Customer Reviews for

Forsaking All Others

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Riveting story of the cost of faith

A riveting novel that was hard to read, yet hard to put down.


Forsaking All Others is the heart-rending tale of Camilla Fox, a strong woman who leaves the Mormon faith and finds truth through the Lord Jesus Christ. But in the process, she is forced to leave her c...
A riveting novel that was hard to read, yet hard to put down.


Forsaking All Others is the heart-rending tale of Camilla Fox, a strong woman who leaves the Mormon faith and finds truth through the Lord Jesus Christ. But in the process, she is forced to leave her children behind. Determined to rescue her children from the false teachings of the Mormons, she relies on her new found faith in Jesus Christ, to see her through. When faced with the option of going back, will her faith stay strong? And will she ever see her beautiful daughters again? And what about the honorable Colonel Brandon?


Well written and emotionally engaging, Forsaking All Others is a book that I enjoyed immensely and I think others will too. The first person narrative made Camilla's struggles really come to life, in an understandable and heart touching way. The characters were so well done. Ms. Pittman showed how many Mormon really just wanted to please God, but were tragically mislead by a fallible human. And how terribly lost they were, yet they didn't realize it. The side characters are what really made this book feel real, and how they all reacted differently to the situations.


It was so heartbreaking to read the chapters where staunch Mormons were defending their religion, and how the characters geniunely believed the lies that they had been told countless times. And that's why it was so hard to read. But in the other hand as things went from bad to worse, and back again, I keep the pages turning steadily because I simply HAD to find out what happened to Camilla next. Because I couldn't possible leave her where she was!


Overall this book was emotionally strong, and so well-written. The characters came alive in my head, and the story gripped me to the end.Though I think that Forsaking All Others would be more meaningful if its prequel was read first, I had no problem just jumping into the second book :)


Final Rating: 5 out of 5

I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

posted by Faye_reviews on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sister Wives is a curious topic to me which drew me to this seri

Sister Wives is a curious topic to me which drew me to this series. Both books in the series are well written and will draw you in and cause you to read them in 2 days. I can't even begin to understand all Camilla went through with having a wonderful marriage to havin...
Sister Wives is a curious topic to me which drew me to this series. Both books in the series are well written and will draw you in and cause you to read them in 2 days. I can't even begin to understand all Camilla went through with having a wonderful marriage to having to share her husband. Then the decisions to leave it all which meant a temporary leave of her children. I wonder if there will be another book to give more detail on Camilla and Colonel Brandon and life after Sister Wives.

posted by tatormc on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Riveting story of the cost of faith

    A riveting novel that was hard to read, yet hard to put down.


    Forsaking All Others is the heart-rending tale of Camilla Fox, a strong woman who leaves the Mormon faith and finds truth through the Lord Jesus Christ. But in the process, she is forced to leave her children behind. Determined to rescue her children from the false teachings of the Mormons, she relies on her new found faith in Jesus Christ, to see her through. When faced with the option of going back, will her faith stay strong? And will she ever see her beautiful daughters again? And what about the honorable Colonel Brandon?


    Well written and emotionally engaging, Forsaking All Others is a book that I enjoyed immensely and I think others will too. The first person narrative made Camilla's struggles really come to life, in an understandable and heart touching way. The characters were so well done. Ms. Pittman showed how many Mormon really just wanted to please God, but were tragically mislead by a fallible human. And how terribly lost they were, yet they didn't realize it. The side characters are what really made this book feel real, and how they all reacted differently to the situations.


    It was so heartbreaking to read the chapters where staunch Mormons were defending their religion, and how the characters geniunely believed the lies that they had been told countless times. And that's why it was so hard to read. But in the other hand as things went from bad to worse, and back again, I keep the pages turning steadily because I simply HAD to find out what happened to Camilla next. Because I couldn't possible leave her where she was!


    Overall this book was emotionally strong, and so well-written. The characters came alive in my head, and the story gripped me to the end.Though I think that Forsaking All Others would be more meaningful if its prequel was read first, I had no problem just jumping into the second book :)


    Final Rating: 5 out of 5

    I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Very educational regarding Mormonism!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Excellent sequel in this series!

    This is the sequel to "For Time & Eternity", continuing the story of Camilla Fox. A young girl desperate for love from the father who doesn't understand her, she is drawn to Nathan Fox and marries him almost immediately. Set in the early days of Mormonism, they are madly in love and soon have two little girls but when tragedy strikes and their third child, a boy, dies, things begin to unravel. Her husband brings a second woman to their marriage, a "sister wife", and Camilla truly cannot live with it. She literally escapes and "Forsaking All Others" begins with her rescue from a snowstorm, by the United States Army.

    In "Forsaking All Others", we follow Camilla as she tries to reconcile her deepened faith and relationship with God to surviving the separation from her children and husband. One of the main takeaways I got from this book is that God had to be most important to her, and at times her sole source of courage and strength. I thought she was inspiring.

    This book is beautifully written and all of the historical aspects, the rules, the faith ring so true. At the end of the book Allison shares that her husband is a former Mormon, which I thought was so interesting to have the perspective while writing this amazing book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forsaking All Others is the sequel and conclusion to For Time an

    Forsaking All Others is the sequel and conclusion to For Time and Eternity and I both books are amazing to read. This book being a sequel I highly recommend reading the first one before it as this one picks up right where the first left off. In all reality they could be one book. It would be very confusing to try to read this book by itself.

    Camilla Fox who had just left home in the first book was caught in a snowstorm, the good news is that she is alive and currently with the US Army under Colonel Charles Brandon. After many months of healing from the affects of being in the snowstorm the Colonel helps her return to Salt Lake City to see her children she left behind while waiting for spring to be able back to her parents home in Missouri.

    While back in Utah, things are harder then she was expecting but eventually finds a way to escape and head to Missouri, again with the help of the Colonel. Finally back home she builds her strength and her case to legally divorce Nathan and claim her children. Will Camilla find the freedom she needs? Will she be able to bring her children home and raise them in her faith, not the Mormom faith?

    I loved this book, as well as the first, and found myself not wanting to put the books down. They are such a great story of standing for your faith and not backing down. I would recommend this book to everyone. Defiantly a 5 star book, if not higher!

    I received this book from Tyndale through the Tyndale Blog Network

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Wow

    I just finnished the first book and cannot wait to read this one. Very inspiring to read about her struggles as she tries to return to Christ. WOW is all I can say about these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful prose, fantastic story

    Few characters and the authors who create them upon the page, ring my emotions and drive me to escape within the pages of a well-written novel. With tension, a flair for the dramatic, an ability to build the emotions until I felt the pull of heartache or the joy of rejoicing, "Forsaking All Others" was a novel I dreaded giving up.
    I first met Camilla in "For Time and All Eternity", the story of a woman deceived into Mormonism and then desperate to escape. The second novel in the series had me at the throat the entire way through. The beauty of the prose paints a fascinating picture. One of desperation, but hope. Love and yet loss. And the unquenchable hold of faith once lost, but now found.
    I can't get over how much I loved the writing. The story is fantastic, the writing makes it sing. While many readers might become tired of the style, I found it freeing and gripping. I wanted to drink each word in and let it resonate within me.
    The story battles between two faiths. One a religion and the other salvation in Christ. I never once felt preached at.
    Camilla is a character I fell completely in love with, but I also loved hers and Nathan's love story and I longed for the right resolution for their marriage. I believe that was given, but there is still a part of me that is saddened when I closed the book.
    So many dynamics in this novel, a 200 word review feels constricting. I loved it. Plain and simple, I loved it. I hope you will too.
    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    This series ends horribly

    This series ends horribly-too real life :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    contains a spoiler

    Forsaking All Others by Allison Pittman fascinates from page one which purports to be from the Ladies Home Journal 1896 featuring an article by a former sister wife in Utah who escaped her plural marriage and eventually reclaimed the young daughters she had to leave behind. With the current interest in TV shows about Big Love and Sister Wives and the possibility of a Mormon president, this book could not be more timely. Polygamy has been a popular subject for Christian romance writers, but Pittman writes with a spiritual depth and a historical accuracy that raises her book above the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Sister Wives is a curious topic to me which drew me to this seri

    Sister Wives is a curious topic to me which drew me to this series. Both books in the series are well written and will draw you in and cause you to read them in 2 days. I can't even begin to understand all Camilla went through with having a wonderful marriage to having to share her husband. Then the decisions to leave it all which meant a temporary leave of her children. I wonder if there will be another book to give more detail on Camilla and Colonel Brandon and life after Sister Wives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Great book - Pittman is a wonderful writer

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Allison Pittman's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    I was happy that Pittman continued the series. The first book e

    I was happy that Pittman continued the series. The first book ended in such a way that it could have been an ending to Camilla. However, Camilla's story continues as she struggles to repair her life and return to the truth. What is great about this book is that it is hard to predict how it will end. Will Camilla get her children back? Will Nathan leave the church? Will Camilla reconcile with her parents? Pittman does an excellent job of completing Camilla's story without it being the unrealistic "happy" ending that some authors seemed pressured to provide. However, I would love another installment of Camilla's life, just to find out what happens next. All questions are not answered in my mind, but I think that makes this book all the more interesting. I liked this series for it's realism and depth of the characters and would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended, very good book !!

    This is such a good book, I read it all in two days,
    They don't get any better than this one !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Loved this book!

    This book is one of the best that I have ever read. I was captivated by the story and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great book

    I love this book. I hate Evangeline though. I gt this wierd feeling and feel sick and disgusted every time i think about her. This waas a great book though and i really hope that there is another one. It is a book of sadness, heartbreak, and trial. I really like it. WAY TO GO ALLISON PITTMAN!!!!!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Allison Pittman is a wonderful writer.  I can't put her books do

    Allison Pittman is a wonderful writer.  I can't put her books down.  I am reading the sister wives series and it is wonderful/.  I feel like I know the people personally.  Keep up the good work Allison,.  I will definitely be buying more of your books on my Nook!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Enlightening I did not realize this book was the second in a ser

    Enlightening
    I did not realize this book was the second in a series. However, I had no problem following the characters and their stories. Loving historical fiction, I found this book to be engaging. A lot of information was given about the beginnings of the Morman church and the way society reacted to them. I applauded Camilla's courage to walk away from something, she knew in her heart wasn't right, and return to her true faith. Having the courage to face her parents and admit her mistakes was something we can all learn from. I recommend this book to anyone who needs encouragement to take that first step back to faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Thank You, But I'll Pass

    This is a sequel to the first novel in the Sister Wives Duology 'For Time & Eternity'. The plot revolves around Camilla, who left her family to marry Nathan - a member of the Mormon church. Camilla and Nathan are very much in love, until the day Camilla realizes that she does not believe everything the Mormon church espouses, and her husband brings home a second 'sister' wife. Unable to continue with the false teachings, Camilla leaves her home and two daughters in the middle of a snow storm; which is where this novel begins.

    Rescued from freezing to death by the US Army, Camilla finds herself literally swept out of the cold and into the arms of a handsome, Christian, conveniently widowed army Captain. Camilla spends a good portion of the beginning of the book healing from her snowstorm ordeal, and the rest of the book vacillating between fear that the passion she experienced with her husband, Nathan, will bring her back to the Mormon church and the desire to save her children from the heretical teachings Brigham Young is imposing on the would-be state of Utah and a future with the army captain.

    I did not have the opportunity to read the first book in this series, and I'm hoping that the foundation laid out in that novel provided the substance needed to carry a reader through the terribly lacking sequel.

    The writing style swings between flat prose and a syrupy romantic style which utterly failed to interest or intrigue me. The plot is laid out fairly clearly from the first several chapters, and does not have the stamina to engage a reader for the next three-hundred and fifty pages. The mormon aspect, which I assume was meant to simultaneously educate and entertain, ended up as an uncomfortable series of descriptions inserted into an otherwise prosaic love triangle. Also, highly conservative Christians may take issue with the plot point of a divorced woman remarrying while her first husband is still alive.

    The pluses I can mention include the emphatic statements in the text of the novel that the Latter Day Saints are not Christians because they don't follow Christ, and the recurring theme that God will love and forgive us no matter where we've been or what we've done.

    Nonetheless, this book just didn't work for me. Maybe because I didn't read the first book, or it could be just because this book doesn't work. Period.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    I picked this book up, not realizing there was one before it. T

    I picked this book up, not realizing there was one before it. This book can stand on its own, though. Leading you through the salvation God gives you. Camilla Fox was a strong character who was determined to seek her relationship with God, while trying to restore her family. I loved this book and couldn't put it down. Cannot wait to read the first one in the 2 book story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    So compelling!

    As much as I loved the first book in this series, this one tops that in spades. Camilla's story, her realistic journey of emotional change, blew me away. What an honest and charming telling of a true life change. Allison never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book but can't give it a RAVE review. I don't regret the time spent reading it but it was sort of a let down after the first book. Still if you read the first book, you must read the end of her story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3