Customer Reviews for

Fortunate Son

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    One of his best

    I am on my third read of this book and each time I am brought to tears. I am a great fan of mr. Mosley and have nothing but praise for his stories and implacable, precise prose ( I read a review here that assults Mosley for his use of...( "to simple...." sentences). Not since Hemingway ( and perhaps Richard Brautigan ) has a writer succeded in cleaving the ' wheat from the chaf' leaving us with the bare bones of emotion exposed. ( mixed metaphor...ooops, sorry Walter.
    Again Mosley uses a relatively simple story as a canvas for much, much larger and important isssues. That this book is considered "young adult" is both a slam and a revelation. I hope every ' young person' is guided to this book and i hope every serious reader finds it.
    Captivating, emotional and entertaing, I hope it one day recieves the kind of adulation it deserves. Please, keep yourself safe and well Mr. Mosley...you are agift to humanity and I expect nothing but greatness for your work. A True ManOf Letters..... thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great insightful character study

    In a West Los Angeles hospital, the wife of white heart surgeon Minas Nolan dies while giving birth to their son Eric. Also in the hospital at that time is one week old African-American Thomas Beerman, who has been born prematurely with a hole in his lung and not expected to live long especially outside a bubble. His single mother flower-shop worker Branwyn meets Minas in the hospital the cardiologist persuades her to come with her son to live in his home with his baby along with their Vietnamese nanny Ahn.---- Six years later, Branwyn suddenly dies. Instead of Tommy staying with the man who raised him with love and nurturing, his biological father Elton Trueblood abruptly claims him as his. Tommy grows up on the streets under the violent tutelage of his abusive father though he ¿talks¿ to his late mother when he needs solace Eric enjoys an upper middle class childhood though he is only sixteen when he sires a child. Eric and Tommy miss one another as they were siblings from birth until Elton entered the scene, but each has traveled a different path towards adulthood.----- This is Mosley at his best, telling an easy tale that seems so simple yet somehow is extremely deep as he makes the case that nurturing is more critical to making the adult than naturing. The ¿siblings¿ make the tale as they grow up in their early years as brothers regardless of the colors of their skins until they are suddenly separated and travel differing paths. Stereotyped as the golden boy and the ghetto boy, only adds to the allegorical depth of a great insightful character study of what makes the man---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Indifferent...

    This is the 4th book that I've read by Mosley, my least favorite! The implied supernatural powers of the two main characters "eric & thomas" was difficult to accept--couldn't connect to either. Eric was like some savv type "rainman" & "thomas" was a higher functioning Forrest Gump.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Classic Walter Mosely

    This being my second Walter Mosely young adult novel, after reading the fantastic novel 47, I really enjoyed this one as well. While it was a different read the boldness of his writing makes it perfect for someone who likes a deep read. By the end of the book I was completely satisfied and took something very valuable from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    High Energy Fuels Fortunate Son from first page to last

    Have you ever read a book in which a well developed and lovable main character dies within the first 50 pages? Would you believe that Mosely not only does this but does it with such skill that this character knits all other characters and a thrilling plot together through the last sentence of the book? Fortunate Son is impossible to describe. It is unipue in plot development, characterization, and theme. It is popping with suspence, filled with passionate characters, and impossible to predict the direction of. You will not be able to put it down and I guarantee that you will be very sad when you finish the last vivid page and have to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    All unhappy families

    A family that is not traditional, doses of dysfunction, racism, privilege and a story line that kept me interested from the beginning to the end. A little predictable, great character development and well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Thriller

    The characters were sad, yet compelling. The scenes in the story were a little disturbing, but overall the ending was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    A touching story

    This book reflects so much about our society, racism and the gap between the have and the have nots. You see one born with a silver spoon in his mouth and one who can't catch a break and you're inspired by the latter and his faith in life. I thought the ending wasn't satifying and left you wondering if his misfortune would continue or if things would finally go his way. But, I recommend this book just as someone did to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Good Book

    This is my first WM novel and i enjoyed it from beginning to end... I found myself unable to put the book down cause there was alot going on with Thomas and I felt sorry for him as if he were a real life character... The ending was okay but the book is general was good and i recommend it as a reader choice...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Ending Disaster

    I'm in the 11th grade and had to read the book for a class project. It book it self was well written and a real page turner, but In the ended the story took a terrible turn for the worst and left me to be completely unsatisifed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Very moving

    This book is so terribly written structurally, with simple, choppy sentences. However, the story is deeply moving. The characters are so well developed and the themes are so powerful that I found my mood changed as I was enveloped in the novel for the 3 days that I spent with it. It helped to provoke lots of reflection on society and relationships. I enjoyed it immensely in spite of the horribly simple sentence structure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    An selection on audio

    The book was an excellent audio selection. I couldn't turn it off. I was happy, angry, laughing and crying all at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    My 1st Walter Mosley book...

    I loved this book. I found myself wanting to mother Thomas, as my heart went out to this character immediately. I was at times so fearful of what would happen next, I found myself holding my breath! This is also the first review I have ever written, because I wanted so strongly to encourage readers to avoid missing this one. Great writing and a 'must read', as is so often said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    EXCELLENT READING

    This is the first book I've read by Walter Mosely, but it certainly won't be my last. The story is a page-turner from beginning to end, the characters are well defined and the story awakens every emotion. I read this book in one day and thoroughly enjoyed it -- I guarantee you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Characters to care for

    Two boys, so different in origin, together by fate, separated by law, growing up in different worlds, co-existing in the same city, finding their way through tangled lives, this is a page turner not for the plot but for the characters. I was afraid to finish this book because of my fear for what the ending could be. No, I won't give it away. This was a journey well taken. Other characters are loved for their cleverness, their antics, their actions. Here, Eric and Thomas are loved for themselves. I deeply cared for them, rejoicing in their victories, suffering in their defeats. The journey was at times exhilarating, at times painful, at times spiritual, and always memorable. Walter Mosley has written a book I won't soon forget, one of my best reads in years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    An endearing tearjerker

    I have read most of Mr. Mosley's novels, but this was the first one that made me cry. This book is as emotionally provoking as his Easy Rawlins Mysteries are exciting and daring. The hard luck story that he tells is one reminiscent of Ellison¿s Invisible Man. Walter Mosley is truly one of American¿s greatest writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2