Customer Reviews for

Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

So How Did It All Turn Out?

Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early d...
Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early days of our Republic and the brilliant, flawed, dedicated, wise, sometimes simply wrong political leaders. Yet, they held it all together in the end. They didn't lose the dream of freedom that had urged so many men to risk everything, even their lives, for a chance to live that dream..

If, like me, your understanding of American history is little more than that fast trip through high school history, this is delicious reading. Ellis is a seductive story teller who brings the Americon icons like Washington, Adams, and Jefferson to life with all their splendor and warts showing. Somehow, you think more highly of them and their accomplishments, often against staggering odds, because they were not perfect, but simply men who carried a shared vision that meant everything to them.

I recommend you not miss this chance to know them well.

posted by MarjorieMorningstar on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

WORST AP United States History Assignment EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original d...
Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original draft and then added every insignificant FLUFF word he could think of. If this book was giving as a punishment it is pretty much guarantied the punished individual would never misbehave again. I hate this book and only read it because it was required for my class, and I have absolutely no idea why a sane person would read this novel for pleasure.

posted by 4435989 on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    WORST AP United States History Assignment EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original draft and then added every insignificant FLUFF word he could think of. If this book was giving as a punishment it is pretty much guarantied the punished individual would never misbehave again. I hate this book and only read it because it was required for my class, and I have absolutely no idea why a sane person would read this novel for pleasure.

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    So How Did It All Turn Out?

    Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early days of our Republic and the brilliant, flawed, dedicated, wise, sometimes simply wrong political leaders. Yet, they held it all together in the end. They didn't lose the dream of freedom that had urged so many men to risk everything, even their lives, for a chance to live that dream..

    If, like me, your understanding of American history is little more than that fast trip through high school history, this is delicious reading. Ellis is a seductive story teller who brings the Americon icons like Washington, Adams, and Jefferson to life with all their splendor and warts showing. Somehow, you think more highly of them and their accomplishments, often against staggering odds, because they were not perfect, but simply men who carried a shared vision that meant everything to them.

    I recommend you not miss this chance to know them well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Ellis's book is very knowledgeable and many of the topics he brought up throughout the book were interesting and made me contemplative. It is very well written and it's far more detailed on parts of the revolution than the normal textbook would be. However, unless you're a complete lover for history / American history, it may either fry your brain or put you to sleep (one or the other)!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    For those who enjoy history...for pleasure

    Ellis is more than capable to deliver excellent material and this great work is no different. If history puts you to sleep, go back to watching "The Kardashians" an perhaps a book of 'it' will make better summer reading! As far as my personal regard, Ellis' book is insightful, well researched and passionate yet stylistically calm and accesible...excellent for those who enjoy reading history for pleasure.







    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    See the Founders Play Politics

    Founding Brothers was an interesting read. The overall point of the book was to humanize these men who are looked up to like gods today. The best thing was the ideological struggle among these men who stood together for independence but gradually became adversaries as the dust settled. Anyone who thinks that the so-called partisan politics or attack ads of today are a new phenomenon needs to read this book. Each chapter details a few events of a founders life that illustrate some point in the continuing struggle to define what America is. Founding Brothers is a quick but informative read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Unique Perspective on American History

    Taking a significant moment in each of the lives of John Adams, George Washington, Aaron Burr, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and Benjamin Franklin, Joseph Ellis develops a fascinating discussion of what led up to that moment and its influence on and importance to American history.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Turn the History Around and Live It as The Founders Did.

    This most fascinating book on the Revolutionary Generation in the Age of Enlightenment views these men as they viewed each other, as brothers, in the context of their time. Mr. Ellis engineers a revision of past perception to make these men reliant, devoted, curios, needing, all too human "brothers" who, through reliance on each other build the Nation we know today. With particular focus on sets of competitive relationships, Mr. Ellis makes the past "current" in a way I've never experienced in any other history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Real History

    This is a wonderful view of the founders of our country. It goes beyond the history books and looks at several of our country's founders influences and actions.

    A little slow to start, but well worth the effort.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Loved it

    Sparked my new found love for our founders and our great nation. Worth buying & sharing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Was not my favorite.

    The book for me wasn't a good choice. I loved the first chapter and it kept me interested every page I turned. It was well written and didn't repeat itself too much. After the first chapter is where I started to not like the book so much. The second chapter about "The Dinner" I felt was a little confusing to understand the way it was written. If you are a true die hard history lover you will love this book. I am not a die hard history lover so I felt this book was extremely hard to make it through. Also I felt the last two chapters were repeating themselves over and over again for about 100 pages. It didn't get to the point which i was hoping would happen. I would not reccommend this book to anyone who does not have interest in history or has a little interest in history. You must LOVE history to be able to read this book cover to cover with no complaints. I hope everyone liked this book much more than I did but I do not reccommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling if Brief

    This book is an excellent exposition of the travails encountered by individuals Americans know so well from history textbooks. The founding of the USA was frought with external and internal difficulties, with contributions by many of those whom we as Americans regard as mere statuary (stone faced, with little personality and no negative qualities). This book attempts to add color, texture, and movement to these great figures all to often perceived as immovable among the black and white text of history. It talks of personality and power clashes - I was especially interested in Thomas Jefferson's determination to be a partisan thorn in the side of John Adams while simultaneously serving as President Adams' Vice Presidenct (before the days of Prez and VP being on the same partisan electoral ticket). Tidbits like this keep this book enthralling without resorting to revisionist shock-value and/or partisan rhetoric. The only down-side was that it was too short!! <BR/><BR/>I definitely recommend for anyone who is looking for a relatively quick read with a fresh perspective on issues and historical figures we have long since chiseled on the one-dimensional plane of classroom history.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Terrible

    Worst book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    I just finished this book and enjoyed it. Writing style is a li

    I just finished this book and enjoyed it. Writing style is a little hard to get used to, but I got used to it. This book is pretty short and it covers 6 major events that shaped the revolutionary period. It is a good way for someone to get their feet wet in a biography written like a novel covering this period. I am reading George Washington: His Excellency next. This will be a year of biographies for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    CRYSTALGIRL

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    I'll jion

    Name:Rina:Age: 12 stat Califoria

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Very interesting

    Great insight into the relationships between our founding fathers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    CRYSTALGIRL NATIONWIDE SYSTEM IS OPEN

    CRYSTAL IS HERE TO ANSWER UR QUESTIONS ANS SHE IS FAMOUS ADVICER EVER ANYONE HAD! SPEAD THE WORD EVERYWHERE! WE WILL ANSWER EVERYTHING IF I AM OFFLINE USE OTHER OF MY STAFF, THANK YOU

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Self-Happiness Hang out

    Chatit. We will come to join.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I had to read this book for my reading class in 8th grade. If i were you and you were younger than about 17 i would not read this. It wad by far the most boring book i have ever read. Not only is it boring, it is just difficult to understand because of the sentence stuctureand vocabulary Ellis uses. Of course i am only 13 and probably do not fully appreciate the quality information that this book has. Although if you are really interested and excited about early american government this book would be for you. Overall if i hadn't had to of read this book for a school grade i would have quit reading it after the first page.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Horrible

    Worst book i ever read. Actually couldn't finish it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10