relay it to us in a way that could be condensed into a few chapters, we as readers would find it unbelievable and ultimately disappointing. Therefore, this book was a necessary transition. The change of pace didn't leave me turning pages as quickly as some of his other books, but I still managed to plow through it in two days (admittedly more to find out the end and get to the next book more than any real excitement). At first I was confused by the side story of Meralda, but I held faith that their stories would eventually intersect and everything would become clear. For a brief moment (out of impatience) I wondered why Mr. Salvatore could not have just given us a brief summary of her background the first time she met Wulfgar. Then I realized that if he had done that, no one would have any sympathy for her, nor could we truly understand the depth and complexity of her character and the predicament she found herself in. Salvatore does everything for a reason. All in all, it's a very good book. I was pleasantly surprised by the twist at the end and can't wait until the next book! I urge everyone to give it a chance and to read it all the way through before passing judgment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    The Dispair and the Darkness

    Into the darkness of Wulfgar's mind. The barbarian of Icewind Dale endured much at the hands of his torturer, and now that he is back, has become a brooding man full of despair and anger. Wouldn't you be after years of torture? A great read, bringing you into the thoughts of madness and hopelessness. For anyone who lives the dark side of characters, this is for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Mr. Salvatore has redeemed himself

    After "Silent Blade" which in my opinion was terrible, i wasn't sure what to expect out of this book. i was starting to think that Mr. Salvatore had lost his touch, but i was wrong. "Spine of the World" was awesome. i finished it in 2 days because i just couldn't put it down. i can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2002

    Utopian

    This book got me thinking. I'm looking at it right now, and judging by the cover, I would say that Wulfgar might be going through a troubled time in this book. My presumtion was correct. Wulfgar, in the book, was going through troubled times in the book. This book was great, it had everything, action, fighting, torture, excitement, love, jealousy and more. All in all it was a great book and it is worth readin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2001

    A change of pace, but not unwelcome.

    This was the first of Salvatore's books that didn't have Drizzt in it, so at first I was a bit skeptical. I couldn't see where the story was going, or why it kept cutting back to the tale of Meralda and Lord Feringal. I should have had faith, for even though there may not have been quite the same style of fights, and not as many at that, the story was very touching. I actually disliked Wulfgar's character for quite some time. It became hard to feel sorry for him, even though my wife kept pointing out how much he'd been through. In the end, he really redeemed himself in my eyes. Maybe he'll being ready to join the Heroes of the Hall...once he finds Aegis-fang. In the end, it's a great read, as are all of Salvatore's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    a reviewer

    it was a good book, but the love story wasnt my type of thing. i also missed drizzt from the other books, but salvatore did well with the charachters he used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    From what i know.......i loved it!

    Ok this is my First Salvatore book i'v read and from what i know i thought it was great!. My friend Steven got me in to these books with his storyies od Drizzit and the gang but when i open the book and there was no Drizzit i was somewhat shocked. I was happy to see that the Barbarian Wulfgar was in this and Salvatore seemed to substitute for Drizzit with a Rouge named Morik. From what i'v heard all of Salvatores books didn't really have much to with a 'love' side story. This was somewhat of a dissapointment towards me for i far more enjoyed reading about Wulfgar and Morik. At first the whole Meralda Fernigal thing didn't make any sense but towards to book it all fell into place. I enjoyed reading this book very much and will continue to read all of Salvatore's books and i know i will love each and every one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2000

    Salvatore reaches another level

    I was very pleased as I read this next episode in the tales of the Heros of Icewind Dale. Salvatore was able to clearly and openly show us the turmoil and strife that Wulfgar is suffering through. Salvatore passed up several easy and cliche oppurtunities to bring our hero back into the fold, which I enjoyed. Also the observations of man's complex dance with justice and cruelty were well thought out and could easily lead to some deep discussions. It also contains the one of a kind descriptions of battle that only Salvatore can write. A must read for any fans of the saga, and the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    A New Hero

    To those who have read mostly every other one of R.A. Salvatore's books, I can understand why you're not going to like this one. Obviously, Salvatore is experimenting with new types of styles for his series. Let him do that. Everybody is so used to loving Drizzt and the gang that they get mad when they don't see them. I think this book was written very, very well, considering its purpose. Wulfgar has changed dramatically, and this could be his call to fame. He has proved how interesting he could be when left alone with only a mere rogue. Now that his hammer is lost, he now has something to quest for. And then there is Morik. Morik is a new one to me, but I like his character. Like in reality, one cannot achieve fame without earning it. Morik has learned this, and I predict that in future books, he will become quite a character. Those who have read many recent Salvatore books, will not like the side-story love affair. Those new to the books, will love it. I personally preferred to read about Wulfgar than about Meralda, but that doesn't mean I didn't enjoy Meralda's story. It was somewhat entertaining on its own. In the end, it all added up beautifully. I hope you buy this book and read it. It really was a work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5