Customer Reviews for

Forsaken By Shadow

Average Rating 3.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Romance + Great Action

Cade Shepherd is on top of the world as this year's Ultimate Fighting Champion. He doesn't even remember his life as Gage Dempsey, a Shadow Walker with the ability to magically transport himself from shadow to shadow. In fact, he can't remember anything before waking up...
Cade Shepherd is on top of the world as this year's Ultimate Fighting Champion. He doesn't even remember his life as Gage Dempsey, a Shadow Walker with the ability to magically transport himself from shadow to shadow. In fact, he can't remember anything before waking up in a cheap motel room ten years ago with mysterious burns on his hands--not even the woman he almost died for.

Embry Hollister has picked up the pieces of her life, learned to control her ability to generate flame, and now works an enforcer for the Council of Races. But when her father is captured by the human military and the Council refuses mount a rescue mission, Embry has no choice but to go rogue. All she has to do is find the man with the new name and new life who was completely wronged by her people, give him back the memories they stole, convince him to join her on what's probably a suicide mission, and hope that after ten years of living as a regular guy he still remembers what her father taught him.

And after that, she just has to leave him. Again.

Forsaken by Shadow flawlessly blends romance with a non-stop action story, set in a world filled with three-dimensional characters and fascinating other-worldly detail. It's a story that pulls you in from its first pages and doesn't let up until the finish. Highly recommended.

posted by Susan-Bischoff on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I found this author through a guest post on the blog of another indie author I really like and mistakenly thought the writing would be of comparable quality. This story was one eye-roll after another, starting in Chapter 1 with a character looking in a mirror for an exc...
I found this author through a guest post on the blog of another indie author I really like and mistakenly thought the writing would be of comparable quality. This story was one eye-roll after another, starting in Chapter 1 with a character looking in a mirror for an excuse to describe himself and some really inconsistent "amnesia," horribly overdone dialect, and a military base with such lax security, they'll invite anybody in to wander around unsupervised and discover the top-secret goings-on there, just to hit the highlights. The immature writing style and faulty logic from beginning to end guarantee I won't be reading this author in the future.

posted by 3314891 on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Romance + Great Action

    Cade Shepherd is on top of the world as this year's Ultimate Fighting Champion. He doesn't even remember his life as Gage Dempsey, a Shadow Walker with the ability to magically transport himself from shadow to shadow. In fact, he can't remember anything before waking up in a cheap motel room ten years ago with mysterious burns on his hands--not even the woman he almost died for.

    Embry Hollister has picked up the pieces of her life, learned to control her ability to generate flame, and now works an enforcer for the Council of Races. But when her father is captured by the human military and the Council refuses mount a rescue mission, Embry has no choice but to go rogue. All she has to do is find the man with the new name and new life who was completely wronged by her people, give him back the memories they stole, convince him to join her on what's probably a suicide mission, and hope that after ten years of living as a regular guy he still remembers what her father taught him.

    And after that, she just has to leave him. Again.

    Forsaken by Shadow flawlessly blends romance with a non-stop action story, set in a world filled with three-dimensional characters and fascinating other-worldly detail. It's a story that pulls you in from its first pages and doesn't let up until the finish. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Non-stop Action and Romance!

    Nolan delivers a tightly woven read, so full of action you won't be able to put it down. Great for women AND men.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    Visual is a big part of my reading experience, and this author pulls you into a world that feels as if it is real. I could not put this book down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Great Characterization and Dialogue

    Forsaken by Shadow was a pleasure to read. Kait Nolan grabs hold of you on the first page and doesn't let go until the last page. There are a lot of novellas in the paranormal romance genre that are poorly developed stories where basically nothing happens but sex. This isn't one of them. FBS gives you a fully developed story, so fully developed in fact, that at the end you feel like you've just read an entire novel.

    The world is multi-layered and well-developed. What you need to know is explained to you but it isn't over-explained. There are also no "as you know Bob"'s where things are just said to one character so the reader can get the info.

    The relationship between the hero and heroine is believable and intense. The storyline is far from predictable. Ms. Nolan is able to put characters into an impossible situation and then get them out, without it feeling contrived or predictable.

    Ms. Nolan also handles sex very well. I typically skim sex scenes in romance novels and novellas because they are usually boring and overwritten. Not here.

    Give this author a try if you like paranormal romances. You won't regret it.

    Also re: fight scenes: I've never seen a woman write a fight scene so well. Men may find themselves able to really engage with this story as well. i.e. If you liked the movie HellBoy, you'll probably like this too.

    I'm really looking forward to future stories in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Kept me on the edge of my seat!

    I found out about Kait Nolan from another awesome writer, Larissa Ione, and I'm so glad I did! I loved Forsaken by Shadow and can't wait to see what she comes up with next. There were no slow spots in the book at all. Kait kept me interested and did a great job of story-telling with believable characters. I love the definitions at the beginning of the book too - that was helpful in reading the story. There were a couple things I'm confused about that I hope will be answered in future books, but regardless of that I highly recommend this author.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You had me at Ultimate Fighting Champion

    This story introduces us to the idea of ShadowWalkers a kind of elemental race set in a contemporary time, but we also meet a host of other paranormal beings. I admit I pretty much read this because the hero, Cade, was an Ultimate Fighting Champion, but I was surprised how at much I liked and was drawn to his character. The novella opens with our hero having lost his memory and was one of the most intriguing beginnings I have read in a long time.

    Kait Nolan is a well-spoken author who seems like she's been writing for a long time. Everytime we came across a new minor character, I wanted follow their story as well, so I was happy to learn that there will be more books in the series. I certainly hope to hear more about the Drakyn!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    A MUST READ!!

    Nolan is a awesome new author. Forsaken by Shadow is a bite your nails, what's going to happen next, action packed, love story. I can't wait till her next book is avalible on my Nook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Could not put it down

    Can not wait to start the thrid book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Awesome.

    It's all paranormal and I loved it. It was a quick read, fun and filled with enough of story and action to keep anyone invested, I'm hoping that more into the series we get to hear more from the other characters but there's a great mix of character back story and new plot that makes an interesting read. I'm so glad the next one is out cause I'm buying it and reading it tonight. Seriously give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read PNR! I couldn't put it down!

    This book is an instant attention grabber that pulls you in from the very first page and never lets you go. It has mystery, suspense, danger, violence, romance, and fun all wrapped in an action packed little package.

    Gage aka Cade is a human turned Shadow Walker, the only problem is that he can't remember who he once was or who he once loved. He starts a new life as a UFC fighter, but he is left with a gaping hole that he wants filled - who is he and where did he come from? More importantly, who is she? The faceless girl in his mind that makes his heart ache.

    In walks Embry, the one who holds the key to Gage's past and his heart. Instantly drawn to her as she sits in the crowd, he seeks her out, but what she has planned for him isn't what he expected. Her father has been taken and she needs Gage's help to get him back. He is finally given back is past, while heading toward a new and dangerous future.

    Will there love for each other surpass the danger they are in or will it tear them apart? Can he remember his training as a Shadow Walker in time to save her father, or are they walking into a suicide mission?

    Once I started, I could not put this book down. Forsaken by Shadow is fresh, well-written and an absolute must read. You will be on the edge of your seat trying to keep up with this fast paced paranormal romance that will leave you breathless!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    What an Adventure!

    I found this author and book mentioned on the blog of another author friend, so I thought I would check it out. I was expecting a paranormal romance with otherworldly creatures and a little sex thrown in. Well, I got that and much more! I was surprised and pleased to find that there was lots of action, too. I liked how she got the characters out of a difficult situation. This was a fantastic book and I look forward to reading much more from Ms. Nolan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Fast-paced action

    I enjoy the Glossary of Terms in the beginning. They usually serve as a helpful organizational chart of the "who's who" in a story (with regards to species, etc).

    The action and romantic suspense are sure to be a hit with regular readers of the PNR genre. The fight scenes are great too. There's a little sex thrown in, but not erotica, so it's okay if you are not into that genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Great blend of Romance and Action

    Cade Shepherd is on top of the world as this year's Ultimate Fighting Champion. He doesn't even remember his life as Gage Dempsey, a Shadow Walker with the ability to magically transport himself from shadow to shadow. In fact, he can't remember anything before waking up in a cheap motel room ten years ago with mysterious burns on his hands--not even the woman he almost died for.

    Embry Hollister has picked up the pieces of her life, learned to control her ability to generate flame, and now works an enforcer for the Council of Races. But when her father is captured by the human military and the Council refuses mount a rescue mission, Embry has no choice but to go rogue. All she has to is find the man with the new name and new life who was completely wronged by her people, give him back the memories they stole, convince him to join her on what's probably a suicide mission, and hope that after ten years of living as a regular guy he still remembers what her father taught him.

    And after that, she just has to leave him. Again.

    Forsaken by Shadow flawlessly blends romance with a non-stop action story, set in a world filled with three-dimensional characters and fascinating other-worldly detail. It's a story that pulls you in from its first pages and doesn't let up until the finish. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Kait Nolan creates a world where humans mix with an assortment of paranormal characters that she calls the Mirus. The humans, of course, are clueless that these supernatural beings live among them.

    This novella is full of action that easily held my attention. I thought the characters were well developed and the paranormal edge offered some fun twists. I thoroughly enjoyed Nolan's writing style. She has huge talent and is definitely an author to watch for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2