BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fort: A Novel of the Revolutionary War

Average Rating 3
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonder For. Dr Jamal

A fabulous piece of researched history. What a wonderful job of portraying events and character personalities. Mr Cromwell portrays the scenes in such excellent style, that it is as if you are there and living the expereince. Wonderful job. Highly recommend this histori...
A fabulous piece of researched history. What a wonderful job of portraying events and character personalities. Mr Cromwell portrays the scenes in such excellent style, that it is as if you are there and living the expereince. Wonderful job. Highly recommend this historical gem of the United States early years

posted by 7708834 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Only for those with a NOOKcolor

I know this isn't a review of the book, but as I can't *view* the book I thought other people might want an additional warning.

Don't buy this if you don't have a NOOKcolor. You can't view or download it on any other device, including Nook apps for PC/Mac. It wasn'...
I know this isn't a review of the book, but as I can't *view* the book I thought other people might want an additional warning.

Don't buy this if you don't have a NOOKcolor. You can't view or download it on any other device, including Nook apps for PC/Mac. It wasn't very clear when I bought it. I'm sure I'll enjoy it if/when it ever becomes available for other devices.

posted by 2327850 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Only for those with a NOOKcolor

    I know this isn't a review of the book, but as I can't *view* the book I thought other people might want an additional warning.

    Don't buy this if you don't have a NOOKcolor. You can't view or download it on any other device, including Nook apps for PC/Mac. It wasn't very clear when I bought it. I'm sure I'll enjoy it if/when it ever becomes available for other devices.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a future great british general's first taste of combat: age 18 in 1779 fighting American rebels

    My impression is that prolific novelist Bernard Cornwell wrote THE FORT: A NOVEL OF THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR to do two things: -- tarnish the popular image of the American hero Paul Revere and -- imagine the early wartime experience of an 18-year old Scotsman who later became one of Great Britain's famous "fighting generals": Lieutenant General Sir John Moore (1761 - 1809). The time was July 1789. The place was Penobscot Bay, Massachusetts (now Maine), 26 nautical miles from the sea at the tiny settlement called Majabigwaduce. After a 13 day sail from Halifax in Nova Scotia, a British force of six ships and 700 fighting Scotsmen of His Majesty's and the Duke of Hamilton's 82nd Regiment of Foot along with the 74th Highlanders as well, landed to build a fort and establish a new Loyalist colony of New Ireland. They were commanded by Brigadier General Francis McLean, concurrently Governor of Halifax. ***** We meet England's future hero, Lieutenant John Moore, paymaster of the 82nd Regiment, watching a sergeant and six men setting up a post on high ground to keep an eye on Penobscot Bay. Moore is boyish, excited, romantic, a doctor's son from Glasgow. He cannot wait to repel the rebels soon expected to land and swarm up a steep bluff. Moore is a crack shot, able to load and fire five bullets a minute from his musket. Most soldiers can get off two shots, a few three. ***** Brigadier McLean surveys the coming scene of battle and invites his junior officers to imagine how the American rebels will attack. Lieutenant Moore, meanwhile has time to fall in love with beautiful young (fictional) Bethany Fletcher, whose brother James becomes a spy for the Americans. The Americans sail in and their soldiers storm the bluff held by Moore and a handful of men, who are forced to retreat. Later, repelling a larger attack led by Continental marines, Lieutenant Moore almost by sheer luck fires a fatal pistol ball at the American Major leading the attack on not yet completed British Fort George. In one sense, the core of THE FORT is the coming of age under fire of a future fighting general of Britain. *** From a larger perspective, the Americans throw away opportunities to capture Fort George and sink or capture the six British ships opposing them. In later years, the government of Massachusetts would fix the blame on the Continental Commodore commanding the fleet, exonerating the state Militia General commanding the ground forces. This whitewashing, author Cornwell argues, saved the reputation of Paul Revere, Militia Lieutenant Colonel and commander of the American land artillery. Revere was court-martialed for disobedience and cowardice under fire, but let off in the general whitewashing of the land forces. ***** Improbably, the British held out long enough for a large fleet to sail up from New York, rescue the Scots and annihilate the largest American fleet assembled at any time in the Revolutionary War. The Penobscot Expedition ended in the greatest disaster to American arms before Pearl Harbor in 1941. ***** Bernard Cornwell has rescued from obscurity an American military and naval fiasco that its participants and succeeding generations preferred to forget. His characters, real and imagined, are flesh and blood, three dimensional. The British/Scots come across as kindly, tolerant, professional. The Americans are a mixed bag. Most of the militia men are conscripts. Their leaders leave much to be desired. -OOO-

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Nookcolor 1.3 update seems to have cooked this book. Purchase text only version!

    Had downloaded & started reading this book which is interesting & informative prior to the latest Nookcolor update. All videos played just fine. After the update neither of the two enhanced Nooks I own worked. B&N's answer is to unregister & reregister my device. When this "fix" was done video played for a VERY SHORT TIME...once/ one video then refused to run anything again & freezes allowing the option to force close only. So I unreg/rereg'd a second time. This is quite inconvenient so my decision is to purchase no more ENHANCED books. My advice is to stick with the plain text editions rather than waste your money & time. Anyone else experiencing issues with enhanced books since the 1.3 update or is it just MY DEVICE? B&N won't answer that question.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    wont+download

    i+have+a+nookcolor+and+the+book+wont+download.+i+click+on+the+Download+button+and+it+just+opens+the+book+description+page.+not+a+review+of+the+book%2C+so+i+give+3+stars+to+keep+it+neutral.+

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of Cornwell's best but an interesting account of an obsc

    Not one of Cornwell's best but an interesting account of an obscure campaign from the Revolution. Picked up the hardback from the bargain bin of my local B&N .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Interesting but not my favorite..

    I am a HUGE Cornwell fan. I love everything of his I have read. However, this book, while not bad, is probably the least favorite of his books I have read to date. I like the subject matter but the story seemed forced in some areas and it just ends......

    The enhanced version aspects are excellent though.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Should stick to English history.

    Very wordy and slow moving. Historical facts correct but takes too long for an event to unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    captive, kill, or destroy

    Bernard cornwell is my favorite writer, and i had never heard of this battle. I was intrigued by the story, but the characters never drew me in. For a first rate revolutionary war novel, read REDCOAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2