BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Found (Missing Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 828 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(569)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Really Awesome Book!!!!!!!

Found is an awesome book. My friend told me about this book,even though I almost rejected it. Then they told me that it was about a disappearing plane. I was stoked about reading it. When i read the first 5 chapters I was soso about it, but after that i was so into the ...
Found is an awesome book. My friend told me about this book,even though I almost rejected it. Then they told me that it was about a disappearing plane. I was stoked about reading it. When i read the first 5 chapters I was soso about it, but after that i was so into the book i read it at 12am until like 3am every day. Now that I'm done with the book, I'm so crazy about reading the next book. I left the last chapter alone until i couldnt wait anymore because the suspense was killing me. I really recommend this book to anyone the age of 10 to 50*. Found is the most suspenseful book of 2008!!!! IM goin to be on the line of the next book!! If u hate reading books, then this BOOK (Found) will change ur mind completely.





* they wish. if you read the book you'll know what i mean.

posted by JLegend on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

If you have read Haddix (#1) you must be interested in mystry books. If you are not interesred mystry books I would recomend that you do not read this book. I was not entertained or amused by this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Found will Rock YOU!

    When I heard about this book, I had to order it from Scholastic! I read it in 2 days and couldn't put it down. The letters that begin the plot make the mystery a never ending suspense full of adventures. The story unravels new conquests that keep you absorbed in Haddix' unique style of writing! I love her writing so much, that the next book can't get here fast enough! Hooray for HADDIX! ANOTHER WINNER!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    FOUND

    FOUND
    Is your worst nightmare that you were being stalked and almost kidnapped by adults? Well in the book FOUND by Margaret Peterson Haddix it is really no joke for the kids -- it is real. I am writing about Found because it is a mystery book and I adore mystery books.
    The beginning starts with two boys playing basketball in a driveway.
    "You don't look like your sister," Chip said bouncing the ball low against the driveway. Then his friend Jonah replied "Adopted." "You or her or both?" Chip questioned "Just me." Page 1
    Then the two boys went inside for some beverages. A week later Jonah received a letter with no return address and it read "you are one of the missing." That night Chip came by. He had received the same note. It turns out he was adopted as well. Two weeks later they both got a note saying "Beware they are coming back for you." Now Chip and Jonah are both getting very frightened.

    Next, in the middle of the book Jonah and Chip will both do anything to find out who their real parents are. One clear Wednesday morning Jonah and his family go to meet a man named John Reardon, he supposedly might be a person who knows information about Jonah's real parents. About thirty minutes into the meeting Jonah ran to the bathroom to vomit because of the things that Reardon had said about his parents. Before he left the bathroom a man in a maintenance guy appeared and told Jonah to look at the folder on Reardon's desk, then he vanished. Jonah went out of the bathroom and asked his parents if they saw the maintenance guy and his parents responded, "Who?" They said he was the only one to go in and come out of the bathroom. So Jonah went back to the meeting room and saw the folder on Reardon's desk and took a glimpse and he saw his name and Chip's name under the title Survivors.
    .
    Jonah went home and told Chip about their names being under Survivors, and Chip responded by saying that they should stop searching for their real parents before they get hurt. Jonah replied by saying "Not a chance."
    Now to wrap up the story without giving away the ending. The two boys go on an adventure to figure out who their real parents are. They meet new people who help them on their journey. That is just a piece of the book Found but to know the whole story read Found. Chip asks "Do you think they will have chicken wings in the twelfth century?" then they landed and walked on soil of the twelfth century. (And yes they do time travel.) That was just a piece of the story.



    Read this book if you like mysteries. I would rank the book four out of five be cause I know that the beginning could have been better. This book is for boys and girls in 4th - 6th grade.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Detailed

    I will give it to the author she is great with all the details, but they are just trying to get out of the cave it was very suspensful. I do like the other books a little better it sometimes got boring when they were just in that cave for half the book. Overall, great series recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hooked.

    After borrowing this book from a library for a presentation in class, I expected myself to take a few days to get through it. I was soo wrong. After getting immediately hooked from the prolouge, I got in trouble several times for reading in class, and had my face stuck in it for the rest of the afternoon. (I also ran into a few people, but let's not talk about that...)
    I ended up finishing it tonight, and was on the verge of tearing out my teeth from all of the suspense it cause me to endure. I reccomend this book mostly to younger readers because of the light tones the story takes on, and the easy comprehension it has. Even though it is told from a seventh-grader's point of view, I beleive an actual seventh grader would feel comfortable reading something more advanced. Mostly a fourth-grader, or maybe a fifth or sixth-grader would be challenged with this specific reading material.
    I am not telling anyone not in the age range to stay away from this book. I beleive any person, of any and all ages would probably adore this book like me, and I am in extreme support of that.
    This is my first book by Margaret Peterson Haddix, and I can already tell by her unique writing style that she is an extrordinarily good story teller.
    I am already eager to go back to the library tomorrow to see if they have the next book in, and if not, I do beleive it is time for another trip to the book store!! (I kind of prefer books over nooks... sorry! NO OFFENSE TO YOU, MY WUVVLY NOOK!!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    FOUND My book is called found. I really liked this book, beca

    FOUND


    My book is called found. I really liked this book, because it was really weird. There was these two boys playing basketball then the mail came so they went to get it, and it was mostly mail then they came to a letter addressed to one of the boys. So then they opened it and it said “You are one of the missing.” Then a few days latter his friend got the same letter. Then a couple days latter he got another letter saying “They are coming back to get you!” But the weird thing about it, was they were both adopted

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Cool!

    Very cool book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Its pretty good.

    This isnt the greatest book. It sounds more interesting than it actually was. To me, its one of those books that u read after u just read a really good book. Im more than halfway finished and i havent seen much action yet. And in the 2 big action scenes, there wasnt much detail. It definately not my first choice in reading materials but it wasnt bad. I have definately seen Margaret Peterson Haddix do better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Loved this book

    I am in fifth grade, and last year for an enrichment program I read an interesting book called Found. So in an attemt to find that interest again I looked it up on your's truly, the nook, and made a review.

    Honestly this book was great but the amount of research I had to do to understand this book was crazy. Four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Fun book for young readers

    I read this along with my son because he wanted me to and I was pleasantly surprised. I actually read the next one as well... The writing is a bit basic but the content is fun and appropriate for a 10 year old (whose reading level is above highschool but for whom we struggle to find age appropriate content).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely reccomended.

    I would recomend this book to anyone if they love mystery, or sci fi. I loved it because of the suspence and the action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    great book :]

    You should really read it. When people say dont judge a book by the cover, this in one of this times. This was a good book that you didnt want to put down. I reccomend you get this, if you like, thrills, adventures, and a little bit of mysteries.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Review for Found. Really Good Book

    I found this series while I eas searching for a book to read at the library and I happend to stumble across thus book. I read the in-side cover and it sounded pretty good so I checked it out. When I got home I couldn't keep my eyes off the book. I was literary glued to it for 3 days. I recomend this book for 4th-6th graders.

    This book is about a boy named Jonah his sister Katherine (who was really a blood dauter of Jonah and Katherine's parents) Jonah's friend Chip ,who was adopted also, and mistarys unreveling step by step ,mistary by mistary,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Hi

    Yolo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Imagine for second that you are a kid again, but you were adopt

    Imagine for second that you are a kid again, but you were adopted and are just going into middle school as a 6th grader. Everything is good and you have a great best friend to hang with, but here’s the twist. You start getting random letters with no addresses saying you are one of the missing and later your friend finds out something that will change his and your life forever. In this review I will be talking about the action packed book Found by Margret Peterson.
    This book is one of the best books I have ever read, and I am not really interesting in reading so that means something about the book if I actually finished it. One of the many important events In this book is when the plane landed with all the babies on board. But one of the most important events in this book is when Jonah received his first letter saying that “you are one of the missing” in the mail and he thought it was just a prank. Another important event is when his friend Chip also receives a letter saying the same thing as Jonah’s and he finds out something he never knew about himself that his parents never told him about. One other important event is when Johan and his family goes to find about his birth parents and the government won’t let him know any thing for some reason. Finally the last important event that happened in this book was when Jonah and chip goes to the “time cave” and end up in the 15th century.
    The best part on the book in my opinion was the beginning when the plane landed and Jonah started receiving the letters, because it had the most suspense and that is my favorite type of book I like to read, and it also led you in and continuously left you thinking about what is going to happen next to get you to read more of the book. I also enjoyed how it was easy to understand what was going on and wasn’t confusing like some of the other books like this one. One flaw I did find in this book was that it was mostly entertaining, but at times there was a part of me that just wanted to put the book down and do something else. But other than that this book is on my list for top ten favorite books to read.
    If you are a person between 13 and 16 and are reading this review then I suggest you go and buy this book right now. Because in this entire highly entertaining book Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix you will find not only find mystery, but some action, suspense, and courage that will want to keep you reading till the end, and maybe get you thinking “Was I adopted to?”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Good MORGAN B.

    A good book although needs a little more plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Pretty good book!

    Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Found:)

    Found started out boring,but then it got better.I liked that in the book, it had a bunch of different little mysteries, then at the end,they came all together and they all made sense! Found is an awesome book, and I cant wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Skit123

    Its great but, its kinda slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Founf

    I liked the book but i wish they would have at least included every one of the missing childrens real names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    The best book ever!

    You will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8