Customer Reviews for

Fortunately, the Milk

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Milkfully, the laughs!

Hilarious! It's as if a group of kids did a round robin story, & Neil Gaiman put it all fantastically together!

posted by Kota_Magic on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

recommended with reservations.

Although the premise for the story was interesting, it went on far too long. Both myself and my grandson were looking for an end to the dad's dilemma. Unfortunately we grew tired of the complications encountered and never finished the book.

posted by 2649810 on December 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Fortunately, The Milk by Neil Gaiman is a hilarious book about w

    Fortunately, The Milk by Neil Gaiman is a hilarious book about what happens when Mom isn’t home and Dad is left in charge. When the family finds themselves with no milk for breakfast, Dad goes to the store to pick some up. When he finally returns home, he tells a tall tale about aliens, space-time travel, pirates, and other crazy things!

    This book has an interesting take on dads and fatherhood, making the very ordinary seem amazing, and reminding us how fun it can be to use our imaginations.

    This book is also an excellent read for young children. The narrator is a young boy, who writes in short sentences that are very clear and easy to understand. It contains excellent descriptive language when discussing Dad’s excellent tale, and will make kids laugh out loud while reading. You can’t get much better than that!

    Overall, I would not hesitate to purchase this book, especially if you have a 3rd, 4th, or 4th grade boy wanting to get lost in a good book. It’s definitely worth the read!

    Submitted by Danielle Padgett

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Milkfully, the laughs!

    Hilarious! It's as if a group of kids did a round robin story, & Neil Gaiman put it all fantastically together!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Gaiman does it again!   Inventive, original, and written in a un

    Gaiman does it again!   Inventive, original, and written in a unique voice that could only come from Neil Gaiman, may he live forever.  Perfect.  Read this aloud to your kids and just see if they can keep from giggling. :-) 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    New Gaiman

    New Gaiman, always satisfies. Neil is a pioneer in the writing world and is always fresh and exciting. His work across the spectrum of literature is amazing. If you haven't read his prose, or his graphic novels you are missing the gamut of a genius just sitting there taking us to places that allow us to feel better. Start here but expand your vision and seek it all out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    Fortunately, The Milk is the fourth book for young readers by Br

    Fortunately, The Milk is the fourth book for young readers by British author, Neil Gaiman. Mum’s away, Dad’s in charge and there’s no milk for breakfast. Dad pops down to the corner shop to get some, but seems to take forever to get back. He explains to his sceptical son and daughter just what took him so long. 




    The back cover blurb of this book claims that no Green Globby Aliens, no Pirates, no Angry Volcano Gods demanding human sacrifice, no Intergalactic Police, and no Hot Air Balloon piloted by an accomplished Stegosaurus feature, but, while not wishing to include a spoiler, this is patently false. All these things, and many more, do appear in the pages of this book. Gaiman delights young (and maybe not-so-young) readers with a brilliantly inventive plot while Chris Riddell enhances the text with lots of marvellous illustrations. A fun read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Who would¿ve guessed a bottle of milk can lead to so much advent

    Who would’ve guessed a bottle of milk can lead to so much adventure?! Of course, that’s exactly what would happen if you leave dad in charge of the household and kids while mom’s away.

    Grumpy-looking aliens, eighteenth-century pirates, a stegosaurus with a temperamental time-machine, a jungle, a volcano, ponies, vampires, and three purple dwarfs...this charming tale of adventure is just filled with all the goodies that would set a child’s imagination alight!   

    The illustrations are on the dot, making this an even more fun read than the narrative alone. In many ways the images reminded me of Tim Burton’s movie interpretation of Coraline, but without the nightmarish bits. This is the second novella of Gaiman’s I’ve read, and there’s no doubt in my mind that he is a masterful storyteller with a wicked imagination.

    Fortunately, the Milk is the ideal bedtime read to send your little one off to dreamland with a smile!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    recommended with reservations.

    Although the premise for the story was interesting, it went on far too long. Both myself and my grandson were looking for an end to the dad's dilemma. Unfortunately we grew tired of the complications encountered and never finished the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "While picking up milk for his children's cereal, a father

    "While picking up milk for his children's cereal, a father is abducted by aliens and finds himself on a wild adventure through time and space." Fortunately, the Milk is an imaginative children's story that made me smile. It involves, aliens, time travel, and even volcanos! It will definately stir the imagination of some lucky kids and adults alike!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    I love this guy

    My 7 year old son and i loved reading this book together. It is hilarious and totally unique. I love Neil Gaiman, and he is just as talented at writting silly kids stuff as he is at creepy adult books and graphic novels. The humor is witty and unpredictable, and it feels like a story your dad might have made up to mess with you (if your dad is a brilliant writter). It definetly has reread value too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    read this before buying

    You have read while i am farting smelly egg doo doo breezes. Our dog squirts like a duck out back. We poop yellow do do sometimes

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Awesome

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ BUY IT OR GET THE SAMPLE!!!!!!!!!!* *
    U

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    Caleb

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Great

    I love Neil Gaiman.This book is fun for everyone of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Great

    Great book really funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Must read

    When I was a young boy I fell in love with Ray Bradbury, he was a marvelous combination of humor and lyricism and horror...when he died I wondered if I would ever find another writer to take his place. Neil Gaiman has done that, "fortunately the milk" is a truly delightful little children's book for adults. Everyone should read it, and buy a copy of it to give to their friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    REED DIS BEFOW WOO WY

    I'M A TOUGH PERSON AND I KNOW WHERE YOU LIVE! IF YOU DONT BELEVE MY I DARE YOU TO COME WHERE I LIVE AND IF YOU DON'T KNOW (HINT) YOU ARE A CHIKEN!! AND A BIGGGGGGGGGG FAAAAAAAAAAAT FRICKEN KID LIKE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE AND I WUV DIS BWK I DO MOT WO HO WO RIBE???????@ PPPPPPPPPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPPPDBNFHDHJFGFNVHDHYDDFE ASDF VIDEOS RULE GJHXFYFJJHEHJRGEHIFUEEDHYEEDDEYEIEHFHJRJBFHJHHFJFFBFFJFFFHFCFJFBFFJNGVHCCNNCCCCJJJFJFFFJHCDNDDJEBFJBFBKDVDJBJFBFJJFFFJFJFFBHBJJBFJFJFNFFFJFHEDHDHCJIFFFHFFIFKFF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Ryan

    Jgnfzdcddhdbnsjbdznwsdlsodlclnmskbffggdhhrsywrwi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Fun little short story for kids and grown people

    I didn't realize at first that this was such a short book when I first saw and purchased it on my Nook. But after reading it, it was refreshingly random and hilarious in a similar style to the previous book I read by Gaiman, Good Omens.
    Meant for bedtime reading to little ones, but I enjoyed it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    You are crazy not to read this book.

    A hilariously unexpectedly told story that is impossible to dislike and it is all because of the milk. A must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Redstar

    Moving the clan to sonic my den will be res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2