BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Forrest Gump

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatestv One of the greatest books ever

The book is amazing. It has a good story that will keep you glued to the book. Its not exactly like the movie but it has the same charaters and some of the same stuff but changed up a bit. If you want a good funny amazing book this it

posted by 9034190 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I liked the movie; it was entertaining, it captured a range of e

I liked the movie; it was entertaining, it captured a range of experiences and emotions. Good movie, great story! Usually, I find the book to be better, so I decided to read the book. The book was not like the movie at all! The book was terribly silly. This is one of th...
I liked the movie; it was entertaining, it captured a range of experiences and emotions. Good movie, great story! Usually, I find the book to be better, so I decided to read the book. The book was not like the movie at all! The book was terribly silly. This is one of the few times where I beleive the movie is way better than the book

posted by CoffeeGrl on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    One of the greatestv One of the greatest books ever

    The book is amazing. It has a good story that will keep you glued to the book. Its not exactly like the movie but it has the same charaters and some of the same stuff but changed up a bit. If you want a good funny amazing book this it

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    J

    Mama always told me life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what youll get

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    How a regular customer feels about this book

    Now, I don't pretend to be some great philosopher or thinker. I don't consider myself as cool, or legit, or anything spectacular. Keeping this in mind, I have to tell any and all who read this review that if you want a good story, hit the buy button on this book. It tells the story of a simple idiot living a truly extraordinary life in the later half of the 1900's. The veiwpoint, while a little hard to grasp (on account of spelling) is origional and well represented. And, while some of the bigger muckety-muck's in reviews might hate on this story for unreality, I want you to keep in mind that there is more than just one way to tell a story, and throw some life-lessons in with it. I feel this writer has done so in a truly fantastic, if peculiar, way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Anonomous

    RUN FORREST RUN!!! I luv that part!!! Except there's a typo, Forrest Gump had an IQ of 75 not 70. Here are my favorite parts.
    RUN FORREST RUN!!
    GUMP WHATS UR PURPOSE IN THE ARMY??!! TO DO WHATEVER U TELL ME TO DRILL SARGENT!!GODDAMN IT GUMP UR A GENIUSS U MUST HAVE AN IQ OF 160 U R GODDAMN GIVTED PRIVATE GUMP
    Mama always told me life is like a box of chocolates, u never know what ur gonna get
    When racoons tried to get into our back porch Mama chased them off with a broom.
    Those must be comfortable shoes. My feet hurt
    Congratulations how does it feel to be an all american? I gotta pee.
    *Bubba names a few shrimp foods* Shrimp sandwich....that's about it
    GUMP WHY DID U PUT THAT TOGETHER SO QUICKLY? U TOLD ME TO DRILL SARGENT
    Ur my girl. Ill always be ur girl

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Run,Forest,Run!

    I cant wait for this book to come out for nook Has anyone here been to Bubba Gump Shrimp? Its in Manhattan near time square its completly forest gump theamed and is pretty good While your in time square vist m and m world they have an m and m machine that tells u what m and m u are Well have fun, From some random person who loves N.Y.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Bright Star

    Forrest Gump is a retard who goes on an adventure. While he went to school, he saw Jenny Curran he liked her because she treated him like he was normal. Unlike bullies who made fun of him and called him names. When he grows up he becomes a space man, a wrestler, a chess player, a football player and an army soldier. Forrest always can find the good in everything. Now he¿s not the sharpest tool in the shed, but he can be bright enough to get problems fixed. What I liked about this book is it never gets boring and it¿s easy to understand. What I disliked about this book is that this book has a lot of misspellings and you could get confused and that¿s it. I do not have many dislikes, it¿s a great book. I would recommend this book to people who like action books but like a little humor sometimes. This is my favorite book I have ever read and I even think it is better than the movie and I love the movie. It is an intense story that always keeps you guessing and craving for more and its storyline is amazing. It makes you think and shows you that everyone is unique in a special way. I give this book two thumbs up.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Book first, then movie

    I read the book first and was disappointed with the movie. Loved the book. Sending a copy to my cousin. She never saw the movie.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    Completely different form the movie

    i enjoy reading the book versions of movies that i like ....so i bought this one and let me tell you it is nothing like the movie, but it was still a great book. i would definately recomend this book to anyone who likes to read...if you have seen the movie or not it is a great read, i couldnt put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    RADAR...08/30/2013...IT IS DIFFERENT...

    I liked this book, but I loved the movie...It was as if the book,
    FORREST GUMP, was in an alternate universe...Some of the
    Situations FORREST GUMP was in were close, but not really...
    I usually like it when the film stays true to the book...
    ...NOT THIS TIME.....RADAR.....08/30/2013.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    PRETTY GOOD

    I love it just the way it is

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    luv the movie!!!!

    i luv the movie amd i bet i will love this book!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    A great review

    A five star book! I love the book and movie! My favorite phrase is "Run Forrest, Run!!!" It is so worth the money if you ask me! The people who say it is bad dont know a good book when you read one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Lolz

    Life is like a box of chocolates it doesnt last very long fo fat ppl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Berry.burkheimer@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Fantastic book, great work!

    LOVE the movie a, can't wait till i read the book!!!! He is such a sweet guy and i love the storyline, amazing job. Words can't even explian it. Always makes me cry;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I think this is a great book for the young and older readers out

    I think this is a great book for the young and older readers out there its very inspiring and has very funny moments to keep you laughing chapter after chapter again. Also i highly recommed this book to thoes who are intrested in learning a little bit about what the past was like. in conclusion i thought this a great book and would read it again again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    A fun, strange tale

    WARNING: It's not exactly like the movie. As is usually true, the book is *much* better.

    This is a story of being an "average" American in the 1950s through 1980s. The times were unique, and Forrest's eyes are a different way to view those times. The book is funny, irreverant, and takes Forrest to extremes to help us laugh at ourselves.

    You'll never look at the world quite the same way after you've seen it through Forrest's eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    RUN FOREST RUN

    Lol famoise line good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3