Customer Reviews for

Forks Over Knives--The Cookbook: Over 300 Recipes for Plant-Based Eating All Through the Year

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

**** A true lifesaver - for real

This is like learning a new language. It will take some effort, but the results are truly amazing. The “give” is that you will no longer eat meat, fish, poultry, dairy, or oils – No Moderation - never. The “get” is that your total health will improve – dramatically. ...
This is like learning a new language. It will take some effort, but the results are truly amazing. The “give” is that you will no longer eat meat, fish, poultry, dairy, or oils – No Moderation - never. The “get” is that your total health will improve – dramatically. You will lose weight, your cholesterol will decrease, you will be less likely to develop diabetes, and if you have diabetes you stand a good chance to rid yourself of this terrible disease. Your chances of developing cancers will also be sharply reduced. If you have clogged arteries, which most people do to some extent, this diet will actually help reduce the plaque in those arteries, and the angina that you may be experiencing will lessen, and then be gone. Mine did. Your next blood test will show dramatic positive results that you never thought possible. As of August 7, 2012 my total cholesterol is 106, and it had been as high as 294. I have also lost 22 pounds over five months, but I regard that as a nice byproduct of my original goal of becoming heart healthy.

The toughest thing about adopting this new nutritional plan is setting aside your own stubbornness and ignorance. It was for me. To assist your transformation I highly recommend viewing the 2011 documentary Forks over Knives ( available on DVE) directed by Lee Fulkerson and reading the companion book Forks Over Knives. Must reading also includes Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell B. Esselstyn, The China Study by T.Colin Cambbell and Thomas M. Campbell, and Super Immunity by Joel Fuhrman. Each of these books will help you rethink your relationship with food, and your understanding of the chemistry of foods and the real unseen effects that they have inside your body. Your bathroom scale and mirror can only give you an incomplete picture of your true health. Learning this new nutritional language takes very little time but can be fun and will be enlightening, and your results will be well worth your effort. If all Americans ate this way there would be no health crisis.

Do yourself a favor. What have you got to lose? Poor health. What have you got to gain? Good health.

posted by 10185349 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I was looking for a user-friendly plant-based cookbook and THIS

I was looking for a user-friendly plant-based cookbook and THIS IS IT! my only complaint is that none of the recipes show numbers on calories, fat, fiber, sugar, protein, cholesterol etc. I am increasing my fiber intake and working on lowering my cholesterol and these ...
I was looking for a user-friendly plant-based cookbook and THIS IS IT! my only complaint is that none of the recipes show numbers on calories, fat, fiber, sugar, protein, cholesterol etc. I am increasing my fiber intake and working on lowering my cholesterol and these recipes don't give me the detail I need. I do intend to make many of the recipes. Just wish the authors could have taken one extra step and given consumers this basic info. Leslie McFadden

posted by LMcF on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    **** A true lifesaver - for real

    This is like learning a new language. It will take some effort, but the results are truly amazing. The “give” is that you will no longer eat meat, fish, poultry, dairy, or oils – No Moderation - never. The “get” is that your total health will improve – dramatically. You will lose weight, your cholesterol will decrease, you will be less likely to develop diabetes, and if you have diabetes you stand a good chance to rid yourself of this terrible disease. Your chances of developing cancers will also be sharply reduced. If you have clogged arteries, which most people do to some extent, this diet will actually help reduce the plaque in those arteries, and the angina that you may be experiencing will lessen, and then be gone. Mine did. Your next blood test will show dramatic positive results that you never thought possible. As of August 7, 2012 my total cholesterol is 106, and it had been as high as 294. I have also lost 22 pounds over five months, but I regard that as a nice byproduct of my original goal of becoming heart healthy.

    The toughest thing about adopting this new nutritional plan is setting aside your own stubbornness and ignorance. It was for me. To assist your transformation I highly recommend viewing the 2011 documentary Forks over Knives ( available on DVE) directed by Lee Fulkerson and reading the companion book Forks Over Knives. Must reading also includes Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell B. Esselstyn, The China Study by T.Colin Cambbell and Thomas M. Campbell, and Super Immunity by Joel Fuhrman. Each of these books will help you rethink your relationship with food, and your understanding of the chemistry of foods and the real unseen effects that they have inside your body. Your bathroom scale and mirror can only give you an incomplete picture of your true health. Learning this new nutritional language takes very little time but can be fun and will be enlightening, and your results will be well worth your effort. If all Americans ate this way there would be no health crisis.

    Do yourself a favor. What have you got to lose? Poor health. What have you got to gain? Good health.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    I have quite a collection of vegetarian/vegan cookbooks. This o

    I have quite a collection of vegetarian/vegan cookbooks. This one is BY FAR the BEST one. Every single recipe I have tried has been a true winner. The recipes are easy to follow and use ingredients that I usually have right on hand. Nothing exotic here if you have been used to lots of fruits/vegetable meals. The desserts are great too! I made the corn muffins with the lentil chili last night and it was a huge hit with everyone. Since eating this way, my husband lost 42 pounds, I lost 10 that I didn't need to lose, both of our cholesterol readings went way, way down and our blood pressure is perfect. We are both in our 50's so that is super good. We plan to eat this way the rest of our lives and live healthy for 100+ years. Good luck to all of you!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    Whether you've seen the film or not, whether you're a vegetarian/vegan or not, I highly recommend this cookbook. Great tasty recipes that work!

    I'm a fan of the film, so that drew me in. What sold me on the book was the desserts section by my favorite vegan chef/cookbook author - Isa Chandra Moskowitz. But once I got it home and started cooking - I was incredibly happy with this book. I buy a lot of cookbooks and I buy a lot of vegan cookbooks. Once I actually start cooking from them - sometimes I'm happy, sometimes disappointed, and sometimes "meh." The recipes in this book are definitely making me happy!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Excellent !!!

    I purchased this book because I have diabetes and cancer. It is imperative that I change my diet to a more healthy way of eating. This book has not been a disappointment. The recipes are easy to follow and the ingredients are easy to find in stores. Even a steak and potato person, like myself, find these recipes tasty. I cannot give it a higher recommendation.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    This is a great cookbook. I'm diabetic and decided to try the "vegan" diet - stumbled upon Forks Over Knives (plant based way of eating). I love it! Turns out I really can give up cheese, meat and eggs with no problems at all. The only thing I don't like about this book is the lacking nutritional information. I rely somewhat on carbs/fiber, etc information and this book does not include that. Overall, though, its a great cookbook.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    2 years ago I completely changed my diet to plant-based nutritio

    2 years ago I completely changed my diet to plant-based nutrition, lost 40 pounds with no measuring of ingredients or portion control, lowered my cholesterol and blood sugar, and conquered type 2 diabetes. I also eliminated sleep apnea and recurring problems with irritable bowel syndrome. I have maintained the weightloss with no extraordinary measures, and brought happy tears to the eyes of my general physician, cardiologist and pulmonologist. Forks Over Knives helped me to stop killing myself with food. It is no less than a miracle that every person can perform for themselves with the help of these great recipes.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    For health reasons I am now a vegan. The change is mind bogglin

    For health reasons I am now a vegan. The change is mind boggling in the beginning, just trying to think how to prepare meals. If I could only own one vegan cookbook, it would be this one. I highly recommend any newbie starting this this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I was looking for a user-friendly plant-based cookbook and THIS

    I was looking for a user-friendly plant-based cookbook and THIS IS IT! my only complaint is that none of the recipes show numbers on calories, fat, fiber, sugar, protein, cholesterol etc. I am increasing my fiber intake and working on lowering my cholesterol and these recipes don't give me the detail I need. I do intend to make many of the recipes. Just wish the authors could have taken one extra step and given consumers this basic info. Leslie McFadden

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    excellent

    easy to follow recipes and photos are very helpful. I can see the photos and decide which recipes to impress my friends with and later tell them they were eating vegan!

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    The start of a new way of life, Plant based. Highly recommended

    This is the first of a line of cookbooks and a constant sourcebook for great recipes. I have not been disappointed with any of the recipes yet. I have tried more than ten, and use it very often. A Great for your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    River

    River

    0 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2