Customer Reviews for

Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So How Did It All Turn Out?

Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early d...
Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early days of our Republic and the brilliant, flawed, dedicated, wise, sometimes simply wrong political leaders. Yet, they held it all together in the end. They didn't lose the dream of freedom that had urged so many men to risk everything, even their lives, for a chance to live that dream..

If, like me, your understanding of American history is little more than that fast trip through high school history, this is delicious reading. Ellis is a seductive story teller who brings the Americon icons like Washington, Adams, and Jefferson to life with all their splendor and warts showing. Somehow, you think more highly of them and their accomplishments, often against staggering odds, because they were not perfect, but simply men who carried a shared vision that meant everything to them.

I recommend you not miss this chance to know them well.

posted by MarjorieMorningstar on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

WORST AP United States History Assignment EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original d...
Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original draft and then added every insignificant FLUFF word he could think of. If this book was giving as a punishment it is pretty much guarantied the punished individual would never misbehave again. I hate this book and only read it because it was required for my class, and I have absolutely no idea why a sane person would read this novel for pleasure.

posted by 4435989 on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Very interesting

    Great insight into the relationships between our founding fathers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    CRYSTALGIRL NATIONWIDE SYSTEM IS OPEN

    CRYSTAL IS HERE TO ANSWER UR QUESTIONS ANS SHE IS FAMOUS ADVICER EVER ANYONE HAD! SPEAD THE WORD EVERYWHERE! WE WILL ANSWER EVERYTHING IF I AM OFFLINE USE OTHER OF MY STAFF, THANK YOU

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Self-Happiness Hang out

    Chatit. We will come to join.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I had to read this book for my reading class in 8th grade. If i were you and you were younger than about 17 i would not read this. It wad by far the most boring book i have ever read. Not only is it boring, it is just difficult to understand because of the sentence stuctureand vocabulary Ellis uses. Of course i am only 13 and probably do not fully appreciate the quality information that this book has. Although if you are really interested and excited about early american government this book would be for you. Overall if i hadn't had to of read this book for a school grade i would have quit reading it after the first page.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Horrible

    Worst book i ever read. Actually couldn't finish it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I LOVE this Book

    It is a wonderful book that gives you a peek into the world of the founding fathers of our country. I found it INCREDIBLY entertaining and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great read!

    The author brings these historical figures to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Ummm...its Okayy

    I love history but this book was not fun to read. I had to read it for my Dual Credit History Class. Some of it was intersting but majority of it was boring.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    for history lovers GREAT! for the people that don't...eh...

    I am usually a really good reader, but this book was almost painful for me to read...(keep in mind that i am a 16 year old and i had to read this book for history) but there was some witty comments from the author that made some parts interesting, it wasn't all together that bad...but for us high school students it is like trying to understand a person from France with out a translator.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    SAVE YOURSELF!

    Whatever you do, DO NOT read confounding brothers! It is the worst history book I have EVER read and that is saying something because I am normally an avid history student. I was forced to read this book for school and it was the most tedious and painful experience ever, I had to push myself to finish it and reading the last chapter took me 3 days (only because I kept having to force myself to keep reading). At some points I had to stop myself from throwing this book out of the window! If you have to read this for school you have my deepest sympathy and if you're thinking of reading it for fun i definitely wouldn't advise it! :(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Would Give This A Zero If I Could

    Founding Brothers by Joseph Ellis, was a book about the founding fathers of our nation. Anyone from John Adams to George Washington. I had to read this book for school. In my opinion, reading an entire textbook would have been better than reading this. Textbooks at least have pictures and everything seperated into small sections. This book just kept giving you fact after fact after fact after fact. However, if I were to have chosen to read a book, I wouldn't have chosen this book, or any book like this one. Maybe it is the fact that I enjoy adventure, action, and mystery books. Maybe it is the fact that I had to read it for school. I am not quite sure, but I will reccommend this to no one. I hope I never have to read a book like this ever again.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    A great short history

    This book by Ellis treats alot of historic events in a short amount of text. Some of the events that are discussed include: Alexander Hamilton's duel with Aaron Burr, George Washington's presidency, and the feud between Jefferson and John Adam. This book is written in a very readable way. Ellis deals with the topic of the founding generation with an evenhanded tone while still pointing out misconceptions when he finds them. If you are a fan of revolutionary war era history, this book is highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Founding Brothers

    Founding Brothers, in the eyes of a teenager, was a very difficult read. It was troublesome to understand. It should only be recommended to people who are interested in history, and should not be assigned to high school students.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Eh...

    I though the the rest of the book would be as the first chapter was, and that is interesting stories that connected these men. It did, but the stories he tells are probably geared toward the esoterics. The stories he chose to write about are stories that would bore any amateur historian. You would probably retain more by reading other titles (Infamous Scribblers).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Not for T. Jefferson fans

    The book was extraordinarily interesting and provided rich background information for a number of events that received little notice in our high school history books. It will be a disappointment for Jefferson fans as he is portrayed as an eloquent writer who is a far less effective leader and politician. I am still sorting out my thoughts on the dilemma encountered by the founders concerning slavery, and have begun to realize how sensitive it still is more than 150 years after the Civil War.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend this to anyone who is considering to buy it. In high school we learn about all these events: the duel, the dinner, the farewell, the silence, the collaborators, and the friendship, but we only learn it on a very thin layer. We are only told about what happened, not the actual feelings and personal life. I think Ellis does a great job explaining everyones attitude and defining the personalities. My favorite part of the book was the first chapter of the duel between Hamilton and Burr. I had never heard of the confrontation prior to reading this. The hatred between the two and how the duel was actually performed really intrigued me. Another good part of the book was 'The Silence' about slavery. Although with the Constitution finally established, slavery still existed. The Founding Fathers wanted it abolished but the Southerners did not, and for many years these Brothers saw the hyprocrisy of 'eveny man is created equal' while trying to conserve the Union to be one. I also found the relationship of Adams and his wife to be very interesting from a personal and political standpoint. The most ompelling part of the book to me is how all the Founding Brothers did not have the same vision in everything and essentially almost disagreed on most topics. They were not a group of 'all for one, one for all' in any sense, all trying to have their vision be set. However, without their disagreement they country may not be the same. Good job by Mr. Ellis, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Early American History- A Wonderful Read

    Mr. Ellis writes very well. Early American history is one of my favorite subjects and Mr. Ellis has done an excellent job of research, writing and producing a work that is engaging and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Amazing

    This book is just one of the best ones I've ever read. I am really into the American Revolution, and I'm even working on a book right now (and yeah, I'm only a Sophmore in High School). My dream is to be a teacher of Early American History I had personally met the author, Dr. Joseph J. Ellis, at a camp I recently had gone to, and I must say the lecture was just as exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    'This book is to hard for me MOMMY!'

    Wow... you guys who read this book and said that high school students shouldn't read it because of how complex it is must have dropped out of school and forgot to get your GEDs. I can't believe you said this book is boring, it just shows your too brainless to understand important history. Go read children's books if you have such a hard time with this book. I'm 16 and I read this with ease and found that it was very informative. I happened to get 50 extra points on a test because I knew everything on the test. My teacher actually thought I was a revolutionary genius. This book teaches much, so don't neglect that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Good read, if you can put a book down and pick it back up a day or two later....

    I've been reading this book off and on for about 2 months. I read a lot of books and have developed a method to harness the madness.....I read methodically, stopping to look up words I don't know or that are used in a context I'm not used to reading. I also keep note cards in my books on which I'll jot down names of people I may later want to research, or works cited I may wanted to read later (breaks up monotony). I tend to read several books at the same time, which one I pick up depends on my mood. There are some books however you just can't put down! Such as The Case for Christ. Sorry Ellis..... This book has not been a quick read for me, but became enjoyable once I found the right pace of the book. I like to remember dates, names and events long after I've closed the cover. Why else would one bother?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10