Customer Reviews for

Foul Play

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Foul Play by Janet Evanovich

I really enjoyed reading "Foul Play" by Janet Evanovich. This is one of her very early books written for a serial romance publisher in the late 80s/early 90s, and it's very well done for what it is. Evanovich describes these early books as "red-hot screwball comedies"...
I really enjoyed reading "Foul Play" by Janet Evanovich. This is one of her very early books written for a serial romance publisher in the late 80s/early 90s, and it's very well done for what it is. Evanovich describes these early books as "red-hot screwball comedies" and while I do agree with the screwball comedy, "Foul Play" was very much G-rated. So if you enjoy a very light romance with side-splitting laughter, this is definitely a book for you.

posted by jjmachshev on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do not waste your time

This was a roll my eyes, cheesy, completely unrealistic and ridiculous book. The humor did not crack a smile. I feel like a lost a few brain cells subjecting myself to this crap. I passed it on to my friend who loooooves cheesy romance and she also hated it. I must admi...
This was a roll my eyes, cheesy, completely unrealistic and ridiculous book. The humor did not crack a smile. I feel like a lost a few brain cells subjecting myself to this crap. I passed it on to my friend who loooooves cheesy romance and she also hated it. I must admit though, I love Janet Evanovich's mysteries. Read those instead.

posted by Bex_The_Babe on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Foul Play by Janet Evanovich

    I really enjoyed reading "Foul Play" by Janet Evanovich. This is one of her very early books written for a serial romance publisher in the late 80s/early 90s, and it's very well done for what it is. Evanovich describes these early books as "red-hot screwball comedies" and while I do agree with the screwball comedy, "Foul Play" was very much G-rated. So if you enjoy a very light romance with side-splitting laughter, this is definitely a book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Cute Read!

    I enjoyed this quick read...cute story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do not waste your time

    This was a roll my eyes, cheesy, completely unrealistic and ridiculous book. The humor did not crack a smile. I feel like a lost a few brain cells subjecting myself to this crap. I passed it on to my friend who loooooves cheesy romance and she also hated it. I must admit though, I love Janet Evanovich's mysteries. Read those instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    I love Janet Evanovich

    I truly enjoy reading Janet Evanovich. She is funny, entertaining, and always throws romance in the mix. Sometimes I wonder how she comes up with some of the characters and things that happen in her stories. It is halarious. While this book may not have been one of my favorites of her's...I would recommend it to anyone. It was very entertaining and I enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Foul Play - Fun and delightful

    If you enjoy the lightheartedness of Janet Evanovich then this is a must read. It is a witty charming book full of the Evanovich enuendos and silly antedotoes. The main characters are your typical every day people who happen into each other lives. As events unravel, the laughs abound. Any book that has a character losing a job to a chicken has to be full of humor. At the end of the day this is a great book for a pick me up or chuckle. This book is an easy read which will find you laughing out loud. Take it to the beach or on the plane for your next vacation, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute, quick, chick-lit book. I have always been a fan of Janet E

    Cute, quick, chick-lit book. I have always been a fan of Janet Evanovich and after reading quite a few Stephanie Plum novels I wanted to try some of her older work. I will say that it is quick, a little cheesy, romantic, and funny. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    OH my ......

    This is just really bad and extremely stupid. People trying to get into bed with one another ....... and there's a chicken ......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed the book. I'm a big Janet Evanovich fan. She has a great sense of humor and it shows in this book when the chicken goes missing from the Vet's office. I recommend this book for anyone that enjoys Janet Evanovich....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    LOVED IT

    Definitely an older writing by Janet E. but fun and entertaining just the same!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Terrible.

    This is the first Janet Evanovich book I have "read" (i.e. listened to). I like a little bit of cheesiness... but this was way over the top! The woman who voiced the characters sounded like an old woman who has smoked too many cigarettes. Not fitting of the young characters. Overall, I am mad I wasted my money and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Evanovich Characters are true "characters"

    Janet Evanovich has developed so many funny and lovable characters. I know most of them and wish I didn't know others. They make me laugh, cry and laugh again. Just when I think I have problems they show me it's okay to laugh. Keep writing and thanks for hours of enjoyment you've already given me. Who knew a rooster could wake up so much fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable for romantics and fun for animal lovers

    It may start out a little hard to believe (how could someone as cute and lovable as Amy make it to her mid-twenties as a virgin, and how lucky that Jake, a handsome, charming, caring veterinarian, would be free and available when they happen to meet); soon the reader stops caring about these little details and just begins to enjoy the romance of it all. In these scary economic times we all want to believe that fate will take care of everything for us. When God closes a door he opens a window.

    So just relax and enjoy the ride, have fun with the characters and cheer for a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    Cute, quick read

    It is apparent that this book is one of Janet's earlier writings, since she has since moved on from the "happily ever after" short romance genre and her style has much improved with experience. However, it was a cute story, quick read, and made me laugh out loud in places. Sometimes I just need that. I enjoyed it, but chose not to add it to my permanent library collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a disappointment...

    When I've read a lot of heavy books that require thought and reflection, I like to take a break once in a while and read some fluff. For that, I usually turn to JK Rowling, Jennifer Crusie, or Janet Evanovich. This time Janet was my author of choice, and I usually crack open one of her excellent Stephanie Plum novels, but this time one of her romance novels caught my eye at the library the other day. So I grabbed it, walked home, and settled on the couch for a good read.

    I was enjoying the book, relaxing, and laughing at some of the antics of the characters, until I got close to the end, when the girl leaves. She just leaves. She's supposed to be this strong, independent woman, and, yes, a lot of things have happened that cause stress, but instead of sticking it out and standing up to her problems, she gives up and leaves. I was extremely disappointed. And then the guy has to go get her and bring her back home. And that's the end. Really?! That's definitely not how Stephanie Plum would handle things! It just seemed like a lot of anticipation for an anticlimactic ending.

    I was surprised. Janet usually entertains me throughout her entire novels and I feel satisfied once I turn the last page. But this one I don't recommend. Maybe it's one of her first books and she's just getting used to things. I'll still read her in the future (in fact, I'm excited for #15 in the Stephanie Plum series!), but I'm happy to put this one down and turn back to more serious reading.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Foul Play

    I thought this book/story was very cute. I enjoyed it because it was funny/romantic and just plain entertaining. It was a story that you didn't have to really concentrate on to "keep up" with the story. It was relaxing to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Not one of her better ones.

    I'm sorry, I could hardly wait to finish this book. I can remember only a couple of books I didn't finish reading, this one was close to being #3. The plot was silly, the characters just didn't have it for me. Boring to boot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Funny Book.

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was truly funny and a very fast read. She kept you guessing and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Not one of Evanovich's best...

    Cute and funny at times, but overall a little silly and not much of a plot. The author's Stephanie Plum series is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Quick, Entertaining Read

    Pretty much what a Janet Evanovich fan would expect. An amusing cast of characters and a quick read. Not quite as enjoyable as the Stephanie Plum novels but good none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Poor Chicken, Hooray for Silly Romance

    I come to Janet Evanovich in just the past year, and easily became a fan. She turns everyday situations into hilarious misadventures that always include a little romance. There are no graphics here, just old fashioned innuendo and your imagination. Her best work is the Stephanie Plum series. If you have read the By the Numbers series, these early writings seem to be a test run for what was to come. Simple, fun, light reading. Great for a winters day, rainy day or a day at the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4