Customer Reviews for

The Fortunate Pilgrim

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    Following Lucia Santa and her family through the struggles of poverty, illness, the Depression, and the struggle to be American without losing the values that the Italian immigrants brought with them was fascinating. The story and the characters were realistic and compelling. I had a hard time putting this book down... Mario Puzo shows even more talent with this book then he did with The Godfather.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    A Real Page Turner

    This book is a real page turner. Puzo's writing style has a fluidity to it that pulls you into the story. By the end of the second chapter, I honestly cared what happened to the characters. You share and experience the family's joy, pain, and constant trials of survival. Puzo put his heart into this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    The Hight of Nostalgia

    I have read this book twice and find myself going back for more. Eventhough I was raised in the 50s in New Jersey along the Hudson River across fom New York City everything and every situation covered in this book is memorable. The experiences of growing up in that environment either occured to me or I saw happen first hand in the mixed ethnic environment that was West New York, New Jersey. Anyone who wants to remember or relive in their minds the way things were, or anyone who wants to know what life was like growing up in that area or in that era - The Fortunate Pilgram is a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Yes, read this book!

    I'm not a fan of the Godfather movies, so I was a little hesitant about reading this book - but I'm really glad I took a chance! Mario has said that this book was a labor of love, that he thought about every word and phrase he used... and it paid off. Well worth reading - you can feel the care he took in writing this book and you can feel and understand the characters and the times they live in.

    This book would be a good selection for book clubs as is a book that can be discussed and makes you think about what it was like to be an immigrant coming to a strange land. I say, "go for it"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved this book

    Enjoyed it as much this time as when i read it 10 years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Realistic touching family drama.

    I loved The Godfather and this book is a favorite as well. This is a story of an Italian family living in poverty and how they struggled through. It's not just about family members prevailing through tragedy, but it's also each member finding a role in life.

    It's an inspiring tale of a family in the Depression era and of family stife and love, sacrifice and pain. Looking at the family's struggle from today's wealth it is hard to comprehend a family never knowing when their next meal is going to come from. However, Mario Puzo's superb writing style makes you feel for this family almost as if you are there with them. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Worth the read

    The plot is surprisingly absorbing. A decent amount of characters with vivid personalities. Once you start reading, you'll want to read more and more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Extraordinary

    The Godfather it is not & do not expect it to be, but a honest and imaginative novel all on it's own!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    When I Tried To Leave, It Pulled Me Back In

    I love Mario Puzo's novels (well all that I have read). But this book, unlike the Last Don, was one that I read every chance I had. I enjoyed it because it's a break from his normal mafia drama. And it is good to know that Mr. Puzo was a writer who could relate to the human experience that is common to all of America, not just the mafia element. This book gave me a whole new image of Mr. Puzo. This is one of the few novels that pulled me back in even when I tried to leave. I highly recommend this book to anyone who doesn't like mafia, gangster books, or Mario Puzo for that matter. I promise you will not see Mr. Puzo's writing quite the same way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Story

    I suppose like a lot of other people I started reading Mario Puzo book the Godfather and just loved the story. I wasn't happy with "The Silician", but I was surprised by this book: "The Fortunate Pilgrim". For a brief summary, this is the story of Lucia Santa an immigrant from Italy living in New York City during the 1930's. Lucia has six children and a bad marriage. Mario Puzo descriptions of the section known as Hells Kitchen are amazing and his detail of the city and hardships that Lucia must endure is awesome. Overall, this book turned out to be one of my favorite Mario Puzo novels and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Realistic touching family drama

    I loved The Godfather and this book is a favorite as well. This is a story of an Italian family living in poverty and how they struggled through. It's not just about family members prevailing through tragedy, but it's also each member finding a role in life. It's an inspiring tale of a family in the Depression era and of family stife and love, sacrifice and pain. Looking at the family's struggle from today's wealth it is hard to comprehend a family never knowing when their next meal is going to come from. However, Mario Puzo's superb writing style makes you feel for this family almost as if you are there with them. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My first Mario Puzo book

    Someone told me I should read The Godfather..so I reserached Mario Puzo and decided to start with this book first. I loved it. The story of Italian immigrants made me think of my family. Then as I kept reading it started to have that....dramatic..dangerous element. I don't have anything bad to say about the way he writes or the story itself. It takes you back to a different generation..a different time...in history. All though the book is ficition you can imagine what it was like for imigrants new to America. Great story!!! Great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Great

    A true Puzo book. it really describes the true life of Italian-American immigrants in the 20's.All the struggles and hard they had to go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    a terrific page turner

    when i started the book i thought it would be similar to the GODFATHER but it was totally different book with a great story about the Italian lady santa lucia. MARIO PUZZU had done his best.The characters seems real like we've poor people back in our country.Indeed it was the story of real life and a true struggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2