Customer Reviews for

Forgotten Realms: Unclean (Haunted Lands #1)

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED THIS SERIES. I can't say more than that.

This series starts off a little strange and you can't really see where they are going with all of this but as you progress, you see that the first book was the set up for a HUGE climax. You need to treat each book as a "Chapter" and when you hit the end, you will either...
This series starts off a little strange and you can't really see where they are going with all of this but as you progress, you see that the first book was the set up for a HUGE climax. You need to treat each book as a "Chapter" and when you hit the end, you will either absolutely love it or find it distasteful but completely in line with the mores and values of the Drow.

I got 3 books in and tried to read R.A. Salvatore's The Ghost King (Transitions Series #3) and it paled in comparison to this series. I had to stop reading it after only one chapter because I couldn't take the sugar and spice.

Be warned, once you take up The War of the Spider Queen, you may not be able to go back to the morality and sappy innocence of Drizzt's story lines.

I'm not even going to attempt to pick up Mr. Salvatore's books until I can get the Underdark and the Demon Web Pits out of my mind.

I LOVED this series!

posted by ShojoBakunyu on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good story, missing something.

This book is an all around good story. It takes you into a world of chaos (the Drow), However, I believe it is missing a key facet. I'd have to say that I bought this book because Homeland is probably one of my favorite books. However, in this book, the aspect that is m...
This book is an all around good story. It takes you into a world of chaos (the Drow), However, I believe it is missing a key facet. I'd have to say that I bought this book because Homeland is probably one of my favorite books. However, in this book, the aspect that is missing is the hero, someone to root for. I find my self wondering if I should root for the Drow or the lesser creatures.

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    Great Story, but a bit confusing

    This is a great series and unlike other Heroic Fantasy Novels, all of the characters in these books are evil, which keeps things interesting. At any moment, any one of the characters can backstab any of the other characters. The story is good and the book is well written, but a lot of characters are introduced early on and it does get a little bit confusing. If you can keep all of the characters and their motivations straight, you will really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Good story, missing something.

    This book is an all around good story. It takes you into a world of chaos (the Drow), However, I believe it is missing a key facet. I'd have to say that I bought this book because Homeland is probably one of my favorite books. However, in this book, the aspect that is missing is the hero, someone to root for. I find my self wondering if I should root for the Drow or the lesser creatures.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Mariah

    I walk in, a crutch supporting me. I look around embaressed and then try to walk to a room. I stumble and fall against a wall. "Son of a-" i push myself up and walk to the room, my face redm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    A slight miss, but still hit the target

    In the book, DISSOLUTION, Richard Lee Byers has strayed a little in his depiction of the Drow from the beautiful, deadly and intricate world that RA Salvatore had created. The book is written in a very uneven manner and seems to span from engrossing story-telling to confusing and confounding sentences that don't make sense no matter how often you read them. Richard Lee Byers seems to be preoccupied with the use of words and phases that require a dictionary to understand and having to wonder what a word means in a middle of a reading is very distracting and is detrimental to the overall flow of the story. The book is misleading in the begining with the opening chapter invovling Gromph Baenre and seems to lay him down as a main character in the book that follows, unfortuately he is hardly even an side character for this book and its takes a few chapters to realize that the book is going to focus on primarily Pharaun and Ryld. Fortunately for the overall book, Mr Byers seems to be gain insight into the Drow world as the pages pass and the closing chapters gain in relavance and power as you turn page after page during the battle for Menzoberranzan. I look forward for the follow on book and hope that the transition between the two books and the two authors is completed seamlessly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Meh

    This was the first Forgotten Realms book I've ever read, and I'll admit that yes, it was a little slow-going. However, I kept in mind that it's also the launchboard for a whole subseries dealing witha race I've become thoroughly enchanted with: the Drow. Those interested in the Drow or who have a love of the anti-hero (in the sense that, the heroes are still inherantly evil) might want to look into these books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    the real underdark story

    the drow and the underdark have existed before bob ever wrote a tsr novel, gary gygax and i created a shared world where the underdark was already a part of the d&d legend and so far everyone who has ever written it has had a different perspective than mine so each authors interpertation of events are true to the persective of the underdark dweller tsr is now wizards of the coast but D&D is still Dungeons & Dragons! so write on!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Not the Drow I know

    The world Salvatore created and this one are far from the same. Unlike Salvatore's world of the underdark, this underdark is unusually well lit, candles and fires around every corner. The Drow r kinder, more gentle versions of the evil, chaotic society that i knew. in war of the spider queen, the Drow use candles, longbows, 2 handed great swords, they drink, go to bars, and play chess like games ... a bit uncommon. but the story is a good one, i read the book and liked it, but i hope the next author that tries to pick up where Salvatore left off does his homework. just my $.02

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2