Customer Reviews for

Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read

This is a good book, but as one would expect, it is a bit politically correct for a book written about early America. Such are the times in which we live.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I read this book for a class assignment, and used the book to a


I read this book for a class assignment, and used the book to analyze leadership. Personally, I think that anyone who has an interest in U.S. History should read this book, if nothing else for the interesting historical facts. I really loved hearing about how John Edwa...

I read this book for a class assignment, and used the book to analyze leadership. Personally, I think that anyone who has an interest in U.S. History should read this book, if nothing else for the interesting historical facts. I really loved hearing about how John Edwards was related to Aaron Burr, the story surrounding Benedict Arnold's wife, and the correspondence between Martha Washington and Abigail Adams. I already had a pretty extensive knowledge of American History going into this book, and I still learned a lot from it. No one else talks about the stories surrounding the women behind the men we all have heard so much about, so it was nice to hear an alternative perspective. Unfortunately, the book was a slow read, and got monotonous at times. Cokie Roberts had a great idea to write the book, but as a previous post says, it was poorly executed. Her organization was poor to say the least. Also, she tended to go off on tangents which seemed to detract heavily from the important points of the book. If you're looking for an enjoyable, easy-read type of book, this one isn't for you. However, if you want to hear a new perspective on an old story, I would highly recommend giving this book a try. Like I said, as someone with a strong interest in history, I enjoyed the book, even though it was a bit of a task to actually read it.

posted by ISU_paa on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I read this book for a class assignment, and used the book to a


    I read this book for a class assignment, and used the book to analyze leadership. Personally, I think that anyone who has an interest in U.S. History should read this book, if nothing else for the interesting historical facts. I really loved hearing about how John Edwards was related to Aaron Burr, the story surrounding Benedict Arnold's wife, and the correspondence between Martha Washington and Abigail Adams. I already had a pretty extensive knowledge of American History going into this book, and I still learned a lot from it. No one else talks about the stories surrounding the women behind the men we all have heard so much about, so it was nice to hear an alternative perspective. Unfortunately, the book was a slow read, and got monotonous at times. Cokie Roberts had a great idea to write the book, but as a previous post says, it was poorly executed. Her organization was poor to say the least. Also, she tended to go off on tangents which seemed to detract heavily from the important points of the book. If you're looking for an enjoyable, easy-read type of book, this one isn't for you. However, if you want to hear a new perspective on an old story, I would highly recommend giving this book a try. Like I said, as someone with a strong interest in history, I enjoyed the book, even though it was a bit of a task to actually read it.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Idea, So-so Execution

    I agree with some other reviewers: this book takes a topic that's not well understood and makes a unique approach, but is poorly written and organized. I understand the desire to be engaging, but I think the material would have done that for itself, without side notes trying to draw modern comparisons or make jokes. Basing her research in women's letters, Roberts brings a whole world to life. However, she allows the relationships between women and the timeline to guide her writing, where in my opinion, a more scholarly approach -- perhaps by organizing it topically and drawing a few more conclusions -- would have been much stronger. In the end, I have a vivid picture of what women's lives were like, and what role they played in the early days of our country, but I'm not sure what to make of it, because it was all so scrambled. Still, when such things come up in conversation (which is sadly rare), it has a lot to offer in terms of interesting factoids.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Written for a 12 year old girl

    I am a devoit reader of books on the early years of this country and have especially loved Founding Brothers (Ellis), John Adams (McCullough)and Benjamin Franklin (Isaacson) as well as Ferlings Adams versus Jefferson. As a professional woman I looked forwaard to this book especially seeking a more detailed discussion of Abigail Adams, a most fascinating woman. I could not have been more disappointed. Ms. Robert's writing was simplistic, patronizing and written for the aforementioned 12 year old girl. Factually, it was not accurate (note to Cokie-there was no vice presidential candidate in either 1796 or 1800). Don't waste your time with this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Great subject, disappointing book

    After reading biographies on John Adams, Alexander Hamiltion, and George Washingion, I was really excited about reading about our founding mothers. This is one area that needs more research done on it. I bought the tapes, and started listening to the book, and became very disappointed. Ms. Roberts is not a historian, she is a reporter, and this shows in her book. Throughout the book she shares her opinions, and tries to be funny. Sometimes she makes statements that seem to be exaggerated. It seems that Ms. Roberts is just writing for women, by her comments. She should have had more confidence that this important topic, would be read by both females and males. Its obvious Ms. Roberts did her research, and many interesting stories are told in this book. I could not get past her bias and opinions in this book. It would be great if a real historian, like Doris Kearns Goodwin, tackled this subject matter.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable story of the women who helped found our nation.

    If you like history especially the early history of America, you'll like this book. I had previously listened to the "John Adams" audio disc. Hearing this history of the women who were a major part of the same era provided an interesting counterpart to that book. I find such audio books make history live in a way reading the book doesn't always do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    A Good Read

    This is a good book, but as one would expect, it is a bit politically correct for a book written about early America. Such are the times in which we live.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Lovely Introduction To Neglected History

    Wonderfully readable, yet satisfiyingly researched, history of the women who stood behind the men who made American history. Fascinating story and not 'feminist' at all; a great story for women, men and older children, and another example of how even the best-known historical events have many unexplored sides. (Haven't you ever wondered about Mrs. Einstein?) For a fascinating exploration of the opposite story--a man's view of fatherhood, marriage and staying home with the kids, I loved 'I Sleep At Red Lights: A True Story of Life After Triplets,' by Bruce Stockler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Finally, a history that makes sense!

    I loved this book! It made me think and laugh at the same time. Impressively researched, beautifully written; this does a lot of justice to the gene. Thank you Cokie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Women did have a role in U.S. History

    Wonderful nonfiction story about the women who helped shape our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Excellent!

    Cokie Roberts writing is impeccable. Interesting, exciting to think of our founding mothers. This is an excellent history of the founding of America and the part women played in it. The men were off here and there but women held down the country. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Tremendous! I wish I'd had it back when I was in school, histor

    Tremendous! I wish I'd had it back when I was in school, history would have been so much easier for me! She did an amazing job of researching and pulling together everything into a true story of the time; I particularly loved the personal comments along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I haven't used it yet.

    I haven't used it yet.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Very interesting!

    Only a few chapters in but very much enjoying this new angle on history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Founding Mothers is a book about the women behind the well-known

    Founding Mothers is a book about the women behind the well-known men who founded America. These are the wives and mothers that were at home, raising the family, running the farms and businesses. Cokie Roberts brings together the letters and details of history to acknowledge and praise the women that created this nation. The men fought the war overseas and ran for public office, but the women helped to steer their actions, while defending their homes.

    Cokie Roberts has done a brilliant job of telling the stories of multiple women that helped shape this country. She demonstrates that the strengths and weaknesses of each of these women played a vital role in America’s history. Filled with recipes and references from letters, this book gives a behind the scenes look into the daily life. Though this book is divided into different time periods, the individual women’s stories blend into each other, which makes it a bit slow at times. However, this is an intriguing read for anyone looking to learn more about America’s past.

    Notes:
    This review was written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Always happy to learn about the lives of the sisters who went on

    Always happy to learn about the lives of the sisters who went on before me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    highly recommend

    A very interesting read of how the women on the revolutionary war played such an important (and usually overlook) part in the founding of our country AND the values we installed into our constitution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    highly recommended!

    Cokie Roberts has done an outstanding job of delineating the roles of the Founding Fathers and the Founding Mothers, with history once again proving women served a most defining role in the founding of our nation. Intimate letters portray not only their determination and fortitude, but their sorrow, persecution and complete dedication to their husbands, their families and their country. Also portrayed is the intertwining relationships that led to the fear of a monarchial form of government much like that which existed in European nations. Her down to earth comments and asides only further add to the reader's desire for more information. The writer shows that the "beltway" mentality is nothing new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    recommend

    Finally a look at things from the female view. History tends to ignore the contributions of women. This book brings them forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I am not a liberal in any sense of the current political definit

    I am not a liberal in any sense of the current political definition thereof. However, I firmly believe this book should be required reading for all high school graduates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Great Subject...................................................

    Great Subject....................................................................
    A good book honoring the women that came before us. A little slow at times but such is the nature of writing history. Every person you read about cannot be equally interesting and this book covered many different personalities. All and all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3