BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Found (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 828 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(569)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Really Awesome Book!!!!!!!

Found is an awesome book. My friend told me about this book,even though I almost rejected it. Then they told me that it was about a disappearing plane. I was stoked about reading it. When i read the first 5 chapters I was soso about it, but after that i was so into the ...
Found is an awesome book. My friend told me about this book,even though I almost rejected it. Then they told me that it was about a disappearing plane. I was stoked about reading it. When i read the first 5 chapters I was soso about it, but after that i was so into the book i read it at 12am until like 3am every day. Now that I'm done with the book, I'm so crazy about reading the next book. I left the last chapter alone until i couldnt wait anymore because the suspense was killing me. I really recommend this book to anyone the age of 10 to 50*. Found is the most suspenseful book of 2008!!!! IM goin to be on the line of the next book!! If u hate reading books, then this BOOK (Found) will change ur mind completely.





* they wish. if you read the book you'll know what i mean.

posted by JLegend on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

If you have read Haddix (#1) you must be interested in mystry books. If you are not interesred mystry books I would recomend that you do not read this book. I was not entertained or amused by this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Awesome Book!!!!!!!

    Found is an awesome book. My friend told me about this book,even though I almost rejected it. Then they told me that it was about a disappearing plane. I was stoked about reading it. When i read the first 5 chapters I was soso about it, but after that i was so into the book i read it at 12am until like 3am every day. Now that I'm done with the book, I'm so crazy about reading the next book. I left the last chapter alone until i couldnt wait anymore because the suspense was killing me. I really recommend this book to anyone the age of 10 to 50*. Found is the most suspenseful book of 2008!!!! IM goin to be on the line of the next book!! If u hate reading books, then this BOOK (Found) will change ur mind completely.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>* they wish. if you read the book you'll know what i mean.

    52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Found was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    I apsolutle HATE reading but when I read the first chapter I could not put it back down!!!!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Found will Rock YOU!

    When I heard about this book, I had to order it from Scholastic! I read it in 2 days and couldn't put it down. The letters that begin the plot make the mystery a never ending suspense full of adventures. The story unravels new conquests that keep you absorbed in Haddix' unique style of writing! I love her writing so much, that the next book can't get here fast enough! Hooray for HADDIX! ANOTHER WINNER!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Found~by Margret Peterson Haddix

    The book Found written by Margret Peterson Haddix and published by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, is a book that will clutch your attention within the first few chapters. It's a book filled with suspense and mystery. The characters, Jonah and Chip, have been receiving letters. Letters that have no return address. These letters that have come to Jonah and Chip both, and have odd things typed in them like, "you are one of the missing."

    Jonah and Chip both have a secret, but Chip doesn't know until he starts to receive these weird letters. Jonah, on the other hand, has known his whole life. Names and addresses are now included. These names and addresses are all people who are also associated with these mysterious letters. What do they know? What could this mean to Chip and Jonah?
    This book reeled me in from the beginning. I was attached from the moment I started. It captured me and never let go. I would recommend this book to teens that are into books with an unknown end. There are things that will confuse you, but that's what gives you the urge to read more! The question is. what exactly happened to all of these kids. This is a book you will never forget.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    FOUND

    FOUND
    Is your worst nightmare that you were being stalked and almost kidnapped by adults? Well in the book FOUND by Margaret Peterson Haddix it is really no joke for the kids -- it is real. I am writing about Found because it is a mystery book and I adore mystery books.
    The beginning starts with two boys playing basketball in a driveway.
    "You don't look like your sister," Chip said bouncing the ball low against the driveway. Then his friend Jonah replied "Adopted." "You or her or both?" Chip questioned "Just me." Page 1
    Then the two boys went inside for some beverages. A week later Jonah received a letter with no return address and it read "you are one of the missing." That night Chip came by. He had received the same note. It turns out he was adopted as well. Two weeks later they both got a note saying "Beware they are coming back for you." Now Chip and Jonah are both getting very frightened.

    Next, in the middle of the book Jonah and Chip will both do anything to find out who their real parents are. One clear Wednesday morning Jonah and his family go to meet a man named John Reardon, he supposedly might be a person who knows information about Jonah's real parents. About thirty minutes into the meeting Jonah ran to the bathroom to vomit because of the things that Reardon had said about his parents. Before he left the bathroom a man in a maintenance guy appeared and told Jonah to look at the folder on Reardon's desk, then he vanished. Jonah went out of the bathroom and asked his parents if they saw the maintenance guy and his parents responded, "Who?" They said he was the only one to go in and come out of the bathroom. So Jonah went back to the meeting room and saw the folder on Reardon's desk and took a glimpse and he saw his name and Chip's name under the title Survivors.
    .
    Jonah went home and told Chip about their names being under Survivors, and Chip responded by saying that they should stop searching for their real parents before they get hurt. Jonah replied by saying "Not a chance."
    Now to wrap up the story without giving away the ending. The two boys go on an adventure to figure out who their real parents are. They meet new people who help them on their journey. That is just a piece of the book Found but to know the whole story read Found. Chip asks "Do you think they will have chicken wings in the twelfth century?" then they landed and walked on soil of the twelfth century. (And yes they do time travel.) That was just a piece of the story.



    Read this book if you like mysteries. I would rank the book four out of five be cause I know that the beginning could have been better. This book is for boys and girls in 4th - 6th grade.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Not the best

    If you have read Haddix (#1) you must be interested in mystry books. If you are not interesred mystry books I would recomend that you do not read this book. I was not entertained or amused by this book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Ggggrrrreeeeaaaatttttt

    If you think the book is bad something is wrong with your head!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Found~by: Margret Peterson Haddix

    Margret Peterson Haddix is the author of the Science Fiction book "Found" and published by Simon and Schuster. I thought this book was amazing; it was mysterious and action packed. The book takes you through an amazing journey to try to figure out who their real parents are. Jonah, Chip and Katherine are the three main characters that try to figure out the mystery. Katherine is Jonah's step sister. She has long red hair and she has to be in the middle of everything. She's a busy body. Chip is Jonah's best friend and he was also adopted when he was little, but he didn't know about it. Jonah is the main character in this book. He was the one that wanted to know where he came from and what happened.

    Jonah has known that he was adopted all his life, but thought it wasn't a big deal. Chip has just found out. They started getting these weird letters and they thought it had something to do with their adoption. I thought that this book was really weird, but one of the best books I have ever read. I think that everyone should read it. Once you start reading it, you can't let it go. This book was the first of two by Margret Peterson Haddix. Margret is an awesome author; she writes amazing mysteries. Right as you start reading this book it will catch you. So, if you are looking for a real mysterious book, I would read this awesome book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    Missing book 1: found

    This book has a whole bunch of mystery written on it. In the beginning of this book there is a lot of imagery. Things in this book just disappear and vanish instantly. I like this book because I like mystery books. Right at the beginning of this book, it pulls you in and you don't want to put it down. If you like mysterious books this is the book for you. Margret Peterson Haddix has written many books but this is the best one I have ever read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I love this book!I am twelve years old and almost every book I get bored within the first 10 pages. But this book I read in about 2 days.I thought this was Margret's best book.Just read it and you'll see why.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Detailed

    I will give it to the author she is great with all the details, but they are just trying to get out of the cave it was very suspensful. I do like the other books a little better it sometimes got boring when they were just in that cave for half the book. Overall, great series recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Genius plot, execution lacking

    Although the plot of Found was pure genius, and the suspense of the book kept me on my toes, the execution lacked the characteristics to enjoy the book. The characters were hardly believable and unreal. I firmly believe this book could have been a million times better then say, Twilight, had it been properly executed. Specifically, I had no feel to any of the characters except for Chip in the beginning when he discovers that he is adopted, and can not speak to his mother and father about it. Jonah appeared to be the sheltered good boy from a normal family, constantly showing a lack of concerns and worries until towards the end. Chip probably was the closest Haddix created to normal kids that are 13. Slightly misunderstood, on the line of childish and grown up like any other teenager, Chip portrays a fairly decent teenage boy for the age 13. I found that though Katherine, another protagonist, was very smart and helpful, also contained the behavior of a girly and whiny child with the stereotypical traits of a teenage girl who wants the latest and greatest of the superficial materialistic world she seems to believe in(like when she bothered her mom about the brand jeans 'everyone' was wearing). Katherine didn't bother me, but rather she became a surprisingly useful character to the story (evidence in the fact she was resourceful enough to take the pictures of the government documents with her camera phone). Looking back, she reminds me of a teenage Elle Woods from Legally Blonde. I was hardly amused and completely perplexed by some of the petty, pointless, and unreasonable decisions with lack of logic. The plot was amazing, but the book itself became a complete waist of my time. It really had immense potential and could have been above and beyond. I was truly disappointed. Certain things, such as dialogue, had been deficient on elements of reality, rationality, and sensibility. Actually, Haddix seems to tell a good lesson within the pages of this book. Throughout the story, Jonah, Katherine, and Chip rely on each other as friends for a lot of vital things in their lives. The importance of friends and power of friends is shown as very powerful and mutually shared between the characters. Throughout a child's life, through their young ages to teen years, when they can't rely on anyone else, they go to their friends. Though the friendships don't always last, at one point, they were strong as the bonds of family and were a true part of growing up. To say the least, Found was like an exceedingly atrocious Disney movie.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Awsome book!

    I loved this book! If you like time travel and mysteries, than this is the book for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    The best part of this story to me is the fact that its main char

    The best part of this story to me is the fact that its main character Jonah and his friend chip are adopted. Normally that wouldn’t be but being adopted myself it gave an instant connection for me. In reality only the beginning where they talk about thing like felling like an outsider and to an extent even in your own family. Personally I felt that when chip asked “why did my real parents give me up?” it hit home in a way that only someone who is adopted could understand. After the beginning when you start talking about being one of the missing some of the issues and questions are answered, but at the same time I felt some of the best parts were lost in the fiction and I wished that the book tried to relate to those adopted more then turning into just another science fiction story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Hi

    Please do not insult the book or the author because Found is my favorite out of the three that I read. This is my favorite series of books. Oh, and yes, I am a girl. I am reading the series with my friends for book club. If you agree with me, press yes. Also make a comment if you are a girl and you love these books too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    To s*** f**** o c***

    Watch your language !!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hooked.

    After borrowing this book from a library for a presentation in class, I expected myself to take a few days to get through it. I was soo wrong. After getting immediately hooked from the prolouge, I got in trouble several times for reading in class, and had my face stuck in it for the rest of the afternoon. (I also ran into a few people, but let's not talk about that...)
    I ended up finishing it tonight, and was on the verge of tearing out my teeth from all of the suspense it cause me to endure. I reccomend this book mostly to younger readers because of the light tones the story takes on, and the easy comprehension it has. Even though it is told from a seventh-grader's point of view, I beleive an actual seventh grader would feel comfortable reading something more advanced. Mostly a fourth-grader, or maybe a fifth or sixth-grader would be challenged with this specific reading material.
    I am not telling anyone not in the age range to stay away from this book. I beleive any person, of any and all ages would probably adore this book like me, and I am in extreme support of that.
    This is my first book by Margaret Peterson Haddix, and I can already tell by her unique writing style that she is an extrordinarily good story teller.
    I am already eager to go back to the library tomorrow to see if they have the next book in, and if not, I do beleive it is time for another trip to the book store!! (I kind of prefer books over nooks... sorry! NO OFFENSE TO YOU, MY WUVVLY NOOK!!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great one by Margaret Peterson Haddix

    After reading EVERY BOOK in the Shadow Children series, i knew that Found would be another thrill ride.
    The main character in this book is adopted, but you dont have to be adopted to connect to the story line.
    Jonah, his sister Katherine, and his new friend Chip are thrown into a world of mystery and confusion when they get mysterious letters with no return address. in order tio find out who they are, where they came from, and who their birth parents are, they must get the FBI involved. but when no one listens, they have to figure it out by themselves. in the end, they are closer to finding out the truth, but have to go on another mission.
    this book gives you information about finding yourself and being confident, but you are still wrapped up in the mystery and suspense.
    Found is really great and i would reccommend it to everyone. and be sure to look out for the next book in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Sounds good!

    I admit i have not read this book. But all my classmates have. Seems like a very good book. And i am planning on reading it. If you think i shoud, klick yes. if not, click no.
    Thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Best book ever

    SUPER GOOD BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42