Customer Reviews for

Fortune's Pawn

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very entertaining book. The main 1st person narrator character i

Very entertaining book. The main 1st person narrator character is a bit heavy on the mental chatter and seems to be considering both sides of everything all the time. Also a bit too focused on ridiculous crushes for a hardened mercenary and  a bit unrealistic in terms o...
Very entertaining book. The main 1st person narrator character is a bit heavy on the mental chatter and seems to be considering both sides of everything all the time. Also a bit too focused on ridiculous crushes for a hardened mercenary and  a bit unrealistic in terms of a hot chic putting effort into picking guys up which a real hot chic would know is ridiculously easy. 
The hard drinking also seemed very superficially handled kinda look at me I'm a drinker without any mental traits of a alcoholic. Also, the book eventually seemed very predictable in terms of action. The ending was also a bit of a typical series didn't really resolve anything type of ending but need to buy the next book type of thing(which if it's like a typical series won't resolve anything). 

But still a very good space opera type book from a unique perspective of the red shirts. 

posted by attorneydavid on December 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth the chance

The story starts slow, but has interesting twist and a building mystery. This is a very sci-fi story with made up crestures, and has a love twist but the main character is a likeadle meathead, which is kind of fun. You typically don't see woman naming their weapons......
The story starts slow, but has interesting twist and a building mystery. This is a very sci-fi story with made up crestures, and has a love twist but the main character is a likeadle meathead, which is kind of fun. You typically don't see woman naming their weapons....

posted by loose_urself_in_a_fantasy on December 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Having just finished Fortune¿s Pawn, I must admit the first thin

    Having just finished Fortune’s Pawn, I must admit the first thing I did was go pre-order the next book in the series. This book was amazing, but a few things you should probably know in advance: Do you like books like Warhammer 40k? You will like this book. Do you like Starcraft? In any form? You will like this book. What about books that have a kick ass heroine who is capable and emotionally complex? Yeah, you will like this book. Rachel Bach creates an exciting, interesting world; that I was enthralled with from the beginning. I was very sad to see the book end. It did have a good, complete ending; but I can’t imagine anyone reading to the book’s completion and not wondering what happens next.

    The book is well paced and never let’s the reader completely relax for too long. The characters are so interesting and mysterious that knowing about their back stories is as interesting as finding out more about the story. There is so much to love in Fortune’s Pawn and I would have to say that the only thing I didn’t like about it was that it ended. I could have easily read another thousand pages and been happy. I’ve read so many middle of the road or just plain terrible books lately that a book like this makes me remember why I love Science Fiction and why I started doing this in the first place.

    Now that I’m done gushing, go out and buy this book. You will be glad you did, in fact, pre-order the next book while your at it. Because you won’t be able to stop with just one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    Very entertaining book. The main 1st person narrator character i

    Very entertaining book. The main 1st person narrator character is a bit heavy on the mental chatter and seems to be considering both sides of everything all the time. Also a bit too focused on ridiculous crushes for a hardened mercenary and  a bit unrealistic in terms of a hot chic putting effort into picking guys up which a real hot chic would know is ridiculously easy. 
    The hard drinking also seemed very superficially handled kinda look at me I'm a drinker without any mental traits of a alcoholic. Also, the book eventually seemed very predictable in terms of action. The ending was also a bit of a typical series didn't really resolve anything type of ending but need to buy the next book type of thing(which if it's like a typical series won't resolve anything). 

    But still a very good space opera type book from a unique perspective of the red shirts. 

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Worth the chance

    The story starts slow, but has interesting twist and a building mystery. This is a very sci-fi story with made up crestures, and has a love twist but the main character is a likeadle meathead, which is kind of fun. You typically don't see woman naming their weapons....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    Enjoyable, but falls short of its potential

    It started out as a great read, but forced romantic subplots and secretiveness toward the end dragged the entire piece down. It's unfortunate, because for the first two-thirds of the book, I was really enjoying it and could't wait to buy the sequels. Now, however, I've yet to do so. I would't avoid them, but I'm just taking time to read other things first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I don't usually read Mil-SF. In fact, I actively avoid stories w

    I don't usually read Mil-SF. In fact, I actively avoid stories where HeMan goes out to save the galaxy with his loyal team of cloned sidekicks. Thankfully, this book is none of those stories. While Devi Morris is a mercenary woman soldier, complete with mercenary habits like drinking and sex, she is also smart and curious. Moreover, she's on a ship full to the brim of dangerous mysteries, each with that lovely SF sense of wonder about them. Pardon me while I race off to buy the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Really liked it...

    I really liked this & was grateful and delighted, as there are just not enough female s/f writers out there! The main character was kick butt and yet still likable...i was sucked into the story easily and can't wait for the second book so that i can finally know what the heck is really going on!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    I want you to know that this was a very enjoyable book. In fact I enjoyed it so much, that there were times I couldn't put it down. SF at its best. Some people didn't like it, which I can't understand, but each to their own.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I loved this book and can't wait 'til February brings #2 in the

    I loved this book and can't wait 'til February brings #2 in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2014

    Good adventure, not much character

    This is very fun, fast-paced space adventure. (In fact, she doesn't let up EVER; just when we think the heroine has a minute to catch her breath, some new danger emerges.) but if you are looking for character development or anything other than a predictable adventure-and-love story, you won't find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Good Story

    Liked the story itself, but not the ending. It is one in a series and the way it ended reflects that thought. All in all I did enjoy the read. I don't like series books where current story doesn't really end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    OKreader72

    Fast moving & light entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    I really wanted to like this book but it committed two cardinal

    I really wanted to like this book but it committed two cardinal sins:
    1) The author writes about combat and has never been in it. You are familiar with the blood and gore, but the linchpin that holds everything together is comradship, the bond between members of the group, what ever that group may be called. That bond, that tie will in some way meld people into a unit beyond anything found in civilian life. It's more than friendship. This girl "Devi" couldn't give a rats ass about her old unit, her old mates, but boy does she want to shine! She is interested in only herself, not the group. That's a sure ticket to a body bag.
    2) Most stories raise questions: "What's going to happen next? Who did what to who?" I suffered along till the bitter end and not one damn question got answered! Now, they may be in the next book but I won't be there to see it; fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Entertaining!

    Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Amazing

    Fast paced! Love it! Cant wait for the next books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    G

    V

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2