Customer Reviews for

Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So How Did It All Turn Out?

Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early d...
Silly Question,you say, but in Joseph Ellis's capable hands, we come to understand that the great American experiment in democracy was very much in doubt for several years after the U.S.Constitution was ratified. Ellis is endlessly fascinating as he displays the early days of our Republic and the brilliant, flawed, dedicated, wise, sometimes simply wrong political leaders. Yet, they held it all together in the end. They didn't lose the dream of freedom that had urged so many men to risk everything, even their lives, for a chance to live that dream..

If, like me, your understanding of American history is little more than that fast trip through high school history, this is delicious reading. Ellis is a seductive story teller who brings the Americon icons like Washington, Adams, and Jefferson to life with all their splendor and warts showing. Somehow, you think more highly of them and their accomplishments, often against staggering odds, because they were not perfect, but simply men who carried a shared vision that meant everything to them.

I recommend you not miss this chance to know them well.

posted by MarjorieMorningstar on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

WORST AP United States History Assignment EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original d...
Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original draft and then added every insignificant FLUFF word he could think of. If this book was giving as a punishment it is pretty much guarantied the punished individual would never misbehave again. I hate this book and only read it because it was required for my class, and I have absolutely no idea why a sane person would read this novel for pleasure.

posted by 4435989 on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    WORST AP United States History Assignment EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Okay, this book was my summer reading project. This snooze fest of a book literally made me cry of boredom. In my opinion, Joseph Ellis' first draft of the novel was written in a way NORMAL Americans could understand...THEN Mr. Ellis decided to go back to his original draft and then added every insignificant FLUFF word he could think of. If this book was giving as a punishment it is pretty much guarantied the punished individual would never misbehave again. I hate this book and only read it because it was required for my class, and I have absolutely no idea why a sane person would read this novel for pleasure.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Was not my favorite.

    The book for me wasn't a good choice. I loved the first chapter and it kept me interested every page I turned. It was well written and didn't repeat itself too much. After the first chapter is where I started to not like the book so much. The second chapter about "The Dinner" I felt was a little confusing to understand the way it was written. If you are a true die hard history lover you will love this book. I am not a die hard history lover so I felt this book was extremely hard to make it through. Also I felt the last two chapters were repeating themselves over and over again for about 100 pages. It didn't get to the point which i was hoping would happen. I would not reccommend this book to anyone who does not have interest in history or has a little interest in history. You must LOVE history to be able to read this book cover to cover with no complaints. I hope everyone liked this book much more than I did but I do not reccommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Terrible

    Worst book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I had to read this book for my reading class in 8th grade. If i were you and you were younger than about 17 i would not read this. It wad by far the most boring book i have ever read. Not only is it boring, it is just difficult to understand because of the sentence stuctureand vocabulary Ellis uses. Of course i am only 13 and probably do not fully appreciate the quality information that this book has. Although if you are really interested and excited about early american government this book would be for you. Overall if i hadn't had to of read this book for a school grade i would have quit reading it after the first page.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Horrible

    Worst book i ever read. Actually couldn't finish it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    SAVE YOURSELF!

    Whatever you do, DO NOT read confounding brothers! It is the worst history book I have EVER read and that is saying something because I am normally an avid history student. I was forced to read this book for school and it was the most tedious and painful experience ever, I had to push myself to finish it and reading the last chapter took me 3 days (only because I kept having to force myself to keep reading). At some points I had to stop myself from throwing this book out of the window! If you have to read this for school you have my deepest sympathy and if you're thinking of reading it for fun i definitely wouldn't advise it! :(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Would Give This A Zero If I Could

    Founding Brothers by Joseph Ellis, was a book about the founding fathers of our nation. Anyone from John Adams to George Washington. I had to read this book for school. In my opinion, reading an entire textbook would have been better than reading this. Textbooks at least have pictures and everything seperated into small sections. This book just kept giving you fact after fact after fact after fact. However, if I were to have chosen to read a book, I wouldn't have chosen this book, or any book like this one. Maybe it is the fact that I enjoy adventure, action, and mystery books. Maybe it is the fact that I had to read it for school. I am not quite sure, but I will reccommend this to no one. I hope I never have to read a book like this ever again.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    YUCK!

    i was assigned this book for summer reading...it almost ruined my summer! I felt a pinch of joy everytime I finished a page because it was one page closer to finishing the boring book. There is too much info on random people and how they thought about certain issues. Very wordy and hard to understand...don't read this book if you're in high school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Not the worlds GREATEST book

    I am a high school student and this book was assigned to me as summer homework. Honestly my least favorite subject is History and this book didn't exactly make me like it more. I read it because I had to, otherwise I would have re-read The Da Vinci Code.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    wow the worst book

    wow - i used to love revolutionary history!! i mean really love it! until i had to read this book for history class! the book was extremely boring and the author repeated everything more than once. he also did not write the chapters in order. in chapter one, hamilton was killed. in chapters two three and four, he was alive and walking around helping with things. it made absolutely no sense and confused me even more. the book was difficult to read, and even more difficult to bear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    If I understood it, it might have been good

    I can tell Ellis worked extremely hard to put together exact details of of six different stories of our founding fathers. Unfortunately the read was more of a history book. It was extremely BORING and TIRING. I hated picking it up...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    SOOO BORING!!!!!!!!

    It was really insulting to hear that high school students couldnt understand this book! This book was really boring, and often times i fell asleep in the middle of a sentence, or ended up skimming through pages. But when i was able to read more than one sentence i was able to comprehend the material just fine. So while this was boring and i wanted to throw it away, i find it very annoying that just because i am in high school it is assumed i couldnt understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    boring.............

    This book sucks. Maybe it was meant for someone out of high school, but either way, it would have been something extremely boring to read. If you are 16 or below, do not read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2