Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten Waltz: A Novel

Average Rating 2.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

What a Treat!

I'm ashamed to admit that I was unfamiliar with this author's work, so reading an advance copy of The Forgotten Waltz was a wonderful introduction to a truly gifted writer. I had the pleasure of hearing Enright speak recently, and her lilting Irish voice comes through i...
I'm ashamed to admit that I was unfamiliar with this author's work, so reading an advance copy of The Forgotten Waltz was a wonderful introduction to a truly gifted writer. I had the pleasure of hearing Enright speak recently, and her lilting Irish voice comes through in her writing, filling this novel with interesting phrases and characters. I consider it a cautionary tale for those who might be tempted to stray from their marriage vows: Gina Moynihan, a thirty-something Dubliner, is seemingly happily married until she meets Sean Vallely. A neighbor of her sister's, she is attracted to him, eventually considering him to be the love of her life. Throughout the story, Enright weaves the pleasures (and perils) of an affair and gives us insight into Gina's relationships with her sister, parents, and husband. I was particularly intrigued by her interaction with Sean's young daughter, Evie. All in all, this was a delightful read, and I highly recommend it. I think book clubs will find a lot to chew on, with fodder for some lively discussion. And I'm eagerly anticipating the arrival of Enright's Man Booker Prize winner, "The Gathering," which I've just ordered!

posted by inparadise on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time or money

The plot of this book was so shallow and boring that it was a torture to read. I forced myself to finish it because I paid money for it. The ending was very disjointed.

posted by RunTotoRun on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    What a Treat!

    I'm ashamed to admit that I was unfamiliar with this author's work, so reading an advance copy of The Forgotten Waltz was a wonderful introduction to a truly gifted writer. I had the pleasure of hearing Enright speak recently, and her lilting Irish voice comes through in her writing, filling this novel with interesting phrases and characters. I consider it a cautionary tale for those who might be tempted to stray from their marriage vows: Gina Moynihan, a thirty-something Dubliner, is seemingly happily married until she meets Sean Vallely. A neighbor of her sister's, she is attracted to him, eventually considering him to be the love of her life. Throughout the story, Enright weaves the pleasures (and perils) of an affair and gives us insight into Gina's relationships with her sister, parents, and husband. I was particularly intrigued by her interaction with Sean's young daughter, Evie. All in all, this was a delightful read, and I highly recommend it. I think book clubs will find a lot to chew on, with fodder for some lively discussion. And I'm eagerly anticipating the arrival of Enright's Man Booker Prize winner, "The Gathering," which I've just ordered!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Don't waste your time or money

    The plot of this book was so shallow and boring that it was a torture to read. I forced myself to finish it because I paid money for it. The ending was very disjointed.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Couldn't get past the first 50 pages. A sad waste of time and m

    Couldn't get past the first 50 pages. A sad waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Yuck

    Did not enjoy. Could not get past the first few chapters. Disjointed and uninteresting content. Doesn't read as the description sounds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I want to read the book that inspired the overview on the inside

    I want to read the book that inspired the overview on the inside flap of this book. That story looks interesting. The actual story in "The Forgotten Waltz" left me wondering "why?".

    I found the main character, Gina, to be lacking in character. We know nothing about who she actually is as she rambles from one topic to another making little sense. In the first 60 page of the book we learn about Gina falling madly in love with the man she ends up marrying and at the same time she finds nothing redeeming about the man she has an affair with, Sean. Even after she has sex with Sean, she has nothing kind to say about him giving us no idea why she would want to have an affair with him.



    The characters are written at a very shallow level, resulting in the reader looking fruitlessly for a reason to care about any of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Great

    This book is awesome. Anne Enright knows how to wrie a story with emotion and feeling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    must need money

    The problem with this book was it really was not very interesting at all ...I kept waiting for something to happen.. The thought hit me that maybe this author wrote this because she needed money, otherwise it was a waste of her for her name.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly good read

    This was a surprising book, and held my interest from the third page on, and then never wavered. It had a good plot, and emotional barriers crashed down throughout the book. I really liked this one. My girlfriend and I were happy with our find. It is a treasure. I hope this author gets recognition she deserves. Also happy with The Chateau - another good author that should get recognition for her story telling, and ability to keep the reader glued from first page until the last surprising ending. Twists, turns and all kinds of unexpected things surfaced in this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Thought provoking

    As the author is from Dublin, I got lost in some of the nuances of the languge, causing confusion at times. However the story itself is age old and universally understood. At times the timeline was difficult to follow but it all seemed to come together near the end where all explanatons were tied to Evie. An insightful and thought provoking read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Painful

    I hated this book and could not finish it

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2