Customer Reviews for

Found (Secrets of Crittenden County Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes a series comes around, you find yourself reading the b

    Sometimes a series comes around, you find yourself reading the book so quickly, you realize you're finished before you know it. Then unfortunately there is the long wait before the next book in the series is released. The saddest part is when you realize you've reached the end of the series and you're reading the final novel. It's like saying goodbye to friends, you know you may never see again. Each of them has found a special place in your heart. That's exactly what happens in the conclusion to The Secrets of Crittenden County, by Shelly Shepard Gray in the book, Found.What I love about this series, is due to the length of time between books, you kinda forget what happened in the previous books, but Shelley solves that by offering a prologue to help you remember where you left off. LOVE this idea and wish more authors used this in their series!

    Throughout this series, there has been the murder of an Amish man, Perry Borntrager, who was found lying dead at the bottom of a well and no apparent suspects. We've learned that Perry wasn't well-liked among his Amish neighbors and friends and was recently fired for stealing from the store he was working out. Perry appeared to be living more in the English world than the Amish one, and had recently broken up with his girlfriend, Lydia. It seems besides the fact that the Amish don't talk about their issues to anyone, especially outside the community, they have been keeping secrets from one another as well.

    Now with the investigation finally wrapping up, we are about to learn who really killed Perry Borntrager as well as find out what will happen to some recent love developments that have happened along the series, especially with the Amish Inn owner, Frannie and the English detective, Luke Reynolds. Will they be able to find a way to make their relationship work despite their cultural differences? What role does love have to play in all this? Lydia has found love with Walker Anderson, but what secrets are they holding? Will Beth find love in the heart of the Amish or will it lead her to interests outside the community instead? What about the notes his sister, Deborah, has been hiding? What do they say? To find out, you'll definitely need to pick up this series, but start at the beginning with Missing, then The Search and finally Found!

    I received Found by Shelley Shepard Gray compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I've been so excited to be a part of this tour series from the beginning and am both sad and happy. Sad because as I stated above, it's over and it's hard to say goodbye to some of these amazing characters. I am also happy because even though along the way you may have been guessing, who did it and who will finally get together, you will finally have your answers and you might just be surprised when you find out. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and once again will keep this one on my permanent shelf to read again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    ArtemisWind-Chapter Six

    I awoke with a cool cloth on my head. Fragments of the prophecy swam in my head. I groaned and sat up. When my vision cleared I saw a tall man with brilliant blonde hair standing at the end of my bed. "Apollo." I asked. He turned and smiled, "The terrorist's awake." I furrowed my brow. "Terrorist?" I asked. "Yeah. You're all over the news, kid." He smiled "Aphrodite's getting jealous." "Wait. What?" I asked startled. "Beating little mortals up in STYLE? I am officially wowed." He teased. I groaned. "Oh brother. Dad saw that?" I really hoped not. Apollo gave me a mug of tea. "He is the lord of the skies after all." He nodded glumly. I sat back and closed my eyes. I heard the creak of the door as he wakked out. I waited for five minutes and then jumped out of bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    This was another good and final installment in this series. It s

    This was another good and final installment in this series. It seems like a lot was wrapped up in this one though I am not sure how I feel about it all. Some of it was good, some characters finding resolution or forgiveness while others do not. There is heartbreak as well as healing. I am not sure I found everything wrapped up soundly for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Surprise Ending! Found is the last book in The Secrets of Critt

    Surprise Ending!

    Found is the last book in The Secrets of Crittenden County Series.  I read this book in a day and a half.  
    I just had to find out who killed Perry Borntrager.  I thought I had it figured out when I was over halfway
    through this book.  I was wrong, wrong, wrong!  It shocked me to find out who really did it.

    I loved the budding romances between Luke and Frannie, Walker and Lydia, and Jacob and Deborah.  
    I do hope the author plans a book or books in the future that will let us know what happens to these
    characters we have come to love reading about.

    Author Shelley Shepard Gray has never disappointed me with her books.  I loved this trilogy.  
    The mystery, the twists, the romance was a real page turner.

    I can’t wait to read Daybreak.  I’m sure this one will be another great page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Found: The Secrets of Crittenden County Shelley Shepard Gray Bo

    Found: The Secrets of Crittenden County
    Shelley Shepard Gray

    Book Summary: A murder is solved and a quiet Amish community must deal with the repercussions. Amid the surprising revelations, can a newfound love survive? As the search for Perry Borntrager's killer continues, Jacob Schrock feels like his world is about to crumble. Right before Perry went missing, he and Jacob got into a fistfight. Jacob never told anyone what happened that terrible night. He's good at keeping secrets-including his love for Deborah, Perry's sister. But when Deborah takes a job at his family's store and their friendship blossoms, Jacob senses everything is about to be revealed. Deborah has been searching for a slice of happiness ever since her brother's body was discovered. When the police start questioning Jacob, Deborah can't believe that the one person she's finally allowed in could be the one responsible for her brother's death. Will she believe what everyone seems to think is the truth . . . or listen to her heart, and hope there is still one more person who is keeping secrets in Crittenden County?

    Review: I really have enjoyed the entire trilogy. So much has changed since the series began. I laughed and cried when the mystery was solved. The people kept their secrets close to their hearts. It was an emotional end and everyone had a hand in the death of Perry as Deborah told her parents. It was an anticlimactic end that rounded out the mystery that loomed over so many people’s heads. I was surprised by who did it, for I had figured someone else for the murder. But as is true in life murder is passion run amok. Ms. Gray’s ending was much more realistic and tragic. It was definitely a series worth reading. Thanks for the ride Ms. Gray and making vividly real the many characters in your story.

    I would like to thank Edelweiss and Avon Inspire for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Crittenden County Series, book 3, Found

    Having now read all 3 books in this Crittenden County series, overall, i am disappointed. This triology could have and should have been told in one book. I enjoyed the characters, but there was too much repitition from one book to the next. It was not that complicated of a story to require the triliogy; it seems more like a marketing trick to sell more books. Nonetheless, if you enjoy this genre, why not read it yourself - you might disagree with me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Great series of books! I read all 3 in a week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this series by shelley Shepard Grey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Found by Shelley Shepard Gray is the final book in the Secrets

    Found by Shelley Shepard Gray is the final book in the Secrets of Crittenden County series about how the murder of Perry Borntrager shakes up his Amish community. While the police believe they are close to finding his killer, Perry's former best friend, Jacob Schrock has much to regret and hide about his final meeting with Perry. Deborah, Perry's younger sister, is finally starting to break out from her parents' shell and find a life of her own, which includes working at Schrocks' Variety Store. She's had a crush on Jacob since she was a little girl who followed Perry and Jacob everywhere, but since Perry stole from the store and turned to drugs, Jacob has treated her as though she were the villain. But Jacob is finally starting to see Deborah as her own person instead of as an extension of the Borntrager family, and he can see just what a beautiful woman she has become, but as details of Perry's last day on earth emerge, it tests the couple's newfound attraction. Gray, as always, has created a town filled with people who feel very real and readers would love to visit or even move to! Deborah is the central character in this book, and she's a real standout. Just finding her way and strength, I wish Gray would continue with her story because she's a rare find. There are few flaws in the book: Jacob apologizes to Deborah her first day working at the store, and she is touched by his change of heart, yet the next time they meet things are just as tense; and after Luke interviews Jacob about the murder, he is certain of Jacob's guilt, yet just a page later he believes his story. In the end, Gray has done a great job of portraying a community's reaction to the murder of a son and how it will impact them all in the years to come. She was more interested in focusing on that than on the gory details of death or the intricacies of a police investigation, and the story is powerful because of her focus on the people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    recommended

    Great book, love her work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1