Customer Reviews for

Foundation (Foundation Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    I first read these when I was in my early twenties. I have been a real fan of the classic SF writers, Asimov is one of the beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Classic sci-fi

    A great science fiction novel that is also a study in human nature. There are no monsters, explosions, or larger than life space battles, but it is a compelling read nonetheless. Amazingly intelligent and thoroughly thought out and planned, it will leave you wanting to read the next installments in The Foundation series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent

    Amazing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing sci fi story!

    This is the first book in an amazing sci fi story, once you start youll be hooked. I only wish there where more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Best sci fi of all time!

    I absolutely loved this book, it's just so great! He describes the characters anf their behaviors so well, I feel like am really there"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Does it ever end!

    Sorry, I really tried. I just couldn' t get into this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Sci-fi at it's best

    What is so amazing about Isaac Asimov's Foundation series is the fact that he wrote it in the 1950's. I would have to say that this is the best science fiction series ever. It is just as fresh and far reaching all sci-fi books should be. I have read some of today's best science fiction authors and there is not one who Asimov has not influenced. If anyone is thinking of getting into science fiction, this is the series to start with. I just wish he was still alive to create more amazing stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Adult Science Fiction at its best!

    Asimov is the godfather of all science fiction. If you want to immerse yourself in an intellecutally challenging series, this is the one (and the related I Robot series).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    not loving it

    I had heard so much good about this series that I was really looking forward to reading it but I found this book dull. The characters were completely undeveloped and I quit reading half way through. :o( Too bad, because I love true sci fi.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Usual SciFi

    The story of this book does not follow the usual line of action, alien invasion, or massive political warfare in the cosmos. It sometimes touches on these, but does not focus on them. Instead it is a tale of human development given a set number of variables. (i.e. space travel, advanced sciences, ...etc.) Instead of being dry like one would first assume, it is very interesting and keeps ones attention but does not make one want to read it all in one day. So, the slow serious reader will undoubtedly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Significant and Compelling Novel

    The Foundation Series focuses upon the advent of psychohistorian Hari Seldon's Foundations, which were established at the opposite corners of the galaxy to preserve mankind and protect it from its own destruction. Foundation chronicles important developments in the maintainence of the Foundations, as well as certain issues that every civilization, sooner or later, must confront.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    an interesting read

    the first of the foundation novels does well to document Asimov's progress as a writer. sure, the plotting is brilliant, but even then, the book is highly disjointed and lacks the brilliant cohesiveness of his other works (pardonable, considering it was initially published as separate short stories). and the character development is nowhere near where it was in, say, Foundation's Edge.--the characters here are exclusively male and are all essentially undeveloped--boring, basically without history, and utterly forgettable. any number of characters could have spouted wings and flown away, and it wouldn't have been entirely surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Way before its time

    This book is way before its time in the way that it was written before sputnik and all those time capsules and even before space travel. What a mind Asimov had in 1951 when he wrote this at only 30-31 years-old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Thoroughly enjoyable in my opinion.

    This book deserves its reputation. It is an amazing story that is based around Nuclear Power and how it has influenced a new era after the fall of a Galactic Empire which reigned for 12 millenia. A man named Hari Seldon foresaw this fall by using a science that he has honed called Psychohistory. This science essentially allows one to predict group behavior mathematically by observing the past. He then sends people off to a small planet on the outskirts of the Galaxy, the Periphery, called Terminus. Now during this decline, Terminus becomes a beacon of Science throughout all of the smaller kingdoms that start sprouting up around it. The book goes on from there and is very neat. Now, what I thought was cool, and I suppose others thought of it in a more pejorative sense, is that the whole story is told within dialog among the characters involved. I found this to be very straight to the point and contributes to its place within the genre of Hard Science Fiction. It's not really about character development, it's about the issues involved. I enjoyed it personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Think prespace race

    Isaac Asimov was 31 when this novel was published (1951). When you you put the fact that this novel was written in its entirety before sputnik and the space race it is a truely wonderful piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    It was ok

    i liked the settings and everything, but Isaac jumped between ten to twelve different people. he is a very accomplished writer, but even though he's dead, if he were alive i would ask him to write a book without jumping. it just so happens i'm doing a criticism research paper, so any who writes, give me some of your thought on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    a FOUNDATION for sci-fi? Not quite.

    This book is just barely worth the five stars that it earned. Some have proclaimed that the Foundation series is one of the best sci-fi epics of all time...but in all honesty, it read more like a script to a movie rather than a 'cornerstone in science fiction history'. A good 90% of the book is dialogue. However Foundation does a decent job of portraying the future world of mankind in all it's vastness --which sometimes yields extremely unbelievable results. The character development in this title does not even come close in comparison to some other books (such as Dune, the science fiction masterpiece). In fact, it seemed like character development wasn't much of a priority for Asimov at all. The characters acted more or less as a medium, in which the reader could view his (Asimov's) world from many different perspectives. Despite Foundation's many flaws (which could easily be discussed in this review for almost an eternity), it is still an excellent book that anyone could enjoy, and probably read within hours. It is HIGHLY recommended for fans of science fiction...and if you weren't really looking forward to its...'greatness' (like me), you will really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    the best of all time

    The foundation trilogy is by far the best science fiction of all time, and better than any fantasy, as well. It is to be read again and again- be sure to go in order!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Definitely one of the greatest Science Fiction books of all time

    A futuristic tale of the fate of our galaxy. Read this Book!!!! Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    A futuristic and political 'Boomtown'

    'Foundation' is a book that shows the view of the Galactic Empire from the views of different social classes. It is seen through the eyes of the Trade Princes, the Psychohistorians, the Empire itself, and the Encyclopediaists. It shows the fauts of the Empire as well as it's great accomplishments. It also shows the corruption and greediness of a Political Power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17