Customer Reviews for

Founders: A Novel of the Coming Collapse

Average Rating 2.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

This is the forth book from James W Rawles that I've purchased, and the first review that I've written for any of them. On several of the online book purchase websites there are a good number of negative reviews. Most of these are around his open discussion on Christia...
This is the forth book from James W Rawles that I've purchased, and the first review that I've written for any of them. On several of the online book purchase websites there are a good number of negative reviews. Most of these are around his open discussion on Christianity, lack of character development, or whatever. So let me sum it up for those of you that have his other books, and those that are interested if you should buy his first.

In my opinion Rawles has a few themes throughout his books, and this one falls in line with them.

First, is that faith, hope and charity are as important as bullets and beans. He talks about faith throughout the book, but goes into some specifics for about 12 total pages out of around 300. If you have his other books, it is about the same as far as the content ratio goes.

Second, is that he tries to create a balance between practical planning and equipment usage, with the background of a storyline. I know of no other author that does this. Unlike many post-apocalyptic books, you can actually get product names and use this as a reference guide.

Third, is that self-reliance and freedom go hand in hand. Those dependent on a government can not be free from it's dictates, and when that dependency is threatened those people tend to strike out in violence and desperation.

If you already have one or two of his books, and liked them, then you will enjoy this one too. If you don't have one, and are concerned about the negative comments, don't be too concerned with them. If you aren't Christian, then there's only about 12 pages that go deep into the subject, but it's not Bible thumping.

posted by 9130757 on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Let Down.

I loved the first two books in this series. This one however was a big let down. To start with, large sections are essays on religion passed off as character development. They take away from the story, bore those who share the same religious views and alienate those who...
I loved the first two books in this series. This one however was a big let down. To start with, large sections are essays on religion passed off as character development. They take away from the story, bore those who share the same religious views and alienate those who do not. Religion is fine, just not subtly. If you have to read this book because it Rawle's or you want to continue the series, just be ready to skip several pages once in awhile. Second, this book jumps around terribly in timeline and characters. With no transition or reason, you cannot jump from several different parts in several different story lines in only a few pages.

Also, one storyline is basically cut and pasted from book two.

I finished it and it was "ehh". Kind of a lets finish it because I paid for it. I wouldn't buy again and I won't even look at a book four of this series. Go read Patriots and then Survivors by Rawles, but not this one.

posted by BLW10 on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Let Down.

    I loved the first two books in this series. This one however was a big let down. To start with, large sections are essays on religion passed off as character development. They take away from the story, bore those who share the same religious views and alienate those who do not. Religion is fine, just not subtly. If you have to read this book because it Rawle's or you want to continue the series, just be ready to skip several pages once in awhile. Second, this book jumps around terribly in timeline and characters. With no transition or reason, you cannot jump from several different parts in several different story lines in only a few pages.

    Also, one storyline is basically cut and pasted from book two.

    I finished it and it was "ehh". Kind of a lets finish it because I paid for it. I wouldn't buy again and I won't even look at a book four of this series. Go read Patriots and then Survivors by Rawles, but not this one.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Disappionted

    I was disappointed by Founders. After what I thought was a so-so book in Patriots, I thought the author knocked it out of the park with Survivors. This I feel is a significant step back. The first issue I have is that the main story throughout the book is of the Layton’s journey to their group’s retreat after an economic collapse. I knew this was the case coming in but the details of the journey just weren’t interesting and didn’t add much to the overall story of the three books. If you are reading this first (or second after Survivors which is the order I would suggest) I think it would be better but if you have already read Patriots it doesn’t seem to offer much to the overall story. Second the Author also seems to revert back to his lists to fill the pages. We get it, the government has banned every conceivable weapon you don’t have to make us read the entire list to get the point across. Same thing with the list of what the Layton’s are carrying or have left in their car. It just doesn’t add anything. Not adding to the story brings my to my last gripe. At the beginning of the book there is a ton of talk about religion. I don’t mind it and I’m not going to penalize the author for putting it in, but I will penalize him for putting it in where it doesn’t add anything to the story. He’ll spend tons of time talking about how their lives are guided by religion then skip over a decade of their life in the story. If you’re going to write a book about religion, write a book about religion. If you’re going to write a book about survivors in an economic collapse, write that. If you’re trying to combine the two please make sure that how you incorporate both, please have it add to the story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    A big disappointment

    While I loved "Patriot's", and was eagerly awaiting "Founders", I have to admit to being really disappointed once it finally arrived. This book was short and basically appeared to be sections of the Patriot's that was edited out of the original. The story contained very little of the useful information included in the original. I'd recommend it to any James Wesley, Rawles fan; but just know that it's nothing like the original.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Not worth the money

    I was really looking forward to this novel after reading Patriots. I even pre-ordered the book, but I wish I had read the reviews before I ordered the book.

    This book is a rehash of his earlier works including many sections which were either directly lifted from his previous two novels or were reworded slightly.

    The characters were one dimensional, the dialogue was stiff, the timeline constantly jumps back and forth, and the storyline was regurgitated.

    I've read books that were ten times better that were 1/4 the cost of this book.

    My suggestion - save your money...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This is the forth book from James W Rawles that I've purchased, and the first review that I've written for any of them. On several of the online book purchase websites there are a good number of negative reviews. Most of these are around his open discussion on Christianity, lack of character development, or whatever. So let me sum it up for those of you that have his other books, and those that are interested if you should buy his first.

    In my opinion Rawles has a few themes throughout his books, and this one falls in line with them.

    First, is that faith, hope and charity are as important as bullets and beans. He talks about faith throughout the book, but goes into some specifics for about 12 total pages out of around 300. If you have his other books, it is about the same as far as the content ratio goes.

    Second, is that he tries to create a balance between practical planning and equipment usage, with the background of a storyline. I know of no other author that does this. Unlike many post-apocalyptic books, you can actually get product names and use this as a reference guide.

    Third, is that self-reliance and freedom go hand in hand. Those dependent on a government can not be free from it's dictates, and when that dependency is threatened those people tend to strike out in violence and desperation.

    If you already have one or two of his books, and liked them, then you will enjoy this one too. If you don't have one, and are concerned about the negative comments, don't be too concerned with them. If you aren't Christian, then there's only about 12 pages that go deep into the subject, but it's not Bible thumping.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    What a let down!

    His first book was excellent. The next was verry good. This was very bad!

    The first 110 pages are religious education. Next hatred of the UN. Next...never mind.

    Where did the author I liked go? Time frames out of order! Tirades against foul langage! List after detailed list of weapons and equipment!

    This was great review of famous writings: by other people!

    I cannot recomend this to anyone!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Horrible

    Dont waste your money on this one. I WAS a fan of his but this was bad enough that i could hardly finish it. He took bits and pieces from previous works and threw in a whole lot of garbage with it. Shame on you Mr. Rawles

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Don't waste your money.

    About 40% of each chapter was ramble - way to much description for the content offered. I caught myself skipping through whole pages to get to the story, then I just stopped...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a bad book but not as good as the previous one in this serie

    Not a bad book but not as good as the previous one in this series, Survivors. If you know the author you know there is a purpose to his preachy prose, he is spreading the prepper gospel just as LaHaye uses Left Behind to spread the pre-trib Rapture Bible prophecy gospel. Its the realism of Rawles' books and the authentic prepper advice that makes his work so compelling. If you aren't into that you will be disappointed. If you are then you will be very very pleased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not up to par

    Bit of a disappointment from previous books by the same author. Not an enjoyable read, tedious, excessive religious references, just not a real good "page turner".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Having read the two previous books by the same author this was d

    Having read the two previous books by the same author this was disappointing, to say the least!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Of the three in the series, this is my second favorite. Gives m

    Of the three in the series, this is my second favorite. Gives more background info on main characters in first book "Patriots". Better than "Survivors".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Mildly entertaining. Mostly scraps from "Survivors" an

    Mildly entertaining. Mostly scraps from "Survivors" and "Patriots", but does fill in some voids from those previous books. I would not have enjoyed this book near as much had I not read the previous ones.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Check it out!!

    I believe this is a must read. When you seriously think about what is going on around the world economically and politically, this book is a must read to get your mind in the right place prior to the wrong times.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Went off the rails somewhere

    I have read the first two books in this series and enjoyed them; however, I found this one to be disappointing. Somewhere along the line, the story went completely off the tracks and devolved into a hyper-speculative future devoid of reason. Cue the tinfoil hat brigade! The storyline was muddled and out of order but was still somewhat enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    I just finished this book.  I think it had too many characters,

    I just finished this book.  I think it had too many characters, and the constant skipping around and going back in time became an 
    annoyance.  The religious fervor became a bit much as well.  I chose this book for the adventure, not the religious indoctrination.  
    I did appreciate the info. on some of the gear used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    Makes you think about the current conditions and what could happen, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Having not read the other books in this series I cannot judge th

    Having not read the other books in this series I cannot judge the merit of the series. However, if this book represents the series, it is in trouble. it is a combination of ultra conservative political garbage and apocalyptic prophecy masquerading as a "prepper's" handbook. This has the effect of making the book an incredibly dull version of Ron Paul's worst political rabbit hole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    What a great book

    Loved it. Written very well. Could not put it down. Loved that the author in scriptures and christian themes. After all that is what our country was founded on. Will go back and purchase his previous titles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Very enjoyable read. Highly recommend.

    Extremely well written. Very hard to put down. I lost several hours of sleep due to this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2